Tom Gates Is Absolutely Fantastic (at Some Things) (#5)

Tom Gates Is Absolutely Fantastic (at Some Things) (#5)

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
36   0
Write Review
Tom Gates Is Absolutely Fantastic (at Some Things) (#5)
Author(s)
Age Range
8+
Release Date
October 16, 2018
ISBN
978-1536201307
Buy This Book
      
Since Tom forgets everything, it’s not surprising that he forgot all about the trip he’s supposed to go on with class 5F. It’s good that his family helps keep him on track (even, once in a while, his grumpy sister, Delia)! Luckily, there are loads of excellent things to do on the trip, like making rafts, eating snacks, and seeing some very weird creatures. That is, as long as Tom doesn’t get stuck in a group with anyone who snores or worse (looking at you, Marcus Meldrew!).

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

More Cheeky UK Fun

The big event in Tom's world is the upcoming School Activity Trip, but he might not be going! He forgot to turn in the permission slip, and even when he gets another one, it is lost in the morass of his room. Luckily, his mother saves the day and sends him off with substandard wooly jumpers and way too many bananas instead of decent snacks! He has an odd assortment of roommates, including Marcus, who shoots his mouth off about how great and brave he isn't, but is really just whiny and annoying instead. There are lots of fun activities like raft building, and competitions with another school. Of course, the best activities are the forbidden ones, like snacking after lights out and being silly. Still, the trip is a success and Tom is glad that he finally got organized enough to go... even if he loses his teddy bear and everyone on his bus finds out he brought one.

Good Points
Like Peirce's Big Nate, Tom is an imminently likable and tremendously typical middle school student. He means well, but still can't remember to pack his own pajamas! He's obsessed with snacks, but in a world where you can buy caramel wafers at the corner Tesco, who wouldn't be? Tom is also very British, with his gym kit, rubbish bins, and even the whole concept of the School Activity Trip! The last time I took middle school students on a trip that stayed even one night away was 1989!

The other characters in the book are slightly one-dimensional; Tom's father is always claiming to want to stay fit but sneaking biscuits, his sister Delia is often mean and snarky to him but ends up saving the day when he forgets to mail in an entry to a t shirt design contest, and his teachers a bit waffly and ineffectual. I do appreciate that even with Marcus, Tom is understanding and not mean. This makes a big difference between this and the US Wimpy Kid series.

The hand-lettered font and copious pictures will appeal to fans of Stick Dog and Charlie Joe Jackson, and many readers will use this book as an arguing point to get a wall of their room painted in black board paint just like Tom, so they can doodle all over a wall. All of Tom's exploits are amusing, humorous, and pure fun to read. I am not overly sad that this series is fourteen books long in the UK!
Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Flash: The Secret Files of Barry Allen: The Ultimate Guide to the Hit TV Show
My name is Barry Allen. You probably know me as...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
An Assassin's Guide to Love & Treason
When Lady Katherine's father is killed for being an illegally...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Blood Spell
Blue de la Cour has her life planned: hide the...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ogre Enchanted
In this prequel to Ella Enchanted, which can stand on...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Home and Away
Tasia Quirk is young, Black, and fabulous. She's a senior,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mirage
In a star system dominated by the brutal Vathek empire,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dactyl Hill Squad
It's 1863 and dinosaurs roam the streets of New York...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Onyx and Ivory
They call her Traitor Kate. It’s a title Kate Brighton...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Beyond a Darkened Shore
The ancient land of Éirinn is mired in war. Ciara,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
People several generations ago talk about what they were doing...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
The Storm Runner
Zane has always enjoyed exploring the dormant volcano near his...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mother Tongue
On the day she brings her sweet little sister,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being scarred by an unimaginable lie, Erik commits...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Almost Flawless Tokyo Dream Life
"I'm here to take you to live with your...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
safe_image.jpeg
Twins raised far from the darkness are the key...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Chasing Mermaids
A HOT EX-BOYFRIEND, A DETERMINED SWIM STAR, AND A...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Holes
 
5.0
"Important message. Unique perspective."
Watch Hollow
 
5.0
"Lucy and Oliver Tinker's father repairs clocks for a living, but the business isn't doing well. After the death of..."
Courageous
 
4.0
"Aidan lives in a fishing village in England. His one brother has died in the war, but George is still..."
Tom Gates Is Absolutely Fantastic (at Some Things) (#5)
 
5.0
"The big event in Tom's world is the upcoming School Activity Trip, but he might not be going! He forgot..."
Bravelands #3: Blood and Bone
 
4.0
"Thorn, a baboon, Sky, an elephant, and Fearless, a lion, have been friends since childhood. Due to the evil influence..."
Tales from the Inner City
 
4.0
"In this heavily illustrated short story collection, Tan explores the interconnectedness of humans and the natural world. Using animals to..."
The Unteachables
 
5.0
"Mr. Kermit is entering his 30th year of teaching, and he's already put in for early retirement. He started his..."
On Blood Road (A Vietnam War Novel)
 
5.0
"Taylor Sorenson is a typical rebellious teen of 1968, sneaking out of his posh apartment to hang out with friends..."
Right as Rain
 
3.0
"Rain's family has experienced a tragedy-- her older brother was killed in a car accident. The mother thinks that the..."
Eventown
 
3.0
"Elodee's family is struggling for reasons that aren't clear, and she and her twin sister Naomi are not getting along...."
Scream and Scream Again
 
5.0
"I found some stories to be a lot more scary or interesting than others but the whole book was enjoyable...."
How Do I Love Thee?
 
5.0
"HOW DO I LOVE THEE is a beautifully illustrated children's book that is based on Elizabeth Barrett Browning's "Sonnet 43"...."
Privateer's Apprentice
 
4.0
"Privateer themed books can so easily go the way of the ridiculous and over the top. Not so with Privateer’s..."
Louisiana's Way Home
 
5.0
" I want to hug this book and never let go. Louisiana Elefante is cursed. She is hopeful..."
Unbound: A Novel in Verse
 
3.0
"All her life, Grace has been told the rules she must follow to survive: keep eyes down, keep mouth shut,..."
Time Jumpers: Escape from Egypt
 
3.0
"Time Jumpers: Escape from Egypt offers lengthier chapter book reading, while still offering delightful illustrations more familiar to young readers..."
Mangoes, Mischief, and Tales of Friendship
 
3.0
"This book took me right back to my childhood! But what’s interesting is that the stories in this book aren’t..."
Zora & Me: The Cursed Ground
 
5.0
" Reading stories set during the time of slavery twists the stomach into a knot. Though most of us..."
Laugh-Out-Loud A+ Jokes for Kids (Laugh-Out-Loud Jokes for Kids)
 
3.5
"Yet another collection of clean kid’s jokes in the LOL series, this slim paperback offers fresh school-themed humor. As with..."
The Third Mushroom
 
4.0
"Ellie's grandfather Melvin, who turned himself into a teenager in The Fourteenth Goldfish, has gotten tired of traveling and has..."