Everything You Need to Know About NIGHTMARES! and How to Defeat Them: The Nightmares! Handbook

Everything You Need to Know About NIGHTMARES! and How to Defeat Them: The Nightmares! Handbook

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
411   0
Write Review
Everything You Need to Know About NIGHTMARES! and How to Defeat Them: The Nightmares! Handbook
Author(s)
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Age Range
8+
Release Date
September 12, 2017
ISBN
978-0385744317
Buy This Book
      
A handbook for beating nightmares from the New York Times bestselling authors of the Nightmares! series, Jason Segel and Kirsten Miller.

Nightmares. They come in all shapes and sizes—from gargantuan lizards to teensy creepy-crawlies. No matter their form, we know all too well, they are truly terrifying. The good news is that every Nightmare, no matter how ferocious, mysterious, or hairy, can be defeated. And this book will tell you how.

Everything You Need to Know About NIGHTMARES! and How to Defeat Them is your one-stop guide to battling anything that goes bump in the night. Whether you’re being chased by zombies or stalked by evil twins, this handy book will give you all the tools and tips you need to put your bad dreams to bed for good! Keep a copy under your pillow and you’ll never fear Nightmares again!

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0

Companion to the Nightmares! Series

In this companion to the Nightmares! trilogy, a hodgepodge of supplementary material is presented. There are pictures and descriptions of various nightmare entities, listing of their strengths and weaknesses, and Pro Tips on how to deal with them. There are also very short stories involving the characters from the books and how they had to deal with the beings. Additional accompaniments include recipes, fun facts, and room in the back for field notes. Beings are divided into broad categories including Chasers, Extraterrestrials, and Lurkers and Stalkers, and many others.

Good Points
This was a well designed book, and I liked the layout of the pages. Fans of the series will take great glee in reading about how to deal with the creatures that they find most fearsome.

Just in time for Halloween, Everything You Need to Know about Nightmares! and How to Defeat Them is a great book for fans of Betty Ren Wright, Mary Downing Hahn, Peg Kehret and WIllo Davis Roberts, and might come in handy if readers have a particularly vicious chupacabra loose in their room when the lights are turned out!
Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Picture Us in the Light
Danny Cheng has always known his parents have secrets. But...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Time Tracers
Twelve-year-old Taj Carter is on a high-stakes mission to track...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screenshot
Skye's social media game is always on point. Until her...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Better Together (Heartwood Hotel, #3)
Spring has come to Fernwood Forest, and the Heartwood Hotel...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sky in the Deep
A 2018 Most Anticipated Young Adult book that is...
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Devils Unto Dust
Keep together. Keep your eyes open. Keep your wits...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
All The Things We Lost
After her mother’s death, eighteen-year-old Katie finds herself in...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
White Rabbit
Caleb Roehrig, author of Last Seen Leaving, delivers another...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Worst Fairy Godmother Ever!
Q: What do you need to become a great fairy...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ada: Aegis Default
Newly famous and burdened with responsibility, Ada Anand has to...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ada: Solstice Volition
When Ada Anand is given a very special gift for...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drum Roll, Please
Find the confidence to rock out to your own beat...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ignite
Four strangers. Four powerful elements. To survive a ruthless...
 
3.5
 
5.0 (1)
Winter Glass (Spindle Fire #2)
A curse comes undone. A kingdom shatters. But some...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everless (Everless #1)
In the kingdom of Sempera, time is currency—extracted from blood,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lifeline
Popular high school senior Eli Ross has the perfect life....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Picture Us in the Light
 
4.7
"Danny Cheng appears to have it all--a tight-knit group of friends, a full ride to his school of choice, artistic..."
Screenshot
 
3.3
"Asha, Emma, and Skye have been best friends for years, but things have been different lately. Skye is only worried..."
Stealing Liberty
 
5.0
"This is a book that you wish you could just sit down and read without interruption! Keeps you..."
Same But Different: Teen Life on the Autism Express
 
4.3
"SAME BUT DIFFERENT by twins Ryan Elizabeth Peete & RJ Peete is told in alternating narratives and loosely based on..."
Everless (Everless #1)
 
5.0
"Everless was my first read of the year and I do indeed feel guilty for reviewing it just now. The..."
Lifeline
 
4.0
"Eli has it all until he falls prey to the addiction of drugs. His last use of heroin nearly kills..."
Stealing Liberty
 
5.0
"Need an adventure to get lost in? Read this book!! It is gripping from beginning to end with..."
Stealing Liberty
 
4.7
"I am amazed as to how versatile Jennifer Froelich is as an author. Each book is so creative and unique..."
Stealing Liberty
 
5.0
"Hidden underneath the rubble and remains of a burned out school library, lies a treasure - a real library that..."
Devils Unto Dust
 
4.7
"In this alternative history the time after the Civil War has caused not only bad times to come to Daisy..."
The Traitor's Game
 
4.7
"THE TRAITOR'S GAME alternates between two main characters: Kestra and Simon. When Kestra is called back home to her father's..."
Better Than This
 
4.7
"The story: Samantha “Sam” Becker wants only one thing – to go to Juilliard. She’s a veritable prodigy with..."
The Poet X
 
4.0
"The Poet X felt like coming home. I felt the presence of the bodegas as if I walked by them..."
Zenith: The Androma Saga
 
4.0
"ZENITH: THE ANDROMA SAGA by Sasha Alsberg and Lindsay Cummings is a young adult science fiction novel that follows the..."
Miles Away From You
 
3.7
"Grief is a funny thing, it's usually messy--and rarely neat--with the barest of touches, it makes a wreck of your..."
Winter Glass (Spindle Fire #2)
 
5.0
"Prepare yourself, Winter Glass is set to destroy all the feels! This stunning conclusion full of sisterly love, romance, and..."
Restart
 
4.0
"Middle grade mystery with an amnesic twist—a friendship-centric tale of lost-and-found. Readers are introduced to a cruel boy..."
Crossing the Line
 
3.3
"Ryan Hess escapes his abusive stepfather and flees to Mexico, hoping to train with a former famous boxer. He doesn't..."
It Should Have Been You
 
3.7
"This book had me at the tagline: “Once I decided to kill her, the rest was surprisingly easy.” ..."
The Last Thing You Said
 
3.7
"The Last Thing You Said by Sara Biren is a story about love and loss. Ben and Lucy are..."