The Sky at Our Feet

The Sky at Our Feet

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
705   0
Write Review
The Sky at Our Feet
Publisher
Age Range
8+
Release Date
March 06, 2018
ISBN
978-0062421937
Buy This Book
      
This #ownvoices novel by bestselling author Nadia Hashimi tells the affecting story of an Afghan-American boy who believes his mother has been deported. For fans of Inside Out and Back Again and Counting by 7s.

Jason has just learned that his Afghan mother has been living illegally in the United States since his father was killed in Afghanistan. Although Jason was born in the US, it’s hard to feel American now when he’s terrified that his mother will be discovered—and that they will be separated.

When he sees his mother being escorted from her workplace by two officers, Jason feels completely alone. He boards a train with the hope of finding his aunt in New York City, but as soon as he arrives in Penn Station, the bustling city makes him wonder if he’s overestimated what he can do.

After an accident lands him in the hospital, Jason finds an unlikely ally in a fellow patient. Max, a whip-smart girl who wants nothing more than to explore the world on her own terms, joins Jason in planning a daring escape out of the hospital and into the skyscraper jungle—even though they both know that no matter how big New York City is, they won’t be able to run forever.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

The Fears of Immigration

When Jason sees his mother being taken away, his world is turned upside down and he's overcome by fear of what's to come next. His mom has been living in the US illegally and had an idea that something like this would happen. The backup plan has always been for Jason to find his aunt in New York City, but the trip isn't easy.

When Jason falls and hits his head, he fakes amnesia to get out of telling the hospital staff and the cops who he really is. Here, he meets Max. She's the first person he tells his secret to (the truth of who he really is) and she decides to help him in any way possible, but Max has her owns secrets hiding within her. The two of the work harmoniously together but will it be enough?

I love the emotion in this story and it feels so realistic. Jason D's reaction and fear when he sees his mom taken was almost palpable. I love his friendship with Max and don't think Jason would be as strong as he is if it wasn't for her. The ending was perfect, but I'm not going to give away any spoilers.


Final Verdict: This story is perfect for middle graders being taught the differences between people. There's a lot to be learned from this book but the main thing is that "sometimes, you have no choice but to be brave". This was a sentimental story about immigration, hard topics like running away, and written for ages eight and up.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Babysitter's Club: Kristy's Big Day
Kristy's mom is getting married, and Kristy is going to...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Very Last Castle
A curious little girl watches the man who guards the...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jack B. Ninja
Jack B. Ninja! Jack, be quick! Jack, jump over the...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Emerge: The Assignment: An Immortals of Indriell Novella
She has devoted her life to training with the...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Agony House
Denise Farber has just moved back to New Orleans...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Freak N Gorgeous
Everyone is ugly sometimes. In a world not unlike...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twice Dead
Naya, the daughter of a sea merchant captain, nervously...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Legacy of Light (Legends of the Tri-Gard Book 2)
Death. Sacrifice. Betrayal. That is your curse. The seer's...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Forest Queen
When sixteen-year-old Sylvie’s brother takes over management of their family’s...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Kendall's Snow Fort (Scholastic Reader Level 2: American Girl: Wellie Wishers)
There's a storm coming! The other WellieWishers promise to help...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Afterimage
A horrific explosion levels part of the city and...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Little Girl Who Wanted to be Big
The internet’s “World’s Best Father," award-winning photographer Dave Engledow, follows...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Diamond and the Boy
Told in a unique dual-narrative format, The Diamond and the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Little Penguin Stays Awake
A charming companion to Little Penguin Gets the Hiccups and...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Merry Christmas, Little One
Christmas comes but once a year - Time...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

We Regret To Inform You
 
4.3
"Mischa is the perfect high school student. She has joined all the right clubs, she has the best grades, and..."
The Babysitter's Club: Kristy's Big Day
 
4.0
"'The Baby-Sitter's Club: Kristy's Big Day' by Gale Galligan, based on the novel by Ann M. Martin, is an interesting..."
The Darkest Minds
 
4.0
""The Darkest Minds" is a YA dystopian that felt very similar to others out there- but the twist being a..."
Never Fade (The Darkest Minds #2)
 
3.0
""Never Fade" continues the Darkest Minds series with what felt a bit like an intermediate book. Beginning after the end..."
The Darkest Legacy
 
4.0
""The Darkest Legacy" continues The Darkest Minds series after the resolutions of the trilogy. This time, we follow Suzume (Zu)...."
Exo
Exo
 
5.0
""Exo" is a really interesting YA sci-fi that follows a 17-year-old human a hundred years after Earth has been taken..."
Cross Fire
 
5.0
""Cross Fire" was a great sequel to Exo that wraps up all the major plotlines and possibilities. The zhree, an..."
Everything, Everything
 
3.0
""Everything, Everything" follows Madeline, who lives in a bubble- she has a rare disease called SCID, which means she is..."
Eleanor & Park
 
4.0
""Eleanor & Park" was an unexpected touching read for me. Eleanor is a chubby red-head and Park is a half-Asian..."
Warcross
 
5.0
""Warcross" begins a fantastic new YA series from Marie Lu. Fans of the Legend trilogy will rejoice in this new,..."
Freak N Gorgeous
 
4.0
"'Freak N Gorgeous' by Sebastian J. Plata provides an in-depth and telling look into the world of two teenagers who..."
The Forest Queen
 
3.3
"THE FOREST QUEEN by Betsy Cornwell caught my eye at first glance. The cover is beautiful and promises a tale..."
Twice Dead
 
5.0
"Feedback I absolutely loved this story! This book was never boring and always kept me wanting more. The beginning..."
Turtles All the Way Down
 
4.7
"Great book - one of my favorites by John Green, for sure."
Wink Poppy Midnight
 
4.7
"Definitely worth the read! A fun book even though it has some creepier turns, and loved Tucholke's writing style!..."
All The Crooked Saints
 
5.0
"Loved this book from start to finish. Stiefvater was at her best with her prose here and the novel was..."
Carve The Mark
 
4.7
"A good read. A bit confusing in the beginning, but as with many fantasy novels, it works itself out...."
Genuine Fraud
 
3.7
"Interesting, quick read. You're held a bit at a distance because of the nature of this narrator, but it's worth..."
Before I Fall
 
5.0
"Love this book! One of my favorites."
We Were Liars
 
5.0
"I loved this book!"