Secrets of a Fangirl

Secrets of a Fangirl

 
4.5 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
87   0
Write Review
Secrets of a Fangirl
Author(s)
Age Range
8+
Release Date
May 28, 2019
ISBN
978-1338314588
Buy This Book
      
Sarah Anne loves lacrosse, and the MK Nightshade series that everyone was obsessed over in grade school. The problem is that she's still obsessed, which is way too nerdy for a popular kid like her. So she hides her geekiness with a set of rules meant to keep her geek and jock selves separate.

Except when she's offered a spot in a Nightshade fandom contest, where the winner gets to see the new movie premiere in LA. No one seems to think Sarah Anne can win, since she's up against a pair of guys in high school--but the more she's called a fake fan, the more determined she is to wipe the floor with her competition. As long as none of her friends or anyone at school knows what she's doing.

Can she keep her geek identity a secret, win the contest, and manage to keep her friends even though she's been living a lie? Sarah Anne is going to have to make some choices about what's truly important to her and which rules she's going to break to stay true to herself.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.5  (2)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

It's Important to be You no matter how Nerdy you are!

Sarah Anne is the biggest fan of the MK Nightshade series, but it's taboo in the popular world of her high school. As one of the popular girls, she has to hide the geek in her to avoid being made fun of. She also doesn't want to risk losing her best friend Roxy, especially since Jess D starts hanging around. Jess is shoving a wedge between Roxy and Sarah Anne, so it makes Sarah even more fearful of her secret.

When Sarah wins a contest for the MK Nightshade series, she's entered to win tickets to the premiere of the movie, but she must win a second contest. This contest is full of trials to test to see who really is the biggest fan. As she completes the tasks, they become harder and more public. Sarah finds it more and more difficult to keep the popular girl Sarah Anne and the nerd girl SAM separate. Not to mention that one of her competitors has it our for her and will do anything to win.

As a fellow nerdy girl, I absolutely loved this book. It can be scary when you're so worried about what others will think, but you don't feel like yourself with it hidden. That's the case for Sarah. The MK Nightshade series is a huge part of her life and having to keep it a secret is like denying a part of her. When she gets partnered with nerdy Hugh for a science project, she discovers that he's also a fan of the MK Nightshade series. I love Hugh and it was interesting seeing how hard Sarah worked to keep her secret from everyone. This book is an easy middle grade read that I finished fairly quickly. It held my interest the whole way through.


Final Verdict: SECRETS OF A FANGIRL is a story for all those nerdy girls out there. This book reminds us of the importance of being you, no matter what you like.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

delightful middle grade about embracing yourself

SECRETS OF A FANGIRL is a fun contemporary middle grade about embracing yourself for who you are and what you love. Sarah Anne is one of the popular girls in middle school and a star lacrosse player. Her best friend told her a few years before that she couldn’t like MK Nightshade anymore, so Sarah Anne has created some rules to separate herself from the fandom which she still adores. In fact, she is such a big fan that she has won a contest to be on a panel.

At the panel, Sarah Anne is talked over and around, even though she clearly knows more than the older boys who are also participating. This type of sexism follows her around, even at school, where she has been assigned to work with a guy who does not hide his geeky side and who assumes from the start that she would not be so into science. However, Sarah Anne does a great job of setting him straight.

Sarah Anne is also given an opportunity to compete in a bigger contest to win a trip to see the new MK Nightshade movie. As she competes, it becomes harder to hide her fangirl. At the same time, she is questioning her friends, who are bullying others and filling the true mean, popular group stereotype. The suspense of whether she will win plus whether she will be able to keep it a secret makes the book move quickly.

What I loved: There is a great depiction of the struggle for popularity, embracing yourself, and sexism. Sarah Anne is a strong main character, and her journey is difficult but interesting to follow. There are also some fun tidbits about fandoms and competing that really add something extra to the story.

What left me wanting more: A subtheme of the book is bullying, and this was not really addressed. Sarah Anne doesn’t really get involved, but she witnesses it quite a bit and is uncomfortable about it. I would have loved to see her take action (whether getting adults involved or standing up for the victims) on this, as this is a common problem. However, the presentation does bring attention to the issue.

