Dough Boys (So Done #2)

Dough Boys (So Done #2)

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
55   0
Write Review
Dough Boys (So Done #2)
Author(s)
Age Range
8+
Release Date
August 27, 2019
ISBN
978-0062691811
Buy This Book
      
In the companion to her acclaimed So Done, Paula Chase follows best friends Simp and Rollie as their friendship is threatened by the pressures of basketball, upcoming auditions, middle school, and their growing involvement in the local drug ring.

Dough Boys is a memorably vivid story about the complex friendship between two African American boys whose lives are heading down very different paths. For fans of Jason Reynolds’s Ghost and Rebecca Stead’s Goodbye Stranger.

Deontae “Simp” Wright has big plans for his future. Plans that involve basketball, his best friend, Rollie, and making enough money to get his mom and four younger brothers out of the Cove, their low-income housing project.

Long term, this means the NBA. Short term, it means being a dough boy—getting paid to play lookout and eventually moving up the rungs of the neighborhood drug operation with Rollie as his partner.

Roland “Rollie” Matthews used to love playing basketball. He loved the rhythm of the game, how he came up with his best drumbeats after running up and down the court. But playing with the elite team comes with extra, illegal responsibilities, and Rollie isn't sure he's down for that life. The new talented-and-gifted program, where Rollie has a chance to audition for a real-life go-go band, seems like the perfect excuse to stop being a dough boy. But how can he abandon his best friend?

Paula Chase explores universal themes of friendship and budding romance, while also exploring complex issues that affect many young teens. Full of basketball, friendship, and daily life in a housing project, this universal story is perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds’s Track series, Jewell Parker Rhodes’s Ghost Boys, and Chris Crutcher.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

Do the Right Thing

Simp and Rollie both live in the Cove, and are doing they best they can in a rough neighborhood. They are both very interested in basketball, but being on the neighborhood team, the Marauders, also means that they work as lookouts during drug sales for their coach, Tez. Simp is glad to have the money to help out his mother and younger brothers, but Rollie doesn't like the illegal activity at all, and know that his church going grandmother would not be happy if she found out. Rollie is more interested in music. He is in the Gifted and Talented program at his school, and his music teacher, Mr. B., thinks he has a shot at the big time when a local boy band asks him to audition. Simp feels that basketball and living in the Cove are his only options, so when his mother indicates she knows where they money is coming from and wants him to get his younger brothers involved, he thinks this is a possibility. He is looking to move up in Tez's organization, but he fears that Rollie wants out. Rollie does, but he wants to support his best friend. He hopes that he can get into the band, and that will be his excuse for dropping the look out jobs. When Rollie is attacked because of his involvement with Tez, both boys reassess their activity and plan a new way forward.

Good Points
This is a continuation of So Done, but can be read independently, even though Bean and Tai do show up in this volume. Since the main focus of the first book is dance, and this is more concerned with basketball, it will appeal to a different set of readers. There is plenty of basketball, certainly, but the major concern is Tez's drug running and the boys involvement with it. While I can think of books for older readers that involve this sort of activity, this is one of the few middle grade novels that have young teens working their way up in a drug organization. It is sad that this occurs in real life, but if we want books to be windows and mirrors for all readers, we need to include this substantial sub culture as well.

Rollie and Simp come from vastly different backgrounds. Rollie has a lot of support at home and doesn't have to worry about where his food is coming from. Simp, on the other hand, frequently pays for babysitting, rent, and food so that his brothers have a better life. His mother is not abusive, but is not a parent who supervises her children closely, either. It was interesting to see how Rollie's church going is portrayed, and how it is an integral part of his personality. Simp's concern for his brothers, and his wish that they have a more stable life than he has, is admirable.

