The Sky at Our Feet

The Sky at Our Feet

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
1193   0
Write Review
The Sky at Our Feet
Publisher
Age Range
8+
Release Date
March 06, 2018
ISBN
978-0062421937
Buy This Book
      
This #ownvoices novel by bestselling author Nadia Hashimi tells the affecting story of an Afghan-American boy who believes his mother has been deported. For fans of Inside Out and Back Again and Counting by 7s.

Jason has just learned that his Afghan mother has been living illegally in the United States since his father was killed in Afghanistan. Although Jason was born in the US, it’s hard to feel American now when he’s terrified that his mother will be discovered—and that they will be separated.

When he sees his mother being escorted from her workplace by two officers, Jason feels completely alone. He boards a train with the hope of finding his aunt in New York City, but as soon as he arrives in Penn Station, the bustling city makes him wonder if he’s overestimated what he can do.

After an accident lands him in the hospital, Jason finds an unlikely ally in a fellow patient. Max, a whip-smart girl who wants nothing more than to explore the world on her own terms, joins Jason in planning a daring escape out of the hospital and into the skyscraper jungle—even though they both know that no matter how big New York City is, they won’t be able to run forever.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

The Fears of Immigration

When Jason sees his mother being taken away, his world is turned upside down and he's overcome by fear of what's to come next. His mom has been living in the US illegally and had an idea that something like this would happen. The backup plan has always been for Jason to find his aunt in New York City, but the trip isn't easy.

When Jason falls and hits his head, he fakes amnesia to get out of telling the hospital staff and the cops who he really is. Here, he meets Max. She's the first person he tells his secret to (the truth of who he really is) and she decides to help him in any way possible, but Max has her owns secrets hiding within her. The two of the work harmoniously together but will it be enough?

I love the emotion in this story and it feels so realistic. Jason D's reaction and fear when he sees his mom taken was almost palpable. I love his friendship with Max and don't think Jason would be as strong as he is if it wasn't for her. The ending was perfect, but I'm not going to give away any spoilers.


Final Verdict: This story is perfect for middle graders being taught the differences between people. There's a lot to be learned from this book but the main thing is that "sometimes, you have no choice but to be brave". This was a sentimental story about immigration, hard topics like running away, and written for ages eight and up.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Werewolf Queen
I always wished I had supernatural powers. Now I wish...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Unicorns Are Real! (Mythical Creatures Are Real!)
Stardust and glitter and rainbows, oh my! Did you know...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
This Is Not a Love Scene
Lights, camera―all Maeve needs is action. But at eighteen, a...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Voices: The Final Hours of Joan of Arc
Bestselling author David Elliott explores how Joan of Arc...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dragons Are Real! (Mythical Creatures Are Real!)
Moonlight and courage and sparks, oh my! That's what dragons...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Last Voyage of Poe Blythe
Who do you become when you have nothing left...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Leaving Jackson Wolf
Passing through the transition hallway at South Park High...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Once & Future (Once & Future, #1)
King Arthur as you've never imagined! This bold, sizzling...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Tuned Into You
A summer party is the last place Lydia Flowers...
 
3.8
 
0.0 (0)
Beware the Night (Beware the Night, #1)
When her world divides, pitting light against dark, Veda...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
controlfreak_wordart (wecompress.com).png
He actually gets the girl in this story. His perfect...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Soul of Power (The Waking Land, #3)
One young woman learns the true nature of power—both her...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Oath Taker
Light magic is forbidden. Dark magic spells death....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twisted Saga Collection 1
Save almost 40% off the price of the single books...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Sin Soldiers Cover
Red compound makes them angry. Yellow exhausts them. Blue drives...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hunter's Truce
The Big Bad Wolf never killed for fun—he was on...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Unicorns Are Real! (Mythical Creatures Are Real!)
 
4.0
"UNICORNS ARE REAL! is a bright, colorful, and cute book about unicorns. The images really leap off the page with..."
Dragons Are Real! (Mythical Creatures Are Real!)
 
5.0
"This adorable board book brings dragons to life in a very fun way with bright and vivid images and cute..."
Dragonfell
 
4.0
"DRAGONFELL is a fun middle grade that addresses being different and not fitting in easily in the context of a..."
Hurricane Season
 
5.0
"HURRICANE SEASON is a powerful middle grade novel that deals with some really important issues. Finola (nicknamed Fig) is in..."
So Many Sounds
 
5.0
"So Many Sounds is a fun bedtime story that will surly engage the child who doesn’t want to sleep, and..."
Gittel's Journey: An Ellis Island Story
 
5.0
"Gittel’s Journey tells the story of a brave young Jewish girl immigrating to the United States from Easter Europe, all..."
The Flight of Mr. Finch
 
5.0
"The Flight of Mr. Finch is a sweet story about the power of friendship and the importance of self-sacrifice. Lovely..."
Dragons in a Bag (Dragons in a  Bag, # 1)
 
4.0
"Dragons in a Bag is a whimsical, moving, and magical tale. Perfectly tailored to it’s intended audience, Dragons In a..."
The Chronicles of Narnia: The Silver Chair
 
4.0
"Set somewhere around a year after the events of The Voyage of the Dawn Treader, Eustace Scrubb remains much better..."
Are You Ready to Hatch An Unusual Chicken? (Unusual Chickens for the Exceptional Poultry Farmer #2)
 
5.0
"Are You Ready To Hatch An Unusual Chicken? is a delightful follow-up to Kelly Jones's Unusual Chickens for the Exceptional..."
Frankfurt
 
3.0
"What I Loved: -The adorable Frankfurt- What this picture book does best is offer a truly adorable and humorous dog..."
Clifford the Big Red Dog
 
5.0
"CLIFFORD THE BIG RED DOG is a classic for a reason- the images are full of fun and the text..."
Autumn Babies (Babies in the Park)
 
4.0
"This cute board book features children playing in the park during the fall. With vivid autumn colors and two word..."
Stick Cat: Two Cats and a Baby (#4)
 
5.0
"Life is good for Stick Cat and Edith now that their owners Goose and Tiffany have married. Stick Cat enjoys..."
Bird and Squirrel All Tangled Up
 
4.5
" Red, Squirrel, and Birdie are a happy family, but Squirrel is very anxious about letting Birdie do anything at..."
8 Notes to a Nobody (Bird Face book one)
 
5.0
"This is the first book in Cynthia T. Toney’s Birdface series which follows Wendy, a young Louisiana teen, through her..."
The Other Side of Freedom
 
5.0
"I knew of Toney’s flawless ability to write from a modern teenage girl’s perspective, so was curious when I heard..."
Winter Babies (Babies in the Park)
 
4.0
"This board book features lovely photos alongside short phrases that describe winter in the park. While very brief and with..."
8 Notes to a Nobody (Bird Face book one)
 
5.0
"The main character, Wendy, is realistic and sympathetically portrayed, so much so that the book drew me in and transported..."
The Other Side of Freedom
 
5.0
"This stellar novel spotlights the trials of Italian immigrants during the era of Prohibition. I'd heard of Al Capone and..."