Books Kids Fiction Stink: The Incredible Shrinking Kid

Stink: The Incredible Shrinking Kid

 
5.0
 
3.3 (3)
657   0
Age Range
6+
ISBN
0763620254
Buy This Book
      

Editor reviews

Judy Moody has her own series of books. Now we hear the story of her second-grader brother, Stink, who believes he's the world's smallest human being--and that he's shrinking! His big sister measures him every day, and one day he's actually 1/4 inch shorter. YIKES.

Stink tries many things to look taller, including wearing stripe and gelling his hair way up. In the meantime, readers are treated to hilarious comic strips depicting his life in imaginative detail. (Peter H. Reynolds is the genius behind the illustrations!)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Terry Miller Shannon Reviewed by Terry Miller Shannon September 16, 2005
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (232)

A short kid (gulp!) gets even shorter

Judy Moody has her own series of books. Now we hear the story of her second-grader brother, Stink, who believes he's the world's smallest human being--and that he's shrinking! His big sister measures him every day, and one day he's actually 1/4 inch shorter. YIKES.

Stink tries many things to look taller, including wearing stripe and gelling his hair way up. In the meantime, readers are treated to hilarious comic strips depicting his life in imaginative detail. (Peter H. Reynolds is the genius behind the illustrations!)

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

Average user rating from: 3 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.3  (3)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0  (0)
Reader reviewed by ♥KikiGirl♥

I know I'm 12, but this book just seems pointless. It seems like something my little brother (who just farted in my face, ew) would read. Even if I was 12, I still wouldn't read this.
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
1.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
a reader Reviewed by a reader November 21, 2005
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (20052)

Annoying!

Reader reviewed by ♥KikiGirl♥

I know I'm 12, but this book just seems pointless. It seems like something my little brother (who just farted in my face, ew) would read. Even if I was 12, I still wouldn't read this.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Reader reviewed by Rosie

Stink does not stink. He is actually kind of cool. I'm very glad about getting this book! It is very funny. I am also a huge fan of Judy Moody so reading this book was also just as good. Now you get out there and read this book!
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
a reader Reviewed by a reader November 07, 2005
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (20052)

He, He, Ha, Ha

Reader reviewed by Rosie

Stink does not stink. He is actually kind of cool. I'm very glad about getting this book! It is very funny. I am also a huge fan of Judy Moody so reading this book was also just as good. Now you get out there and read this book!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Reader reviewed by librariane

Stink hates being shorthis goal in life is to not be the shortest one in his class or his family. But he does come to realize that there are short people everywhere, and his favorite president is James Madison, partly because hes short! The main event in the book, besides Stinks obsession with being short, is the class newt: Stink gets to have him for the weekend. Part of the responsibility is to keep a journal, and Judy makes sure to let her brother know that this is an extremely boring pet. Things get a
little lively, though, when the newt escapes!
This is a cute, quick read, a level below the Judy Moody books. Stink is an adorable
character and Judy is the obnoxious sibling, so McDonald has proved to effectively write for
her character. The only thing I found disconcerting was the whole book felt a little
disjointed, but I doubt the kids will notice.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
a reader Reviewed by a reader November 06, 2005
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (20052)

Starring...Judy Moody's younger brother!

Reader reviewed by librariane

Stink hates being shorthis goal in life is to not be the shortest one in his class or his family. But he does come to realize that there are short people everywhere, and his favorite president is James Madison, partly because hes short! The main event in the book, besides Stinks obsession with being short, is the class newt: Stink gets to have him for the weekend. Part of the responsibility is to keep a journal, and Judy makes sure to let her brother know that this is an extremely boring pet. Things get a
little lively, though, when the newt escapes!
This is a cute, quick read, a level below the Judy Moody books. Stink is an adorable
character and Judy is the obnoxious sibling, so McDonald has proved to effectively write for
her character. The only thing I found disconcerting was the whole book felt a little
disjointed, but I doubt the kids will notice.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)