The Curse of Einstein's Pencil (Bea Garcia)

The Curse of Einstein's Pencil (Bea Garcia)

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
502   0
Write Review
The Curse of Einstein's Pencil (Bea Garcia)
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
6+
Release Date
June 06, 2017
ISBN
978-0147513137
Buy This Book
      
Bea’s artistic gifts lead to a special new friendship in book two of this funny illustrated chapter book series for fans of Amelia’s Notebook and Judy Moody

Bea Garcia is looking for a new best friend, and she almost has one—the smartest girl in school, Judith Einstein. So when Einstein asks Bea to be her partner in the upcoming school geography contest, Bea is thrilled...at first. Schoolwork comes so easily to Einstein that Bea thinks the secret might be Einstein's special pencil. But when Bea takes Einstein's pencil home, it's not quite what she expected.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0

Great First Chapter Book

With Bea's best friend now living in Australia, she discovers a new possible friendship with Einstein. Judith Einstein that is and she's super smart. Bea loves to draw, but has trouble writing the answers instead of forming a picture.

When Einstein picks Bea to be her partner in the Top Ten Geography Star Search contest, Bea is certain they're going to win. Einstein knows everything, or so Bea thinks. When Einstein gives Bea some facts to study, Bea struggles. Then, an idea forms.

If Bea had Einstein's pencil, then all of the answers would just spill out and she wouldn't have to worry about being wrong. Bea quickly realizes that things don't work like that and gets so angry, that she feels as if she's turning into a monster. Bea blames the pencil because it's cursed, so Bea needs to find a new way to study. Before she knows it, it's time for the contest. Instead of bombing, Bea discovers that everyone has their own talent.


Final Verdict: This would be a good first chapter book for children who are interested in drawing and friendship. There were also some interesting facts from when Einstein answers a question.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Three Little Superpigs
After defeating the Big Bad Wolf, the Three Little Superpigs...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twice Dead
Naya, the daughter of a sea merchant captain, nervously undertakes...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
I, Sofia-Elisabete, Love Child of Colonel Fitzwilliam: A Perfect World in the Moon
In 1815, a 5-year-old girl searches for Utopia in a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Agony House
Denise Farber has just moved back to New Orleans with...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Island of Monsters (Spirit Hunters #2)
The perfect spooky read for Halloween, this pulse-pounding adventure will...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Four Three Two One
Golden “Go” Jennings wasn’t supposed to be on Bus 21...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Lines We Cross
Michael likes to hang out with his friends and play...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Max Tilt: 80 Days or Die
When thirteen-year-old Max Tilt stumbled across his great-great-great-grandfather Jules Verne’s...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Grand Escape: The Greatest Prison Breakout of the 20th Century
At the height of World War I, as battles raged...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Missing Pieces (Hello Neighbor #1)
Nicky Roth has always been a lonely kid. But that...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Collectors
The Collectors sweeps readers into a hidden world where wishes...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Father's Words
Declan O’Brien always had a gentle word to share, odd...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sea Prayer
A short, powerful, illustrated book written by beloved novelist Khaled...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Deepest Roots
Contemporary with the slightest twist of magic, this stunning...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Faded
Biz didn’t think life could get worse after the...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Here to Stay
For most of high school, Bijan Majidi has flown...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

The Three Little Superpigs
 
4.0
"What happens after the Three Little Pigs put the Wolf in jail? Well, he plots his revenge of course! THE..."
The Island of Monsters (Spirit Hunters #2)
 
5.0
"Harper moved to Washington, D.C. with her family and found out about her paranormal abilities in Spirit Hunters. She has..."
Missing Pieces (Hello Neighbor #1)
 
4.0
"Nicky's family moves around a lot, and he gets tired of having to adjust to new towns, new schools, and..."
The Collectors
 
4.0
"Giovanni lives in New York City with his mother, who is an opera singer. His father was a set designer,..."
Max Tilt: 80 Days or Die
 
4.0
"After finding an enormous treasure with his cousin Alex, Max's family has built a big new house and is enjoying..."
Sea Prayer
 
5.0
"This fictional picture book, inspired by the tragic death of three-year-old Alan Kurdi's tragic death on a Turkish beach, follows..."
My Father's Words
 
4.0
"When Fiona and Finn's father, a psychologist, is killed in a car accident, the children and their mother (who is..."
The Steeplechase Secret (Free Rein)
 
4.0
"Zoe and her family have moved to Bright Field Stables from California. Her mother is from the small island in..."
Fuzzy Freaks Out (Class Pets #3)
 
4.0
"Fuzzy and the other pets in Miss Wills' class 5-B are getting ready for Halloween. Fuzzy in particular is trying..."
Grow Up, David
 
4.0
"GROW UP, DAVID is all about having a sibling. David's brother is the typical older brother who doesn't want David..."
Everlasting Nora
 
5.0
"Nora and her mother have been living in her father's family mausoleum after they lost their home, and her father,..."
Hurricane Katrina Rescue (Ranger in Time #8)
 
4.0
"Ranger, a failed rescue dog (squirrels are so distracting!), has a first aid kit that sends him through time to..."
Out of Left Field
 
5.0
"Ten-year-old Katy is a fantastic pitcher, so great that a local Little League coach encourages her to sign up for..."
Otherwise Known as Possum
 
4.0
"LizBetty Porter doesn't want to be called by her name-- she wants to be called Possum, which is what her..."
Air Raid Search and Rescue (Soldier Dogs #1)
 
4.5
" Marcus and his family have moved to the United Kingdom for his father's job, and are unfortunately..."
Otherwood
 
5.0
"Stuey, his mother, and his grandfather live in a large, old house that has been in the family for generations..."
Zach King: The Magical Mix-Up (Zach King #2)
 
4.0
" Now that Zach has lost his magical powers (he could travel from place to place through magical ball caps),..."
The Secret of the Crystal Fairies (Thea Stilton Special Edition #7): A Geronimo Stilton Adventure
 
4.0
"Even though Thea is off on an international scientific expedition to the Arctic, her five friends in the Seven Roses..."
Dog Man: Lord of the Fleas: From the Creator of Captain Underpants (Dog Man #5)
 
5.0
"Dog Man and Li'l Petey are back, making hydraulic roof ramps for their dog house with robot 80-HD and having..."
The Magician's Hat
 
5.0
"'The Magician's Hat' by Malcolm Mitchell, illustrated by Joanne Lew-Vriethoff, is destined to be one of your favorite children's books...."