Evangeline of the Bayou

Evangeline of the Bayou

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
671   0
Write Review
Evangeline of the Bayou
Author(s)
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Publisher
Age Range
8+
Release Date
May 01, 2018
ISBN
978-0062680341
Buy This Book
      
A standout middle grade adventure with a sassy, memorable heroine and a charming Southern feel, perfect for fans of Kate DiCamillo and Natalie Lloyd.

Twelve-year-old haunt huntress apprentice Evangeline Clement spends her days and nights studying the ways of folk magic, honing her monster-hunting skills while pursuing local bayou banshees and Johnny revenants.

With her animal familiar sure to make itself known any day now, the only thing left to do is prove to the council she has heart. Then she will finally be declared a true haunt huntress, worthy of following in the footsteps of her long line of female ancestors.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0

Louisiana Myth

Evangeline is a haunt huntress in training. She's being taught how to rid the world of spirits, banshees, and pretty much any monster in existence. But when a job takes her and her Gran to New Orleans, they get more than they've bargained for.

In New Orleans, Evangeline meets a reclusive Julian and his mom and dad. His mom is plagued by something that no medical physician can diagnose, so the haunt huntresses are her only hope. Their worst fear appears in the form of a Rougarou, which is a Louisiana legend. When Gran gets hurt, it's up to Evangeline to finish the job and save Julian's mom.

It was exciting waiting for Evangeline's familiar to show up because I was eager to see what form it would take. I also really enjoyed the Cajun things in it that are signature to the south, like jambalaya and the rougarou. Being from Louisiana, it was neat seeing those aspects of the story play a part like it does in my every day life.


Final Verdict: This is perfect for fans of monsters, action, adventure, and myths. It's a Louisiana legend morphed into a story.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Final Step (Lock and Key #3)
The New York Times bestselling author of the Peter and...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Pretend She's Here
Mega-bestselling author Luanne Rice returns with a ripped-from-the-headlines story of...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
You Made Me a Dad
In this touching celebration of fatherhood, the close bond between...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cicada
Cicada tells the story of a hardworking little cicada who...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Captured: An American Prisoner of War in North Vietnam
Naval aviator Jeremiah Denton was shot down and captured in...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Swap'd
After her Click'd catastrophe, Allie Navarro is determined to redeem...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stick Dog Gets the Tacos (Stick Dog #9)
When Karen sprints into Stick Dog’s pipe and declares an...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tin
Tin
In an alternative England of the 1930s where the laws...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ruff vs. Fluff (Queenie & Arthur #1)
From the outside, Queenie the cat and...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Yay for Vaycay! (Pug Pals #2)
The pugs are packing their bags! ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Braced
Rachel Brooks is excited for the new school year. She's...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Focused
Clea can't control her thoughts. She knows she has to...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Where the Heart Is
It’s the first day of summer and Rachel's thirteenth birthday....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Because of the Rabbit
On the last night of summer, Emma...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Secret Soldiers: How the U.S. Twenty-Third Special Troops Fooled the Nazis
In his third book about deception during war, Paul B....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Light Jar
Nate and his mother are running away. Fleeing from an...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

The Final Step (Lock and Key #3)
 
4.0
"Moira and James, still reeling from the death of their father and of Ralph in The Downward Spiral, are back..."
Stick Dog Gets the Tacos (Stick Dog #9)
 
5.0
"When Karen comes back from looking for barbecue potato chips in a garbage can that a dog is being abused,..."
Yay for Vaycay! (Pug Pals #2)
 
5.0
"Sunny and Rosy's human packs for vacation, but doesn't take her beloved dogs with her! Instead, they get to visit..."
Braced
 
5.0
"Rachel is very concerned about starting middle school and getting a good position on the soccer team. She is struggling..."
Where the Heart Is
 
4.0
"Rachel's summer is not off to a good start; her parents don't remember her 13th birthday right away, and new..."
You Made Me a Dad
 
5.0
"YOU MADE ME A DAD is a charming story of fatherhood, beginning before the child is born through when they..."
Cicada
 
3.5
"CICADA tells the story of working in a corporate job. Cicada is a good employee who works hard and doesn’t..."
Swap'd
 
4.0
" Allie gets tickets to Game On Con because of her previous coding experiences, and wants her friend from coding..."
Tin
Tin
 
4.0
"Christopher is an orphan boy who works for Mr. Absalom, an engineer who creates mechanicals, a 1930s version of robots...."
Game of Stars  (Kiranmala and the Kingdom Beyond #2)
 
4.0
"Kiran has survived her ordeals in The Serpent's Secret, and is back in Parsippany, New Jersey. and is trying to..."
 
4.0
"Martha Tom lives in a town in the Choctaw Nation in 1804, right across the Bok Chitto River from a..."
TBH, Too Much Drama (TBH, #3)
 
4.0
"TBH, TOO MUCH DRAMA is a short book that primarily takes place over texts, but also has some emails, essays,..."
Skeleton Tree
 
4.0
"THE SKELETON TREE is a gripping middle grade novel that will touch your heart. Stanley Stanwright is 12 years old,..."
Enter the Core (Max Tilt #3)
 
4.0
"Max and his cousin Alex are still enjoying the benefits of the serum that has cured Max's mom and his..."
Hugs and Kisses for the Grouchy Ladybug
 
4.5
"HUGS AND KISSES FOR THE GROUCHY LADYBUG features, of course, the iconic character of the grouchy ladybug and which examines..."
Hush, Little Bunny
 
5.0
"HUSH, LITTLE BUNNY is a beautifully reimagined version of the song, “Hush, Little Baby.” Featuring a papa bunny and his..."
Fangs for Everything (Crimebiters #4)
 
4.0
"Jimmy and his friends are back for this fourth and final installment, which starts with a bit of a shocker......"
Summer Babies (Babies in the Park)
 
5.0
"SUMMER BABIES is a fun board book that celebrates summer with babies playing in the park. Using summery colors and..."
Fox and the Box
 
5.0
"FOX AND THE BOX is a charming picture book that follows a fox as he/she converts a box into a..."
Lambslide
 
5.0
"LAMBSLIDE is an elegant picture book that follows three little lambs, who are all pretty sure the world revolves around..."