Final verdict: This is a delightful story about accepting yourself and being who you are, even when it’s not popular. With a clever main character and suspenseful challenges, this fast-paced read is great for fans of contemporary middle grade.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Surface Breaks: A Reimagining of The Little Mermaid
Think you know the story of the Little Mermaid? Think...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Professor Renoir’s Collection of Oddities, Curiosities, and Delights
By her fourteenth birthday, Babe Killingsworth measures 6ʹ9ʺ and weighs...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
#Murderfunding (#MurderTrending, #2)
WELCOME TO WHO WANTS TO BE A PAINIAC?, the latest...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Truman
After his best friend Sarah leaves for her first day...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Day the Universe Exploded My Head: Poems to Take You into Space and Back Again
Hang on tight for a raucous bounce through the solar...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fallen Empires (Cleopatra in Space #5)
Cleo goes into hiding after a mysterious death at Yasiro...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Season
Seventeen year old Lady Alexandra is strong-willed and sharp-tongued; in...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Exact Opposite of Okay
Eighteen-year-old Izzy O’Neill knows exactly who she is—a loyal friend,...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Girl Gone Viral
For seventeen-year-old Opal Hopper, code is magic. She builds entire...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Patron Saints of Nothing
A powerful coming-of-age story about grief, guilt, and the risks...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
This Time Will Be Different
For fans of Jenny Han, Morgan Matson, and Sandhya Menon,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Ideal Boyfriend is a Croissant
This honest, laugh-out-loud novel brimming with body positivity, bite-sized nuggets...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Carnival Catastrophe (The Problim Children, #2)
All siblings are capable of magic if they stick together....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
As Far as the Stars
Christopher is the sort of guy that no one...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Virtue of Sin
Miriam lives in New Jerusalem, a haven in the...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
OverRun (The OverRuled Series, book 2)
TWO LIVES BOUND BY ONE LIE. Magic has consequences—...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Professor Renoir’s Collection of Oddities, Curiosities, and Delights
 
4.0
"PROFESSOR RENOIR'S COLLECTION OF ODDITIES, CURIOSITIES, AND DELIGHTS primarily follows Babe, a fourteen-year-old girl who has gigantism. She already stands..."
Truman
 
5.0
"TRUMAN is an unbelievably sweet story about a tortoise. Truman the tortoise lives with his best friend and owner Sarah,..."
The Day the Universe Exploded My Head: Poems to Take You into Space and Back Again
 
4.0
"THE DAY THE UNIVERSE EXPLODED MY HEAD features cartoony planets and drawings along with poems on each page. Topical, clever,..."
Fallen Empires (Cleopatra in Space #5)
 
3.5
"I'm a huge fan of graphic novels and this series is one that is sure to appeal to those who..."
Carnival Catastrophe (The Problim Children, #2)
 
4.0
"CARNIVAL CATASTROPHE follows the seven Problim children as they continue their search for their mother. The seven siblings must work..."
Big Red School (Clifford)
 
5.0
"CLIFFORD: BIG RED SCHOOL follows Emily Elizabeth and Clifford as they create a special school just for Clifford. Clifford loves..."
I Got Next
 
4.0
"I GOT NEXT is a picture book about self-confidence. A boy encourages himself to challenge the other kids who are..."
A Friend for Bently
 
4.0
"A FRIEND FOR BENTLY is a heart-warming story of an unlikely friendship. Bently is the only pig on the farm..."
The Great Pumpkin Contest
 
5.0
"THE GREAT PUMPKIN CONTEST is a sweet and fun read about friendship. Mimi and her neighbor Clara are each entering..."
Save Your Friends!
 
3.5
"SAVE YOUR FRIENDS! is a simple, interactive story told in speech bubbles. The shark is about to eat your friends,..."
Dibs!
 
5.0
"DIBS! is a story about brotherhood. Julian constantly calls dibs on toys and snacks from his younger brother Clancy. Clancy..."
Where Are You From?
 
5.0
"WHERE ARE YOU FROM? is a stunning celebration of heritage/ancestry as well as an acknowledgment of the unnecessary question. A..."
Out of Place
 
5.0
"OUT OF PLACE is an absolutely gorgeous story about bullying and feeling alone. Cove lives with her mother on Martha’s..."
The Startup Squad (The Startup Squad, #1)
 
3.0
"THE STARTUP SQUAD follows primarily Theresa (Resa) as she and a group of three other girls compete in a contest..."
A Possibility of Whales
 
4.0
"THE POSSIBILITY OF WHALES is a middle grade contemporary story that deals with a lot. Natalia Rose (Nat) is almost..."
Peppa in Space (Peppa Pig)
 
5.0
"PEPPA IN SPACE is a fun picture book, featuring Peppa Pig and her family as they learn about space and..."
Pete the Cat and the Itsy Bitsy Spirder
 
3.5
"We are all familiar with the Itsy Bitsy Spider, who climbs up the water spout before being rained out- but..."
Even Monsters Go To School
 
5.0
"This book is so completely adorable it's hard to figure out where to begin. The story is about..."
Can Cat and Bird Be Friends
 
3.5
"This was an odd one. Cat and bird are trying to determine if they can be friends or..."
Pig the Stinker
 
4.5
"PIG THE STINKER follows Pig the Pug on a new adventure- bath time! Pig does not like to bathe, and..."