The Unteachables

The Unteachables

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
654   0
Write Review
The Unteachables
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
8+
Release Date
January 08, 2019
ISBN
978-0062563880
Buy This Book
      
The Unteachables are a notorious class of misfits, delinquents, and academic train wrecks. Like Aldo, with anger management issues; Parker, who can’t read; Kiana, who doesn’t even belong in the class—or any class; and Elaine (rhymes with pain). The Unteachables have been removed from the student body and isolated in room 117.

Their teacher is Mr. Zachary Kermit, the most burned-out teacher in all of Greenwich. He was once a rising star, but his career was shattered by a cheating scandal that still haunts him. After years of phoning it in, he is finally one year away from early retirement. But the superintendent has his own plans to torpedo that idea—and it involves assigning Mr. Kermit to the Unteachables.

The Unteachables never thought they’d find a teacher who had a worse attitude than they did. And Mr. Kermit never thought he would actually care about teaching again. Over the course of a school year, though, room 117 will experience mayhem, destruction—and maybe even a shot at redemption.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

THAT teacher with THAT class

Mr. Kermit is entering his 30th year of teaching, and he's already put in for early retirement. He started his career full of grand ideals and enthusiasm, but a testing scandal over 25 years ago sucked the life out of him, and he spends his days handing out worksheets and doing the crossword while drinking coffee from a huge cup called "the toilet bowl". In order to push him to quit even earlier, the evil superintendent assigns him to a special class with a handful of students who are "unteachable". These include Elaine and Aldo, who both have anger management issues, Parker, who has severe dyslexia, and Rahim, who is artistically inclined but often sleeps in school because his father has band practice in the garage until late. Enter Kiana, who is staying with her father and his new family while her mother works on a movie, and who blunders into the class by accident and stays because she is intrigued. Next door, a perky new teacher, Emma Fountain, alarms Mr. Kermit because she is the daughter of his former fiancé, and she is filled with all sorts of warm and fuzzy classroom plans. She brings in Jake Terranova, who started the cheating scandal but who is now a successful car salesman. He invites the class to visit his dealership and repair shop, and the class starts to take off and actually learn things. Some of Mr. Kermit's old fire returns, but when the superintendent makes the numbers look like he is ineffective, his job is on the line. The students try to rally and enter a project for the science fair hoping to save their now beloved teacher, but they are not successful. Will something happen to save the day?

Good Points
This had a nice ensemble cast, and portrayed students struggling with different issues realistically. Kiana was an especially fun character. I really did adore Mr. Kermit, and could completely sympathize with his burnout (I'm only in year 20, but I can still understand!), and the backstory with him and Ms. Fountain's mother was sweet. The use of Mr. Kermit's car was particularly intriguing. Parker and his ability to drive on a provisional license to help with his grandmother and the family farm will be interesting to students.

Korman is a master of the funny scene. There are just enough to encourage the reader to look forward to them, and laugh hysterically when they are delivered, but not so many that the book takes on a slap stick feel that distracts from the serious issues. This is a balance that middle grade authors should really work to achieve! It's not easy to do, but Korman pops the scenes in so casually that it looks easy.
The Unteachables is a solid, funny novel with deeper issues and the true meaning of intelligence that will appeal to fans of Buyea's Because of Mr. Terupt, Palacio's Wonder and Hunt's Fish in a Tree.
Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Emerge: The Betrayal  (Immortals of Indriell Book 5)
Four years ago, Allie and Aidan parted ways. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Whispers of Shadow & Flame (Earthsinger, #2)
The Mantle that separates the kingdoms of Elsira and Lagrimar...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Plague of Death Anchoress Series Book Two
Her light protects her world. But to defeat an...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Kingdom
Welcome to the Kingdom… where "Happily Ever After" isn’t...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stepsister
Isabelle should be blissfully happy - she's about to...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Merbaby's Lullaby
Hush, foam rocker, sleep, wave breaker. ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mage's Apprentice
Vampires. Shifters. Fae. Mages. This ain’t the New York...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bright Burning Stars
Best friends Marine Duval and Kate Sanders have trained...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Shatter the Sky (Shatter the Sky, #1)
Raised among the ruins of a conquered mountain nation, Maren...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Voice in my Head
For Indigo Phillips, life has always been about basking...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Virtue of Sin
Miriam lives in New Jerusalem, a haven in the desert...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Tin
Tin
In an alternative England of the 1930s where the laws...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stolen Girl
Nadia is haunted by World War II. Her memories of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Iliad
More than three thousand years ago, two armies faced each...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A Light Amongst Shadows
James Spencer is hardly the typical troubled youth who ends...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
the orphan fixed.jpg
Sometimes the ones who save us are the ones we...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Whispers of Shadow & Flame (Earthsinger, #2)
 
