PupStyle: When I Grow Up

PupStyle: When I Grow Up

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
219   0
Write Review
PupStyle: When I Grow Up
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
6+
Release Date
August 29, 2017
ISBN
9781338105407
As a follow up to the successful Now You See It! Pupstyle, and Now You See it! PupStyle: Red Carpet Pups, Dara Foster's pups are back and dressed to impress in uniforms for all sorts of community helper jobs! Flip the pages from the top corner to see important workers in the community, and flip the pages from the bottom to see adorable dogs in the same recognizable get-ups. From firefighters to police officers, to doctors and chefs, and fashion designer to authors, these dogs are ready to work!

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0

A Cute Educational Tool

A cute tool to teach kids about the different roles in life people play.

The story:
There are a lot of possible careers kids could dream of going into in the future. This book is designed to teach many of them. The pages alternate between a career and a dog that has similarities to that chosen field. The pages are chalk full of information on both the people and their pup counterparts.

What I loved:
Anytime you can use animals to teach children, you're automatically winning. And the author has done an extremely good job of pairing the dogs with the jobs. They're dressed up as humans would for that profession and nothing could be cuter. The information is useful and kids can gain some valuable knowledge in a fun way.

What was just okay for me:
While most of the information was easily absorbable for kids, some of it gets too specific and risks losing their attentions with things like dates or using phrases like "science has found." The writing lacks some of the fun that the images have in spades.

Final Verdict:
A surefire winner with kids ages 6-8 and their parents.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Serafina and the Splintered Heart
The storms are coming... Something has happened to Serafina. She...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
The Little Book of Little Activists
A celebration of political activism by America's youngest citizens--our children....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Together at Midnight
What does it really mean to be kind . ....
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Fuecho Y Pablo
Pablo's attempt to get his best friend Ugly Cat a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Little i
A charming, suspenseful, and wholly original picture book about the...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Dragonfly Song
The girl has had many selves in her short life....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
For fans of PostSecret, Humans of New York, and If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
An East Asian fantasy reimagining of The Evil Queen legend...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Murder Among the Stars
After being framed for attempted murder, Lulu Kelly has...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Christmas Stories
Join the original pioneer girl in this Little House chapter...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Somebody's Baby
Ever since Sloan won a reality singing competition, her...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Enhanced
Seventeen-year-old Mana has found and rescued her mother, but...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
DC Super Heroes World's Greatest Jokes: Featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and more!
Hundreds of laugh-out-loud jokes featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Squishy Taylor and the Bonus Sisters
Why does Squishy have to share everything with her new...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Wood
After her father goes missing in the woods that...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
release.jpg
nspired by Judy Blume’s Forever and Virginia Woolf’s Mrs....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Ordinary, Extraordinary Jane Austen
 
5.0
"ORDINARY, EXTRAORDINARY JANE AUSTEN takes you into the life of Jane Austen who was an ordinary girl that did an..."
Love, Santa
 
5.0
"LOVE, SANTA was so beautifully written and is the perfect way to tell your little one the truth about Santa...."
A Hundred Billion Trillion Stars
 
4.7
"Honestly, I loved everything about this book. It’s filled to the brim with facts and numbers about the universe we..."
Code It! Create It!: Ideas & Inspiration for Coding (Girls Who Code)
 
5.0
"Interested in coding but not sure what products or activities you could do with it? Look no further than this..."
Let's Investigate with Nate #2: The Solar System
 
5.0
"Felix, Rosa, Braden, and Wendy are investigating with Nate again and this time it's all about the solar system. They're..."
Busy on the Farm
 
5.0
"BUSY ON THE FARM teaches about the different tasks to maintain a farm. The first thing is how to make..."
The Ultimate Guide to Gardening (Craft It Yourself)
 
5.0
"Don’t let the name intimidate you—this guide is as extensive as it is accessible. The book features 111 pleasingly..."
Ranger Rick: I Wish I Was a Lion
 
4.5
"Ranger Rick: I Wish I Was A Lion was a fun, educational, and an interactive book that is perfect for..."
Ultimate Explorer Guide: Explore, Discover, and Create Your Own Adventures with Real National Geographic Explorers as Your Guides!
 
5.0
"I’ve said it many times now, but I absolutely love National Geographic’s books for children. Each one is very different..."
I Am a Secret Service Agent: My Life Spent Protecting the President
 
4.0
" Emmett was a young, impressionable boy growing up in the South when President Kennedy was assassinated. The event made..."
Let's Investigate with Nate #1: The Water Cycle
 
5.0
"In LET'S INVESTIGATE WITH NATE, the doors of the Science Museum become a portal to another world, but only an..."
42 Is Not Just a Number: The Odyssey of Jackie Robinson, American Hero
 
3.5
"Jackie Robinson was an exceptional man, and in 42 Is Not Just a Number, Doreen Rappaport shows readers why he..."
Gobi: A Little Dog with a Big Heart
 
2.7
"I don’t think I’ve ever read a dog story without either crying or grinning through it. GOBI: A LITTLE DOG..."
100 Things to Be When You Grow Up
 
5.0
"This is one of the many “100 things” books I’ve read by National Geographic, and like with all the rest,..."
Laugh-Out-Loud Awesome Jokes for Kids (Laugh-Out-Loud Jokes for Kids) Paperback
 
3.7
"This book includes a number of Knock Knock jokes as well as a large number of one liners such as..."
KLUTZ Circuit Clay Science Kit
 
5.0
"Hours of step-by-step projects--endless sculpting and light-up possibilities. This electrical sculpture kit contains four colors of conducting clay (purple,..."
My Clay Critters
 
5.0
"More fun than barrel of sea-monkeys! With six air-dry colors, a carving tool, 49 insert pieces, and an Idea..."
The Klutz Book of Knots
 
4.0
"This fun guidebook comes with everything you need to practice knot tying. The easy to follow illustrations will have young..."
Make your Own Soap
 
4.7
"Of all the Klutz activity kits, of which there are many, this one is probably one of the more active—and..."
A Kid's Guide To America's First Ladies
 
4.3
"How does a First Lady train for a job that has no job description—or even a salary? A job that..."