Mae Among the Stars

Mae Among the Stars

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
379   0
Write Review
Mae Among the Stars
Author(s)
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Genre(s)
Age Range
4+
Release Date
January 09, 2018
ISBN
0062651730
Inspired by the life of the first African American woman to travel in space, Mae Jemison.

When Little Mae was a child, she dreamed of dancing in space. She imagined herself surrounded by billions of stars, floating, gliding, and discovering.

She wanted to be an astronaut.

Her mom told her, "If you believe it, and work hard for it, anything is possible.”

Little Mae’s curiosity, intelligence, and determination, matched with her parents' encouraging words, paved the way for her success at NASA as the first African American woman to travel in space.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

Inspiring

A beautiful story with a beautiful message.

Mae is a young girl with a big dream. She wants to be an astronaut. She wants to go up among the stars. Throughout her life, people tell her to choose a different, more practical dream. "Be a nurse" one teacher tells her. They say she'll never do it. Everyone except for her parents. Her mother tells her If you believe it, and work hard for it, anything is possible.”
So, Mae works for it her entire life and achieves her dream.
This is an inspiring story for children in many ways. When we're young, we think we can do anything, but we eventually grow out of that and begin believing in impossibilities. These kinds of stories are important because they show the unlimited reach of our dreams. Mae worked hard for everything she got. She wasn't given anything. And she did it.
When I got to the end of the book, I was shocked to find Mae is inspired by the first African American female astronaut. It drives the message even harder to know that.
The illustrations are as beautiful as the message.

Final Verdict: A story that shouldn't be missed. Inspiring. Uplifting. Amazing. A girl that shows kids the beauty of believing in their dreams.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Esme's Wish
When fifteen-year-old Esme Silver objects at her father's wedding, her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What the Night Sings
For fans of The Book Thief and The Boy in...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the first book of this new series, Sage Stone...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bright Burns the Night
Ten years ago, King Lorcan of the Dark Kingdom...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Edge of Juniper
Malcolm Dearing is sweet, gorgeous, persistent...and off-limits. Fay is...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Marked Beauty
Uncovering hidden secrets can sometimes kill you . ....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Listen to Your Heart
Kasie West brings us another compelling read with “Listen...
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Screenshot
Skye's social media game is always on point. Until...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
And She Was
Dara’s lived a sheltered life with her single mom,...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The God Gene Chronicles: The Secret of the Gods
Legend and lore lay the foundation for this exciting new...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Big Water
Seventeen-year-old Christina McBurney has led a sheltered life. But when...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two schools: One of magic and science, the other focused...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Kidult Handbook: From Blanket Forts to Capture the Flag, a Grownup's Guide to Playing Like a Kid
Adulting is hard! But “kidulting”— engaging in nostalgic childhood activities...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Science: A LEGO Adventure in the Real World
Did you know that the blue whale could blow up...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Meant To Be Broken
Rayne Davidson is perfectly happy fading into the background. Her...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (3)
Switching Gears
Still mourning the loss of Lucas Nelson, the boy she...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Super Rabbit Racers!: A Branches Book (Press Start! #3)
 
4.0
"In this story, Chris joins Sunny and Rue for a few friendly rounds of Rabbit Racers. (He’s never played before,..."
When Paul Met Artie: The Story of Simon & Garfunkel
 
4.5
"'When Paul Met Artie: The Story of Simon & Garfunkel' by G. Neri, illustrated by David Litchfield, is an artistic..."
Ernestine, Catastrophe Queen
 
4.0
"Ernestine and her little brother Charleston are trying to bring on the zombie apocalypse. After doing a spell, they believe..."
Return of the Vinetropes
 
5.0
"What a unique and wonderful story told by a gifted writer! What I loved most is that there's something for..."
Emily Windsnap and the Falls of Forgotten Island (Emily Windsnap #7)
 
4.0
"Emily, her family, and her friends are off on a relaxing vacation. Emily promises her friend Shona and her boyfriend..."
The Tale of Angelino Brown
 
4.0
"When Bert discovers the tiny angel named Angelino in his pocket, he doesn't know what to think. Bert takes Angelino..."
The Journey of Little Charlie
 
5.0
"THE JOURNEY OF LITTLE CHARLIE features a boy named Charlie who is forced to grow up quickly. When Charlie's dad..."
Wonder
 
4.5
" Aiming on the younger end of the Middle Grade spectrum, Wonder is the story of a disfigured 5th grader..."
The Nutcracker Mice
 
4.0
"THE NUTCRACKER MICE is a very adorable retelling of the Russian Nutcracker, but from a smaller perspective. Esmeralda the mouse..."
Horizon
 
4.0
"When their plane crash lands, Caleb, Molly, Yoshi, Javi, Anna, Oliver, Kira, and Akiko find themselves stranded in a jungle...."
Tiny Little Rocket
 
5.0
"'Tiny Little Rocket' by Richard Collingridge immerses young readers into a journey through space. Through a front-row seat in the..."
When I Grow Up
 
4.5
"'When I Grow Up' by Tim Minchin, and illustrated by Steve Antony, is a fanciful story about the excitement of..."
Samantha Spinner and the Super-Secret Plans
 
5.0
"SAMANTHA SPINNER AND THE SUPER SECRET PLANS takes you on a historical adventure as Sam and her brother Nipper search..."
Fairy Mom and Me
 
4.5
"Ella has the coolest mom ever because she's a fairy. Magic and all. The best part? Ella will be a..."
Time Tracers
 
5.0
"Taj is confused when he wakes up to what's supposed to be the first day of summer break, but instead,..."
Better Together (Heartwood Hotel, #3)
 
5.0
"When Mr. Heartwood takes a break, Mona the maid feels like she needs to step up to make sure nothing..."
The Worst Fairy Godmother Ever!
 
4.0
"Isabelle is a fairy-godmother-in-training and is so nervous that she's going to wind up being terrible like her mother was...."
Drum Roll, Please
 
4.0
"Even though Melly was forced to go to Camp Rockaway, it's just the escape she needs. Her parents are getting..."
Sugar and Spice (Whatever After #10)
 
5.0
"Abby and Jonah take another trip through their magic mirror after being told their grounded from technology. This time, it..."
The Hall Monitors Are Fired!
 
5.0
"Sam is the hall monitor at Eerie Elementary, but his job requires more than watching out for students doing things..."