5.0
"WHISPERS OF SHADOW & FLAME is a fantastic second installment in the Earthsinger Chronicles. Although it is the second book,..."
Shatter the Sky (Shatter the Sky, #1)
 
4.0
"SHATTER THE SKY follows, Maren, who has been raised in a small mountain town. She and her girlfriend, Kaia, have..."
The Virtue of Sin
 
3.7
"Miriam lives in New Jerusalem, a haven from the evil outside. She's taught to be submissive and obedient to their..."
No Place Like Here
 
4.0
"NO PLACE LIKE HERE is an engaging and summery YA contemporary that emphasizes healing and friendship. Ashlyn is at the..."
The Iliad
 
3.7
"Long ago in Ancient Greece, a prince of Troy, Paris, steals the most beautiful woman in the world from another..."
Second Star (The Neverland Transmissions)
 
3.0
"SECOND STAR alternates POV between Peter and Wendy. It starts off with Peter sabotaging Captain Hooke's ship and stranding them..."
The Last Hope (The Raging Ones, #2)
 
4.7
"THE LAST HOPE is a thrilling conclusion to the THE RAGING ONES duology. As we know from the first book,..."
Spin the Dawn (The Blood of Stars, #1)
 
5.0
"SPIN THE DAWN is an unbelievably fantastic read with some elements of a high-stakes PROJECT RUNWAY, some elements of FLAME..."
The Chosen (Contender, #1)
 
5.0
"MAZE RUNNER meets LAND OF THE LOST in this engaging page-turner full of twists and turns in an epic tale..."
The Deceiver's Heart
 
5.0
"THE DECEIVER'S HEART opens in an epic way. Kestra tries to kill Lord Endrick, but fails and tries to escape..."
The Grace Year
 
5.0
"What worked: Just wowza. This is one intense, haunting tale of girls that are banished on their sixteenth year to..."
Castle of Concrete
 
5.0
"What an amazing debut novel - it weaves together fascinating characters, political upheaval, anti-Semitism, and conflicted love interests into a..."
Let Me Hear a Rhyme
 
5.0
"Tiffany D. Jackson has knocked it out of the park yet again with LET ME HEAR A RHYME. When Steph..."
The Dark Beneath the Ice
 
4.0
"THE DARK BENEATH THE ICE is a stunningly written YA horror that follows Marianne as she starts losing time, sees..."
Again, But Better
 
5.0
"The author’s writing style makes this book a joy to read from start to finish. I started reading it on..."
The Storm Crow (The Storm Crow, #1)
 
5.0
"THE STORM CROW is an engrossing and imaginative YA fantasy. Anthia (Thia) is a princess of Rhodaire and eagerly awaits..."
Overturned
 
5.0
"Top 3 reasons you need to read Overturned by Lamar Giles (and read the rest of his books while you're..."
The Evil Queen (The Forest of Good and Evil, #1)
 
4.7
"If you love a snarky heroine, surprise twists and turns, and a fairytale-themed plot, THE EVIL QUEEN is designed to..."
How It Feels to Float
 
4.7
"This story follows the life of Biz, a teenaged girl. Biz lives with her family, goes to school, explores her..."
Stepsister
 
4.3
""The wolves in the woods have sharp teeth and long claws, bit it's the wolf inside who will tear you..."