Books Kids Fiction The Doll in the Garden

The Doll in the Garden

 
0.0
 
5.0 (2)
563   0
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
8+
ISBN
0380708655
Buy This Book
      

User reviews

Average user rating from: 2 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0  (2)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0  (0)
Reader reviewed by Val

A doll in the garden is a slightly perturbing story mind you not for the weak of hearts and read it in plenty of light. Other than that however its a very well written story and has a great ghostly plot. A little girl helps her cranky old landlady resolve a burden she is plagued by. The little girl follows a white cat into the garden and meets Louisa a girl who lived many years ago dying from cholera but she can't move on without her precious doll that the landlady who was her dearest friend buried in her garden.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
a reader Reviewed by a reader March 09, 2006
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (20052)

Dolls that go bump in the night

Reader reviewed by Val

A doll in the garden is a slightly perturbing story mind you not for the weak of hearts and read it in plenty of light. Other than that however its a very well written story and has a great ghostly plot. A little girl helps her cranky old landlady resolve a burden she is plagued by. The little girl follows a white cat into the garden and meets Louisa a girl who lived many years ago dying from cholera but she can't move on without her precious doll that the landlady who was her dearest friend buried in her garden.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Reader reviewed by Riney

A Doll in the Garden, is a story about a young girl who finds a doll in the garden of her new house. With the doll, she finds that she is able to cross a garden into another time. A time where a girl is dying from an illness. As the story continues, readers can see friendships develop, break, and the power that it can have.

A Doll in the Garden was one of my favorite books growing up, and I defintely recommend it. It's different, and gave me a slight thrill from reading such a story about a ghost.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
a reader Reviewed by a reader March 03, 2006
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (20052)

A Slightly Scary STory

Reader reviewed by Riney

A Doll in the Garden, is a story about a young girl who finds a doll in the garden of her new house. With the doll, she finds that she is able to cross a garden into another time. A time where a girl is dying from an illness. As the story continues, readers can see friendships develop, break, and the power that it can have.

A Doll in the Garden was one of my favorite books growing up, and I defintely recommend it. It's different, and gave me a slight thrill from reading such a story about a ghost.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)