Books Kids Fiction Dad, Are You the Tooth Fairy?

Dad, Are You the Tooth Fairy?

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/82/95/eb/2631_583058-1351469631.jpg
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
498   0
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
4+
Release Date
May 01, 2005
ISBN
0439667453
Buy This Book
      
Is there really a tooth fairy? World-famous actor Jason Alexander (Seinfeld, Pretty Woman, Shallow Hal) weaves a fresh, funny, and magical tale about this age-old question.

When Gaby overhears some older kids on the playground saying that the tooth fairy is just make-believe, he goes straight to his father to find out the truth. The enchanting tale his dad tells him of a time long ago when mysterious and magical creatures lived on the earth will delight and entertain children and adults alike.

For any child who has ever wondered about the existence of the tooth fairy, this original and reassuring story will satisfy their curiosity and give them the power to believe magical things can happen!

Editor reviews

I'll come right out and say it -- I'm normally not very fond of books by celebritys-turned-authors because a fair amount of them (I won't name names) would never have become books if a celebrity hadn't written them. There, I said it. However, Jason Alexander's Dad, Are You the Tooth Fairy? was a pleasant surprise.

Based on a real conversation that Alexander had with his own child, this deflightfully illustrated book (Ron Spears' handiwork) gently and touchingly explains who the tooth fairy really is. While Publisher's Weekly calls it "treacly" and "confusing," I found it to be sweet and endearing and not confusing at all.

Most books that tackle this subject seem to opt for either the straight-ahead approach or don't really answer the question at all. This one does answer the question, in a way that doesn't spoil the magic for either adult or child.

I recommend this book for any parent with kids that are beginning to question the reality of those wonders of the world: tooth fairys, the Easter Bunny, Santa...Ages 4 and up.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Kimberly Pauley Reviewed by Kimberly Pauley July 15, 2005
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (393)

A pleasant surprise

I'll come right out and say it -- I'm normally not very fond of books by celebritys-turned-authors because a fair amount of them (I won't name names) would never have become books if a celebrity hadn't written them. There, I said it. However, Jason Alexander's Dad, Are You the Tooth Fairy? was a pleasant surprise.

Based on a real conversation that Alexander had with his own child, this deflightfully illustrated book (Ron Spears' handiwork) gently and touchingly explains who the tooth fairy really is. While Publisher's Weekly calls it "treacly" and "confusing," I found it to be sweet and endearing and not confusing at all.

Most books that tackle this subject seem to opt for either the straight-ahead approach or don't really answer the question at all. This one does answer the question, in a way that doesn't spoil the magic for either adult or child.

I recommend this book for any parent with kids that are beginning to question the reality of those wonders of the world: tooth fairys, the Easter Bunny, Santa...Ages 4 and up.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)