Lights, Music, Code! #3 (Girls Who Code)

Lights, Music, Code! #3 (Girls Who Code)

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
319   0
Write Review
Lights, Music, Code! #3 (Girls Who Code)
Author(s)
Age Range
8+
Release Date
March 13, 2018
ISBN
978-0399542534
Buy This Book
      
Maya and her friends from coding club have an exciting new project: they're coding lights and music for the winter dance! But when Maya's old troublemaking friend Nicole moves to town, Maya starts spending a lot of time with her, and less time with her coding friends. Nicole just gets her in a way that her other friends don't.

Will Maya get swayed by Nicole's wayward ways, or will she stay true to her "permanent group" from coding club? And will she come through on her part for the light and music coding project? Maybe coding--like friendship--is about being there for your friends when they need you the most.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

Slow Dancing, Coding to the Music

Maya and the coding club are going to be working on a new and innovative idea for incorporating technology into the school dance, and are having trouble coming up with ideas and with implementing them. (Programmable bracelets would be great, but who has the money?). Not only that, but when they do settle on an idea, it requires a lot of work, and Maya has spread herself very thin. It doesn't help that Maddie, the friend who got her in trouble for shoplifting, is moving to town and wants to hang out with her. Maya's parents do NOT approve, but it's hard to shake Maddie, even after she says and does some things that should warn Maya that she hasn't really changed. Soon, the club has a plan, and Maya is working hard on her part of it, but when she finds out that Sophia doesn't have a nice dress to wear, she's bound and determined to help her friend out with a spectacular outfit to help her catch a certain boy's eye. Will she be able to finish it in time?

Good Points
Stories that involves children actively involved in projects and organizations are always my favorites, and since there is such a huge need for people to go into technology fields, I love the Girls Who Code series. The technology is made more appealing by being used for fun things like robots and flashing lights. When I was learning HTML and JavaScript, I tried to teach my daughters, who were this age at the time, and it was too boring for them. My brother, however, just bought some kind of programmable lights for his girls to investigate!

The ensemble cast if nicely diverse, and it's fairly easy to keep the characters straight. Maya's sister is a great addition, and it's nice for younger students to see older girls they can admire and ask for assistance.

The fun illustrations scattered throughout the book also make it easier to identify the characters, and add a fun facet that might help attract readers to the books... and help make them coders!

There are very few books of any kind that include coding as a key plot element-- Gene Luen Yang's Secret Coders is the only one that comes to mind. There are a lot of books that include groups of girls doing projects, so Girls Who Code will be popular with readers who like Simon's The Cupcake Club, Kimmel's Forever Four, or Singleton's The Curious Cat Spy Club.
Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Pretend She's Here
Mega-bestselling author Luanne Rice returns with a ripped-from-the-headlines story of...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
You Made Me a Dad
In this touching celebration of fatherhood, the close bond between...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cicada
Cicada tells the story of a hardworking little cicada who...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Captured: An American Prisoner of War in North Vietnam
Naval aviator Jeremiah Denton was shot down and captured in...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Swap'd
After her Click'd catastrophe, Allie Navarro is determined to redeem...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Karen sprints into Stick Dog’s pipe and declares an...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tin
Tin
In an alternative England of the 1930s where the laws...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ruff vs. Fluff (Queenie & Arthur #1)
From the outside, Queenie the cat and...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Yay for Vaycay! (Pug Pals #2)
The pugs are packing their bags! ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Braced
Rachel Brooks is excited for the new school year. She's...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Focused
Clea can't control her thoughts. She knows she has to...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Where the Heart Is
It’s the first day of summer and Rachel's thirteenth birthday....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Because of the Rabbit
On the last night of summer, Emma...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Secret Soldiers: How the U.S. Twenty-Third Special Troops Fooled the Nazis
In his third book about deception during war, Paul B....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Light Jar
Nate and his mother are running away. Fleeing from an...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Stars  (Kiranmala and the Kingdom Beyond #2)
When the Demon Queen shows up in her bedroom, smelling...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

The Everlasting Rose (The Belles #2)
 
3.7
"In a world where beauty is a currency, the Belles are special, gifted with beauty and the power to bestow..."
Pretend She's Here
 
3.3
"Since they were little, Lizzie Porter and Emily Lonergan were inseparable and best friends. Now Emily is almost sixteen-years-old, and..."
Tell Me Everything
 
3.7
"TELL ME EVERYTHING follows Ivy, beginning the summer before her sophomore year. Ivy’s parents are ecologists, and her passion for..."
In the Neighborhood of True
 
4.3
"After her father's untimely death, Ruth Robb's mother uproots her and her little sister from New York City to Atlanta,..."
Emmie and the Tudor King
 
3.0
"What worked: Fast-paced time travel romp through Tudor England. In this case readers find out what would have happened if..."
The Girl The Sea Gave Back
 
5.0
"When Tova is saved by the Svell's Tala, Jorrund, she becomes their key to peek at the future. Tora is..."
Let Me Hear a Rhyme
 
4.7
"I'm not sure which the character I loved the most. It is one of those heartfelt stories about a group..."
The Kingdom of Copper
 
5.0
"I honestly didn't think anything could be better than book one The City of Brass but I was so so..."
The Cerulean
 
3.0
"So, I didn't even know this was a thing until everyone was dogging it on twitter. When I saw that..."
To All The Boys I've Loved Before
 
4.0
"This is one of the very few times I will ever say this but here we go.... I preferred the..."
Kiss Collector
 
4.7
"Finally! A freaking book that looks down on drugs. I was so nervous when right off the bat, we get..."
The Darkest Star
 
4.3
"Okay, let's be honest here. Let's just get everything out in the open, shall we? No one and I mean..."
Storm and Fury
 
5.0
"With Armentrout’s characteristic snark and swoony romance, STORM AND FURY will not disappoint fans who have been eagerly awaiting this..."
Kingsbane (Empirium, #2)
 
4.7
"This exciting and fast-paced sequel picks up right where the first book left off. For that reason, this book does..."
Furyborn (Empirium, #1)
 
4.7
"FURYBORN is a YA fantasy that does not disappoint! We begin by seeing the world through the eyes of a..."
The Vanishing Stair
 
4.7
"Feedback As soon as I finished the first book I was so eager to continue. I absolutely loved Truly..."
Truly Devious
 
5.0
"Feedback I absolutely loved this book. It was a buddy read for me and it sounded interesting so I..."
The Lovely and the Lost
 
5.0
"THE LOVELY AND THE LOST follows Kira, a girl who was once found by search and rescue (SAR) and who..."
Happy Messy Scary Love
 
3.3
"HAPPY MESSY SCARY LOVE follows Olivia aka Carrie from her Reddit username over the summer. Olivia is a horror movie..."
Storm and Fury
 
5.0
"Trinity has never been allowed to leave her home compound because of her secret. Here, she has friends, a protector,..."