Fans of Sharon Flake, Kekla Magoon, Coe Booth and the late Janet McDonald will enjoy Rollie and Simp's involvement with music, basketball, and the vibrant and sometimes dangerous environment of the Cove.
Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Fallen Empires (Cleopatra in Space #5)
Cleo goes into hiding after a mysterious death at Yasiro...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Season
Seventeen year old Lady Alexandra is strong-willed and sharp-tongued; in...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Exact Opposite of Okay
Eighteen-year-old Izzy O’Neill knows exactly who she is—a loyal friend,...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Girl Gone Viral
For seventeen-year-old Opal Hopper, code is magic. She builds entire...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Patron Saints of Nothing
A powerful coming-of-age story about grief, guilt, and the risks...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
This Time Will Be Different
For fans of Jenny Han, Morgan Matson, and Sandhya Menon,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Ideal Boyfriend is a Croissant
This honest, laugh-out-loud novel brimming with body positivity, bite-sized nuggets...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Carnival Catastrophe (The Problim Children, #2)
All siblings are capable of magic if they stick together....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
As Far as the Stars
Christopher is the sort of guy that no one...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Virtue of Sin
Miriam lives in New Jerusalem, a haven in the...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
OverRun (The OverRuled Series, book 2)
TWO LIVES BOUND BY ONE LIE. Magic has consequences—...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Wicked Fox (Gumiho, #1)
Eighteen-year-old Gu Miyoung has a secret--she's a gumiho, a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Astronaut Who Painted the Moon: The True Story of Alan Bean
As a boy, Alan wanted to fly planes. As a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Evil Queen (The Forest of Good and Evil, #1)
Far, far away, in the realm of Enchantia, creatures...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Paper Bag Mask Cover.jpg
At the same moment he catches his teacher giving...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This Cruel Design
The nightmare of the outbreak is finally...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Super Humans
 
4.3
"The story: Best friends Chloe and Miranda, eager to start their college careers, move into an old, off-campus Victorian..."
North To Nara (Crimson Sash, Book 1)
 
5.0
"I’ve always been a sucker for dystopian. This is not a secret. The obsession with The Hunger Games is still..."
Goddess Ascending
 
4.3
"Elidi is a Goddess, or she will be when she ascends but to do that she must survive an attack..."
 
5.0
"Lemon's story focuses on finding an identity when you don't have one. She has to overcome her unforgettable name and..."
Falling For My Nemesis
 
4.8
"This book was so good. The Story: Mia and Carson have always hated each other. As Carson's brother's best..."
The F Word (Redefining Me book 1)
 
5.0
"Some books hit you right in the feels (or a bit lower). This is one of them. In the..."
 
4.0
"This book is not like anything else I have ever read and I thought it was great!!! you will need..."
Above The Star
 
5.0
""Though reminiscent of beloved fantasies -- think A Wrinkle in Time meets The Princess Bride -- Above the Star is..."
The F Word (Redefining Me book 1)
 
5.0
"I'm not going to lie, I was a bit skeptical when I started this book. As someone in a wheelchair,..."
My Virtual Prince Charming
 
4.0
"Luke is one of the popular crowd, but he has a nerdy secret. He loves to play the online game..."
Oath Taker
 
3.0
"OATH TAKER starts out super intriguing. As the reader, you’re immediately pulled into a world of light and dark magic,..."
The F Word (Redefining Me book 1)
 
5.0
"The story: Peyton has lost so much over the past eighteen months. Her brother passed away in a horrible accident,..."
Catching Ivy
 
4.8
"Feedback There are certain things I don’t like in books. Insta-love and perfect plans out of nowhere - just to..."
We Thought We Were Invincible
 
4.8
"Callie is trying to survive high school and get out of her small Florida town. When her best friend moves..."
A Straw Man
 
5.0
"n the third and final installment in the ‘The Clay Lion’ trilogy, Charlie’s little sister Melody takes her own trip..."
The Girl with Seven Wishes
 
5.0
"After helping her sister Lalana escape with her true love, Zadie must face the consequences. The new sultan of Astaran..."
The F Word (Redefining Me book 1)
 
5.0
"I’ve been a big fan of both Craven and MacQueen for many years so when I heard they were collaborating..."
What He Hides
 
4.8
"Fans of Karen McManus will enjoy the twists and turns in WHAT HE HIDES. When Lauren’s mom becomes the..."
Two Like Me and You
 
4.8
"TWO LIKE ME AND YOU is a laugh-out-loud, heartwarming story that fans of John Green will adore. Edwin gets..."
Twelfth Knight
 
4.5
"This story kept me engaged from the first page to the last. The Story: Violet is a new student..."