The Sky at Our Feet

The Sky at Our Feet

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
458   0
Write Review
The Sky at Our Feet
Publisher
Age Range
8+
Release Date
March 06, 2018
ISBN
978-0062421937
Buy This Book
      
This #ownvoices novel by bestselling author Nadia Hashimi tells the affecting story of an Afghan-American boy who believes his mother has been deported. For fans of Inside Out and Back Again and Counting by 7s.

Jason has just learned that his Afghan mother has been living illegally in the United States since his father was killed in Afghanistan. Although Jason was born in the US, it’s hard to feel American now when he’s terrified that his mother will be discovered—and that they will be separated.

When he sees his mother being escorted from her workplace by two officers, Jason feels completely alone. He boards a train with the hope of finding his aunt in New York City, but as soon as he arrives in Penn Station, the bustling city makes him wonder if he’s overestimated what he can do.

After an accident lands him in the hospital, Jason finds an unlikely ally in a fellow patient. Max, a whip-smart girl who wants nothing more than to explore the world on her own terms, joins Jason in planning a daring escape out of the hospital and into the skyscraper jungle—even though they both know that no matter how big New York City is, they won’t be able to run forever.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

The Fears of Immigration

When Jason sees his mother being taken away, his world is turned upside down and he's overcome by fear of what's to come next. His mom has been living in the US illegally and had an idea that something like this would happen. The backup plan has always been for Jason to find his aunt in New York City, but the trip isn't easy.

When Jason falls and hits his head, he fakes amnesia to get out of telling the hospital staff and the cops who he really is. Here, he meets Max. She's the first person he tells his secret to (the truth of who he really is) and she decides to help him in any way possible, but Max has her owns secrets hiding within her. The two of the work harmoniously together but will it be enough?

I love the emotion in this story and it feels so realistic. Jason D's reaction and fear when he sees his mom taken was almost palpable. I love his friendship with Max and don't think Jason would be as strong as he is if it wasn't for her. The ending was perfect, but I'm not going to give away any spoilers.


Final Verdict: This story is perfect for middle graders being taught the differences between people. There's a lot to be learned from this book but the main thing is that "sometimes, you have no choice but to be brave". This was a sentimental story about immigration, hard topics like running away, and written for ages eight and up.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Resist: 35 Profiles of Ordinary People Who Rose Up Against Tyranny and Injustice
A perfect tool for young readers as they grow into...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Truth as Told by Mason Buttle
From the critically acclaimed author of Waiting for Normal and...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Side by Side A Novel of Bonnie and Clyde
Texas: 1931. It’s the height of the Great Depression, and...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Voyage of the Dogs
SOS. Ship damaged. Human crew missing. We are...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Shorty & Clem Blast Off!
The energetic and zany duo Shorty and Clem are back,...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Bear's Spooky Book of Hidden Things: Halloween Seek-and-Find
If you want to keep kids happily busy for hours...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Strange New World
Dahlia 16's life is a lie. The city of...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Like Never And Always
Liv Burnham thinks nobody knows Morgan Frost like she...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Outcasts- The Blood Dagger: Volume 1
Mystical relics. Powerful vampires. Strange allies. It's hell being...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ascent (A Peak Marcello Adventure #3)
After conquering the mountains in Afghanistan, Peak Marcello goes...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Here to Stay
For most of high school, Bijan Majidi has flown under...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Hiding Lies
At Holden Prep, dirty little secrets always have a way...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
We, The Lucky Few
"Each time I think this night reaches its lowest...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Burning Maze (The Trials of Apollo, #3)
The formerly glorious god Apollo, cast down to earth...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meg has it made. She has money to spare, attends...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Red Ribbon
Shining a light on a little-known aspect of the Holocaust,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

The Truth as Told by Mason Buttle
 
5.0
"Mason Buttle can't read all that well. And he sweats a lot. And writing isn't something he can do either...."
Voyage of the Dogs
 
5.0
"The Laika is on mission Stepping Stone, traveling outside the solar system to set up a new planet. In addition..."
Shorty & Clem Blast Off!
 
4.5
"'Shorty & Clem Blast Off!' by Michael Slack is a cute addition to Shorty and Clem's adventures. The first book..."
Bear's Spooky Book of Hidden Things: Halloween Seek-and-Find
 
3.5
"'Bear's Spooky Book of Hidden Things' by Gergely Dudas is for anyone who loves books like 'Where's Waldo?' Even adults..."
Funny Kid #2: Stand Up
 
4.5
"After his attempts to run for class president in Funny Kid for President, Max has decided that his identity is..."
Yellow Submarine
 
4.0
"Twice upon a time, once in 1968 and once today, there was an unearthly paradise called Pepperland. In an elaboration..."
Louie (The Puppy Place #51)
 
4.0
"The Petersons are working together to clean up a camp ground near Loon Lake, where they will be spending time..."
Spirit (The Puppy Place #50)
 
4.0
"Lizzie is very used to being around dogs, since her family fosters many of them, and has Buddy, their own..."
Mr. Wolf's Class
 
5.0
"Mr. Wolf is starting his first year of teaching fourth grade. He sets up his classroom and waits for his..."
Tom's Midnight Garden Graphic Novel
 
5.0
"This graphic retelling remains true to the story of the classic 1958 British time slip story. Tom is sent to..."
Welcome to Wonderland #3: Sandapalooza Shake-Up
 
4.0
"P.T. and Gloria have saved the Wonderland Motel, and now because of the celebrity tie-in with the Surf Monkey movie,..."
Al Capone Throws Me a Curve (Tales from Alcatraz)
 
4.0
"There are a lot of things going on for Moose now that summer is approaching. He desperately wants to be..."
So Done
 
4.0
"Bean and Tai are neighbors in a low-income housing project and have been friends for a very long time, but..."
Scout: National Hero (Scout #1)
 
4.0
"Matt and his family have moved to Nevada, where his mother runs an Army base and heads up their K-9..."
Two Dogs in a Trench Coat Go to School
 
5.0
"Waldo and Sassy are hard working dogs who scour the floor for meatballs and keep their humans' house safe from..."
The Lost Continent (Wings of Fire, Book 11)
 
4.0
"Blue and his sister Luna are very close to going through metamorphosis, after which they will be given jobs and..."
Game Changer
 
5.0
"At the end of summer football camp for the Walthorne Wildcats, Ted Youngblood collapses as he comes off the field..."
Double Cross (Twintuition #4)
 
4.0
"Cassie and Caitlyn Waters are still struggling to understand the power they share, The Sight. It is somehow tied to..."
Just Under the Clouds
 
4.0
"Cora's mother has struggled to keep a roof over Cora and her sister Adare's head ever since the death of..."
Revenge of the Teacher's Pets (Brewster Triplets #4)
 
4.0
"Darby, Dawn, and Delaney are determined that seventh grade is going to be AWESOME. However, when they get their schedules,..."