The Curse of Einstein's Pencil (Bea Garcia)

The Curse of Einstein's Pencil (Bea Garcia)

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
271   0
Write Review
The Curse of Einstein's Pencil (Bea Garcia)
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
6+
Release Date
June 06, 2017
ISBN
978-0147513137
Buy This Book
      
Bea’s artistic gifts lead to a special new friendship in book two of this funny illustrated chapter book series for fans of Amelia’s Notebook and Judy Moody

Bea Garcia is looking for a new best friend, and she almost has one—the smartest girl in school, Judith Einstein. So when Einstein asks Bea to be her partner in the upcoming school geography contest, Bea is thrilled...at first. Schoolwork comes so easily to Einstein that Bea thinks the secret might be Einstein's special pencil. But when Bea takes Einstein's pencil home, it's not quite what she expected.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0

Great First Chapter Book

With Bea's best friend now living in Australia, she discovers a new possible friendship with Einstein. Judith Einstein that is and she's super smart. Bea loves to draw, but has trouble writing the answers instead of forming a picture.

When Einstein picks Bea to be her partner in the Top Ten Geography Star Search contest, Bea is certain they're going to win. Einstein knows everything, or so Bea thinks. When Einstein gives Bea some facts to study, Bea struggles. Then, an idea forms.

If Bea had Einstein's pencil, then all of the answers would just spill out and she wouldn't have to worry about being wrong. Bea quickly realizes that things don't work like that and gets so angry, that she feels as if she's turning into a monster. Bea blames the pencil because it's cursed, so Bea needs to find a new way to study. Before she knows it, it's time for the contest. Instead of bombing, Bea discovers that everyone has their own talent.


Final Verdict: This would be a good first chapter book for children who are interested in drawing and friendship. There were also some interesting facts from when Einstein answers a question.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Brightly Burning
Stella Ainsley leaves poverty behind when she quits her engineering...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
All's Faire in Middle School
Eleven-year-old Imogene (Impy) has grown up with two parents working...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
No Sad Songs
Following a family tragedy, 18-year-old Gabe LoScuda suddenly finds...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Blood Magic (Abnormals Underground #1)
Turned into a vampire at the age of two,...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
The 11:11 Wish
Megan Meyers has a foolproof plan to reinvent herself...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dragonkyn
Marc used to think he was pretty ordinary, but...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fragile Facade (Blind Barriers Trilogy #1)
The Brightest Smiles Hide the Darkest Secrets.... When Raven...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
This Tiny Perfect World
The big-hearted story of a small-town girl who discovers...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Silver Mask
A generation ago, Constantine Madden came close to achieving what...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tombs
New York, 1882. A dark, forbidding city, and no place...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Children of Exile
Rosi must decide what she’s willing to risk to save...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Teeth of the Gods
Chained to an enemy general. Determined to be free....
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Vampire Trick (Dark World: The Vampire Wish 3)
In a kingdom full of secrets, no one can...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
I Am Alfonso Jones
Alfonso Jones can't wait to play the role of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Unearthed
From the New York Times best-selling author duo Amie...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Boyfriend Agreement
Fake boyfriends are hard work. When 16-year-old Bella’s dream...
 
4.8
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Without You
 
3.3
"'Without You' by Yesenia Vargas had many sweet moments. It told of a relationship between Ariana and Lucas, as well..."
Sword and Scion 01: Into the Dark Mountains
 
5.0
AmyAmy
"We read this book as a family and had a hard time putting it down. We looked forward to..."
The Vampire Fate (Dark World: The Vampire Wish 4)
 
5.0
"The plot twist at the end of the third book was epic and I was so excited to start this..."
The Boyfriend Agreement
 
4.8
"'The Boyfriend Agreement' by Seven Steps is definitely a hard one to put down! With a mix of romance, intrigue,..."
The Vampire Trick (Dark World: The Vampire Wish 3)
 
5.0
"I don't even know where to begin. This series is just so good and each book builds you up for..."
The Vampire Prince (Dark World: The Vampire Wish 2)
 
5.0
"When Annika discovers Geneva, she realizes that she's the only one who can help her take down the Vale. With..."
Teeth of the Gods
 
4.7
"Teeth of the Gods is a wild mixture of genres for those who are looking for something unique. Tylira has..."
The Convergence (Converters, Book 1)
 
3.5
"The story: Desiree is hiding a secret, one she’s desperate to hide from everyone she loves, but when new boy..."
Fragile Facade (Blind Barriers Trilogy #1)
 
4.5
"The story: Raven moved to D.C. to start a new life but when she discovers the diary of missing diamond..."
Blood Oath (The Darkest Drae Book 1)
 
4.5
"Summary Verald used to be a beautiful and fertile land. Phaetyn’s kept the land lush and beautiful with their..."
Daughter of the Mara
 
3.5
"The story: Jayashree is insane. At least that’s what the staff at the psychiatric hospital have been telling her for..."
Sword and Scion 01: Into the Dark Mountains
 
5.0
"This book was an excellent read. Very well thought out and interesting plot. The depth of this writing will appeal..."
Ghosts of Bliss Bayou
 
5.0
"The story: Abby Renshaw is not a normal seventeen-year-old girl. She suffers from hallucinations wherein she sees ghosts, a..."
Corner of Ocean and Bay
 
4.8
"Nessa and Jacie have been friends since kindergarten. When they both have had a terrible year, they decide to take..."
My Life as a Bench
 
4.5
"Seventeen year old Lauren ‘Ren’ Miller has just died. She finds that her spirit lives on inside her own memorial..."
Junction 2020 Book 1: The Portal
 
3.5
"The story: At the stroke of midnight on New Year’s Eve, 2019, adolescents Mari, her brother Randall, her best..."
Transitions: Novella Collection (The Biodome Chronicles #2.5)
 
4.0
LizLiz
"Wow, this collection was AWESOME! This collection of novellas takes place between the second and the not-yet-released (AHH!) third..."
Elements (The Biodome Chronicles #2)
 
4.0
LizLiz
"I could not put this book down. It was just as good as Legacy (the first book), if not better!..."
Legacy (The Biodome Chronicles #1)
 
4.0
LizLiz
"I enjoyed this book so much! The world-building and setting of this story was very highly detailed and I felt..."
Sword and Scion 01: Into the Dark Mountains
 
5.0
"What happens when all things known in your life prove untrue? The past was supposed to stay buried, but an..."