Cody and the Heart of a Champion

Cody and the Heart of a Champion

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
250   0
Write Review
Cody and the Heart of a Champion
Age Range
6+
Release Date
April 10, 2018
ISBN
978-0763679217
Buy This Book
      
In Cody’s life, some people keep her on her toes — just like Mother Nature, who is warm one day and snowy the next. Or like Cody’s brother, Wyatt, who has started wearing collared shirts because his girlfriend likes them. Meanwhile, Pearl has begun playing soccer and it’s all she can talk about. Spencer is busy creating a mysterious museum underneath GG’s house and he's never around to play. And Spencer’s mom doesn’t look any different. . . . Could she really have a baby growing inside her? Maybe the baby is like Cody’s beloved ants, waiting patiently inside the earth for spring to arrive. It seems like everything around Cody is changing — from seasons to friendships — but if she can just navigate it all with her trademark enthusiasm and charm, maybe the most important things will stay the same.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

Ch-ch-changes for Cody

Spring is on its way, and Cody is all set to make the season exciting. Warmer days mean her favorite spring jacket, even if it is too small, and flip flops, even though her mother tries to take them away! Her friend Pearl is playing soccer, and wants Cody to play as well. Cody's not thrilled with the idea, although she does want to be close to her friend, especially when she sees Pearl being friends with the other girls. Spencer's mother is expecting, and the family is looking for their own home... but Spencer fails to tell Cody this. Wyatt, her brother, is spending more and more time with his girlfriend, and is changing some things about himself, which Cody doesn't like, even if it IS only wearing collared shirts. Change is always difficult, but Cody has a strong base of support. An awesome new reversible spring jacket helps as well!

Good Points
Springstubb does a fantastic job of identifying things that are difficult for elementary school students, but which adults may have forgotten. Yes, we know that friends moving away if difficult, but it's easy to forget the pain of having to give up that favorite piece of clothing. I understood completely the attachment that Cody had to her jacket, but would never have thought about it so thoroughly!

The accompanying illustrations are charming and hit a sweet spot between elementary and early middle school, which makes it easy to hand this to children who only want to read graphic novels. The cover doesn't look too "babyish", and the small trim size makes this seem cozy and easy!

As Cody gets older, we don't see as much of her family. This is realistic, but I do so enjoy them! I adore Wyatt, her older brother, and it's fun to hear Cody's impressions of his girlfriend, whom she calls P.U. (Her name is Payton Underwood.) Sibling relationships are so important for young readers, and I can always use more books centering around them.

Cody's new interest in soccer is well-done, because it is not easy for her. As she is spending less time with her family, it makes sense that she is branching out into different actitivies. Cody is a great series to give to readers who like Meyerhoff's The Friendshp Garden, Haywood's classic B is for Betsy, or who aren't quite ready for Morgan's Soccer Sisters because they themselves just started playing!
Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

An Egg-Stra Special Easter
Happy Easter from the Beanie Boos! These furry friends are...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jesus Loves Me
The Bible bb's share the Good News about Jesus using...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Changing Faces: Happy Halloween!
It’s Halloween and all the different creatures have come out...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Itsy Bitsy School Bus
A fun and playful back-to-school twist on the popular nursery...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I Spy Little Hearts
Perfect for Valentine's Day or any day--search-and-find fun from bestselling...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I Spy Little Bunnies
This bestselling board book now has a shiny new holographic...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Peep, Peep, I Love You
An adorable lift-the-flap springtime and Easter story, full of sweet...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lift the Flap: Look Who's Mooing!
What sounds do a cow, chicken, and more farm animals...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Archive of Magic: Explore the Film Wizardry of Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald
Newt, Tina, Queenie, and Jacob, the beloved heroes of Fantastic...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald - Magical Adventure Colouring Book
Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald - Magical Advent ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Chicken Talk
The chickens on the farm have a message for their...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sea Bear: A Journey for Survival
Lindsay Moore’s remarkable and beautifully illustrated picture book follows a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Planting Stories: The Life of Librarian and Storyteller Pura Belpré
Follow la vida y legado of Pura Belpré, the first...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Remarkably You
New York Times bestselling author Pat Zietlow Miller celebrates individuality...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Our Little Love Bug! (Heart-felt Books)
You're the precious gift we dreamed of. You...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bird Watch
From the author of the acclaimed Tap the Magic Tree!...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

8 Notes to a Nobody (Bird Face book one)
 
5.0
"The main character, Wendy, is realistic and sympathetically portrayed, so much so that the book drew me in and transported..."
The Other Side of Freedom
 
5.0
"This stellar novel spotlights the trials of Italian immigrants during the era of Prohibition. I'd heard of Al Capone and..."
Two Dogs in a Trench Coat Start a Club by Accident (Two Dogs in a Trench Coat #2)
 
5.0
"Sassy and Waldo still love going to school (What? You haven't read Two Dogs in a Trench Coat Go To..."
Lumberjanes: The Good Egg (Lumberjanes #3)
 
3.0
"Summer is wearing on for the Lumberjanes; cabin cleaning must be done, and there is a slight feeling of ennui..."
An Egg-Stra Special Easter
 
5.0
"Carrots the bunny has hidden Easter eggs all around the farm. This is Blossom's first Easter though and she's excited...."
Changing Faces: Happy Halloween!
 
5.0
"In HAPPY HALLOWEEN, a spider is going around scaring everyone! It scares a pumpkin, a ghost, a witch, and a..."
The Itsy Bitsy School Bus
 
4.0
"THE ITSY BITSY SCHOOL BUS is a fun change to the nursery rhyme "The Itsy Bitsy Spider." It follows a..."
Peep, Peep, I Love You
 
5.0
"PEEP, PEEP, I LOVE YOU teaches about the mommy and baby animals on a farm. It also has a foam..."
Chicken Talk
 
4.0
"Farmer Otis, his wife Abby, and his children Willie and Belle love their chickens. They also have a rooster named..."
A Good Kind of Trouble
 
5.0
"Shayla is a good kid who doesn't like to be in trouble. Her older sister, Hana, is outspoken and interested..."
Sweeping Up the Heart
 
4.0
"Amelia lives a quiet life in a college town with her introspective father and kindly neighbor Mrs. O’Brien, who looks..."
The Impossible Crime (Mac B., Kid Spy #2)
 
5.0
"Mac is calmly playing mini golf when the queen of England phones him yet again for help. She is afraid..."
Our Little Love Bug! (Heart-felt Books)
 
4.0
"This adorable board book features touchable pages along with messages of love. The left side features large words and a..."
What About Harry?
 
5.0
"Sam and Harry are best friends and they do everything together. One day, they decide to be kings and make..."
Roary the Lion Roars Too Loud (Wee Beasties)
 
4.5
"This delightful board book teaches children about vocal volume in an entertaining and easy way. Roary loves to use his..."
The Once and Future Geek (The Camelot Code #1)
 
4.0
"Guinevere and Arthur get along quite well, practicing their fighting and trying to stay out of the way of the..."
How to Defeat a Wizard (Marty Pants #3)
 
4.5
"Marty is still at war with Simon, and irritated beyond belief that everyone thinks the other boy is charming when..."
The Terrible Two's Last Laugh
 
4.5
"Mile and Niles, pranksters extraordinaire, are back for their last year at their school. They start the year off right,..."
The Other Side of Freedom
 
5.0
"I loved The Other Side of the Freedom - the writing, the story, the close-knit Italian family, and the early..."
Gogi's Gambit (The Lost Rainforest #2)
 
5.0
"The first of the series follows the panther Mez. This one follows Gogi the monkey. Born under a special moon,..."