From You to Me

From You to Me

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
130   0
Write Review
From You to Me
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
8+
Release Date
May 29, 2018
ISBN
978-1338193305
Buy This Book
      
Amelia Peabody lives in a small town where nothing changes. And that's just fine by her. After losing her big sister, Clara, a few years ago, Amelia can't handle any more change. But when she starts eighth grade, she accidentally receives a letter that Clara had written to herself. In it, there's a list of things she'd wanted to do before the end of middle school and never finished, like get on the softball team and throw an awesome birthday party on the lake.

Amelia wonders if it's a sign from Clara. Maybe if she completed the list, her heart would stop hurting so much, and she could go back to being her old self. But as she makes her way through, Amelia finds that there's no going back, only forward. And she realizes she'll have to put her own spin on Clara's list to grow and change in the ways she needs to.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

Letter from the past

Amelia is tired of being "the girl with the dead sister", since it's been three years since her sister was involved in an accident on the lake. When she starts 8th grade, her teacher gives the students letters they wrote to themselves at the start of 6th grade-- and Amelia gets Clara's. She decides to try to accomplish the things Clara has told herself she would do (like asking a boy named Billy to a dance and trying out for the softball team) as a way to break herself out of her endless cycle of grief. Her best friend Taylor agrees that this is a good plan, and tries to help by making Amelia run with her. Amelia does manage to do some things on her own, like getting into a high school physics class, and her family is managing to move in a forward pattern as well. Her mother is a part-time city planner, and her father has decided to devote himself to his food truck, Pits and Pieces, coming up with new barbecue recipes and items like bacon chocolate chip cookies. He even enters a competition and tricks Amelia and her mother into going down to the lake to meet with the producers. Amelia starts spending time with Clara's friend, Twitch, who is both somewhat comforting and upsetting to be around. Taylor's grandmother, who runs a very cool General Store/soda fountain, also tries to help Amelia process her grief by sharing some of her own life experiences. Amelia manages to make it through some of the items in the letter, and is able to get through more and more of her days without crying.

Good Points
Amelia is an understandable middle grade character who is trying her best to make sense of the direction her life has taken. She starts the year by trying to "fake it 'til you make it" and has some success with that, with Taylor's help. Taylor is a good friend who tries to figure out what Amelia needs from her, and is sometimes more successful than others.

The small, lakeside town is an intriguing setting, and is portrayed as having lots of traditions celebrated by its residents. Kite Night is a fun local festival, and the 8th graders seem to be very invested in the idea of Prank Day, even though it's hard to believe that that is still something allowed, much less encouraged. I imagine that it is hard for Amelia to avoid the lake entirely; luckily, she can spend most of her time in the General Store, which is right up there on my list of fictional places to visit.

Readers who are intrigued by how young people navigate their way through grief and who have enjoyed books like Geithner's If Only, Dessen's The Truth About Forever, Lopez's Confetti Girl or Silberberg's Milo : Sticky Notes and Brain Freeze will find Amelia's journey a interesting look at the unexpected places life can take us.
Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Resist: 35 Profiles of Ordinary People Who Rose Up Against Tyranny and Injustice
A perfect tool for young readers as they grow into...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Truth as Told by Mason Buttle
From the critically acclaimed author of Waiting for Normal and...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Side by Side A Novel of Bonnie and Clyde
Texas: 1931. It’s the height of the Great Depression, and...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Voyage of the Dogs
SOS. Ship damaged. Human crew missing. We are...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Shorty & Clem Blast Off!
The energetic and zany duo Shorty and Clem are back,...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Bear's Spooky Book of Hidden Things: Halloween Seek-and-Find
If you want to keep kids happily busy for hours...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Strange New World
Dahlia 16's life is a lie. The city of...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Like Never And Always
Liv Burnham thinks nobody knows Morgan Frost like she...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Outcasts- The Blood Dagger: Volume 1
Mystical relics. Powerful vampires. Strange allies. It's hell being...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ascent (A Peak Marcello Adventure #3)
After conquering the mountains in Afghanistan, Peak Marcello goes...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Here to Stay
For most of high school, Bijan Majidi has flown under...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Hiding Lies
At Holden Prep, dirty little secrets always have a way...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
We, The Lucky Few
"Each time I think this night reaches its lowest...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Burning Maze (The Trials of Apollo, #3)
The formerly glorious god Apollo, cast down to earth...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meg has it made. She has money to spare, attends...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Red Ribbon
Shining a light on a little-known aspect of the Holocaust,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Sneaking Out
 
3.8
" ‘Sneaking Out’ is the first installment in the ‘Chase’ series. The setting is an elite New England..."
Bleeding Hearts
 
3.0
"The story: Nancy Miller is a poor, illiterate teenage girl scrounging out a meager living in Edinburgh. On the..."
All-American Liars
 
3.8
"'All-American Liars' by Emily Kazmierski shines a light on the lies people tell themselves and others to help save face..."
 
4.0
"A short and fun read. The story: Megera is in danger of having to leave her private school when..."
This Summer
 
4.0
"A sweet romance highlighting the fragile hearts of youth. The story: Hadley is determined to have a good summer..."
Emerge: The Heir (Immortals of Indriell Book 4)
 
5.0
"A shining star in a great series. The story: Picking up years after the last time we saw Allie..."
Faded
 
5.0
"'Faded' by Melanie Hooyenga is the third installment in her 'Flicker Effect' series. It is not always true that a..."
When Fall Breaks
 
3.8
"'When Fall Breaks' by Julie Solano and Tracy Justice had a lot of interesting scenarios going on that are not..."
Emerge: The Assignment: An Immortals of Indriell Novella
 
5.0
"A great side story for anyone following this series. The story: Tessa is a fighter, but she believes she..."
 
5.0
"Fans of Laurie Halse Anderson, John Green, 13 Reasons Why, All the Bright Places and It’s Kind of a Funny..."
Ruthless Magic
 
5.0
"The story: In a world that knows magic exists there are only some people who have the power to wield..."
The Unusual Suspects
 
4.8
"Fourteen year old Bulgarian, Nia, is attacked while taking a train across Europe (she is going to face her cheating..."
Heart of Mine
 
4.7
"A sweet and clean royal romance with a hint of mystery and suspense."
Emerge: The Captive: (Book 3)
 
5.0
"The story: Captured by an Immortal organisation called Soma, Quinn struggles to keep his secrets hidden from his captors. Secrets..."
White Knights
 
4.3
"Angel is a genius at school and also a talented hacker. She mostly uses her gift of coding to search..."
A Thousand Salt Kisses
 
2.0
""A Thousand Salt Kisses" is the story of a young woman named Crystal who meets (later discovered to be) a..."
A Mortal Song
 
3.0
"Sora has been raised by the kami in Mt. Fuji and enjoys her life with her parents and her best..."
Below Northern Lights
 
3.5
" Lucas Santiago is injured war veteran and as a result of his injuries, has ended up in..."
22 Scars
 
4.8
"Amy leads a tortured life. She has a monster for a father and a distant mother. Amy self-harms and has..."
Karina
 
5.0
"Karina is that rare book that both instructs and delights. In this captivating young adult novel, the reader sees the..."