So Done

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
729   0
Write Review
So Done
Author(s)
Age Range
8+
Release Date
August 14, 2018
ISBN
978-0062691781
Buy This Book
      
Fans of Renée Watson’s Piecing Me Together will love this memorable story about a complex friendship between two very different African American girls—and the importance of speaking up.

Jamila Phillips and Tai Johnson have been inseparable since they were toddlers, having grown up across the street from each other in Pirates Cove, a low-income housing project. As summer comes to an end, Tai can’t wait for Mila to return from spending a month with her aunt in the suburbs. But both girls are grappling with secrets, and when Mila returns she’s more focused on her upcoming dance auditions than hanging out with Tai.

Paula Chase explores complex issues that affect many young teens, and So Done offers a powerful message about speaking up. Full of ballet, basketball, family, and daily life in Pirates Cove, this memorable novel is for fans of Ali Benjamin’s The Thing About Jellyfish and Jason Reynolds’s Ghost.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

Friends and Dance!

Bean and Tai are neighbors in a low-income housing project and have been friends for a very long time, but recently things have been strained between them. Tai hopes that when Bean returns from spending the summer with her aunt and sister in the suburbs and the pair start their 8th grade year, that things will return to normal. When Bean decides that she would rather not be called by her nickname and prefers to be addressed as Mila (or Jamila) and still doesn't want to spend time at Tai's house, Tai is rather irritated. Mila is struggling as well. While her mother is not part of her life because of a drug addiction problem, her father is much stricter that Tai's grandmother, who still allows Tai's father to be at their house, even though he struggles with substance abuse as well. Tai is very interested in her new relationship with Rollie, and in investing herself in the neighborhood activities with her friends Mo and Sheeda. Mila is thinking about distancing herself, and is wondering if the suburbs are a better fit for her. When tryouts for a new Talented and Gifted school are announced, and two new students move into the area, the neighborhood is abuzz with who might make it into the different programs. The dancing program is extremely competitive, and Mila feels she can work hard enough to get into it, but Tai isn't as fond of ballet as she is of hip hop, and feels that the good ballet dancers get preferential treatment. Mila and Tai go back and forth in their relationship because of all of these factors, especially a critical incident involving Tai's father that is eventually addressed in an appropriate manner. Will the girls be able to embrace their similarities and remain friends, or will their differences wear down their relationship?

Good Points
This gave a nicely balanced description of the Cove neighborhood (which shows up in this author's earlier work, the Del Rio Bay Clique books), detailing the good parts as well as the problems. Friend relationships are SO important to middle grade readers, and the differences that Tai and Mila are experiencing are very true to life. The auditions for the TAG program are a facet of middle school life not often covered in literature, so the drama surrounding those was refreshing. The cover is fantastic and will sell itself. I'm very much looking forward to having this books available to recommend to my readers!

Fans of Renee Watson, Sharon Flake, and Maddie Ziegler will adore this story that combines the tensions of friends, family, and dreams worth working for.
Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Three Little Superpigs: Once Upon a Time
Everyone thinks they know how the Three Little Pigs defeated...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Song for a Whale
In the spirit of modern-day classics like Fish in a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Maybe Tomorrow?
Elba has a big block. She's been dragging it around...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Very Impatient Caterpillar
HEY! What are you guys doing? ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Wonders of Nature: Explorations in the World of Birds, Insects and Fish
Bright-eyed birds, evanescent butterflies, tropical fish and other pleasures await...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Final Step (Lock and Key #3)
The New York Times bestselling author of the Peter and...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Pretend She's Here
Mega-bestselling author Luanne Rice returns with a ripped-from-the-headlines story of...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
You Made Me a Dad
In this touching celebration of fatherhood, the close bond between...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cicada
Cicada tells the story of a hardworking little cicada who...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Captured: An American Prisoner of War in North Vietnam
Naval aviator Jeremiah Denton was shot down and captured in...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Swap'd
After her Click'd catastrophe, Allie Navarro is determined to redeem...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stick Dog Gets the Tacos (Stick Dog #9)
When Karen sprints into Stick Dog’s pipe and declares an...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tin
Tin
In an alternative England of the 1930s where the laws...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ruff vs. Fluff (Queenie & Arthur #1)
From the outside, Queenie the cat and...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Yay for Vaycay! (Pug Pals #2)
The pugs are packing their bags! ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Braced
Rachel Brooks is excited for the new school year. She's...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

The Three Little Superpigs: Once Upon a Time
 
4.5
"THE THREE LITTLE SUPERPIGS: ONCE UPON A TIME is an adorable and fun retelling of the classic story of the..."
Song for a Whale
 
5.0
"SONG FOR A WHALE is a heart-warming middle grade story about being different and finding your place. Iris is deaf,..."
Ruff vs. Fluff (Queenie & Arthur #1)
 
4.0
"Arthur, an enthusiastic but somewhat misguided mixed breed dog, and Queenie, a particular and discerning cat, both live with their..."
The Strangers (The Greystone Secrets #1)
 
4.0
"The Greystone kids have a good life, even if their father died when they were all very young. Chess remembers..."
Focused
 
4.0
"lea really wants to do well in school, and thinks it is her own fault that she doesn't get all..."
Maybe Tomorrow?
 
4.5
"MAYBE TOMORROW covers some big and important topics in an approachable way, mainly friendship and grief/depression. Elba carries around a..."
The Very Impatient Caterpillar
 
5.0
"THE VERY IMPATIENT CATERPILLAR is a laugh-out-loud story that will charm parents and young children alike. The very impatient caterpillar..."
The Final Step (Lock and Key #3)
 
4.0
"Moira and James, still reeling from the death of their father and of Ralph in The Downward Spiral, are back..."
Stick Dog Gets the Tacos (Stick Dog #9)
 
5.0
"When Karen comes back from looking for barbecue potato chips in a garbage can that a dog is being abused,..."
Yay for Vaycay! (Pug Pals #2)
 
5.0
"Sunny and Rosy's human packs for vacation, but doesn't take her beloved dogs with her! Instead, they get to visit..."
Braced
 
5.0
"Rachel is very concerned about starting middle school and getting a good position on the soccer team. She is struggling..."
Where the Heart Is
 
4.0
"Rachel's summer is not off to a good start; her parents don't remember her 13th birthday right away, and new..."
You Made Me a Dad
 
5.0
"YOU MADE ME A DAD is a charming story of fatherhood, beginning before the child is born through when they..."
Cicada
 
3.5
"CICADA tells the story of working in a corporate job. Cicada is a good employee who works hard and doesn’t..."
Swap'd
 
4.0
" Allie gets tickets to Game On Con because of her previous coding experiences, and wants her friend from coding..."
Tin
Tin
 
4.0
"Christopher is an orphan boy who works for Mr. Absalom, an engineer who creates mechanicals, a 1930s version of robots...."
Game of Stars  (Kiranmala and the Kingdom Beyond #2)
 
4.0
"Kiran has survived her ordeals in The Serpent's Secret, and is back in Parsippany, New Jersey. and is trying to..."
Stone River Crossing
 
4.0
"Martha Tom lives in a town in the Choctaw Nation in 1804, right across the Bok Chitto River from a..."
TBH, Too Much Drama (TBH, #3)
 
4.0
"TBH, TOO MUCH DRAMA is a short book that primarily takes place over texts, but also has some emails, essays,..."
Skeleton Tree
 
4.0
"THE SKELETON TREE is a gripping middle grade novel that will touch your heart. Stanley Stanwright is 12 years old,..."