The Curse of Einstein's Pencil (Bea Garcia)

The Curse of Einstein's Pencil (Bea Garcia)

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
401   0
Write Review
The Curse of Einstein's Pencil (Bea Garcia)
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
6+
Release Date
June 06, 2017
ISBN
978-0147513137
Buy This Book
      
Bea’s artistic gifts lead to a special new friendship in book two of this funny illustrated chapter book series for fans of Amelia’s Notebook and Judy Moody

Bea Garcia is looking for a new best friend, and she almost has one—the smartest girl in school, Judith Einstein. So when Einstein asks Bea to be her partner in the upcoming school geography contest, Bea is thrilled...at first. Schoolwork comes so easily to Einstein that Bea thinks the secret might be Einstein's special pencil. But when Bea takes Einstein's pencil home, it's not quite what she expected.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0

Great First Chapter Book

With Bea's best friend now living in Australia, she discovers a new possible friendship with Einstein. Judith Einstein that is and she's super smart. Bea loves to draw, but has trouble writing the answers instead of forming a picture.

When Einstein picks Bea to be her partner in the Top Ten Geography Star Search contest, Bea is certain they're going to win. Einstein knows everything, or so Bea thinks. When Einstein gives Bea some facts to study, Bea struggles. Then, an idea forms.

If Bea had Einstein's pencil, then all of the answers would just spill out and she wouldn't have to worry about being wrong. Bea quickly realizes that things don't work like that and gets so angry, that she feels as if she's turning into a monster. Bea blames the pencil because it's cursed, so Bea needs to find a new way to study. Before she knows it, it's time for the contest. Instead of bombing, Bea discovers that everyone has their own talent.


Final Verdict: This would be a good first chapter book for children who are interested in drawing and friendship. There were also some interesting facts from when Einstein answers a question.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Escape The Future
"AS POWERFUL AS CORMAC MCCARTHY... A TIMELY, TROUBLING, AND MEMORABLE...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Planetsider
A story of self-discovery, belonging and hope. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Where the Sea Takes Me
Two years later might as well be two lifetimes. ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From You to Me
Amelia Peabody lives in a small town where nothing changes....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
"According to legend, when the world was young, two gods...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What will it take for a cynical older sister to...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Takedown
Mikayla is a wrestler; when you grow up in a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Monica the Marshmallow Fairy: A Rainbow Magic Book (The Sweet Fairies #1)
Join Rachel and Kirsty on their sweetest-ever fairy adventure! ...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stanley Will Probably Be Fine
Nobody knows comics trivia like Stanley knows comics trivia. ...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bow Wow: A Bowser and Birdie Novel (#3)
A bull shark in the swamp? No one in the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Scream and Scream Again
R.L. Stine—the godfather of Goosebumps—and some of the most popular...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Courage
Ever since T’Shawn’s dad died, his mother has been struggling...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Cardboard Kingdom
Welcome to a neighborhood of kids who transform ordinary boxes...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Remy Sneakers and the Lost Treasure (Remy Sneakers #2)
Someone has ransacked Remy's home and stolen his prized possession,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Judy Moody Was in a Mood (Judy Moody #1)
"Judy Moody was in a mood. Not a good mood....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Halfway to Happily Ever After (The Wish List #3)
Happily Ever After? Not so fast! ...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Where the Sea Takes Me
 
5.0
"Sienna just finished her freshman year in college. It’s been two years since she parted from Deni back in Indonesia...."
Heretics Anonymous
 
4.3
"What worked: This is a humorous at times contemporary novel of an Atheist teen who ends up in a Catholic..."
Always Forever Maybe
 
5.0
"It isn't always easy to love a book that talks about a dark subject, but Rissi captivated me with her..."
The Loneliest Girl in The Universe
 
5.0
"What worked: This is one of those books you can't put down! I literally stayed up until the early morning..."
 
2.7
""Pretties" is a continuation of the Uglies series where Tally Youngblood has now returned to the city and become a..."
Bring Me Their Hearts
 
5.0
""Bring Me Their Hearts" was a fantastic YA fantasy that I wish I could give more than 5 stars to!..."
Fawkes
 
2.0
""Fawkes" is a YA historical fantasy that sounds so interesting! Unfortunately, I could not get into it. In this alternate..."
Fireblood (Frostblood #2)
 
4.0
""Fireblood" was a pretty good continuation of the Frostblood Saga. While the first book took place in the land of..."
Thief of Lies
 
4.0
"“Thief of Lies” is the first in the Library Jumpers series. It had me hooked at the start but lost..."
The Waking Land
 
5.0
"“The Waking Land” is an enthralling YA fantasy that follows Elanna Valtai. The prologue shows us Elanna’s nightmares over the..."
The Adoration of Jenna Fox (Jenna Fox Chronicles #1)
 
3.0
""The Adoration of Jenna Fox" is the story of a teenager who wakes up from a coma without any memories..."
Zombie Abbey
 
2.3
""Zombie Abbey" is Downton Abbey with zombies (and characters names changed). Although it's been a while since I watched Downton..."
Heartless
 
4.0
""Heartless" is the origin story for the Queen of Hearts (of Alice in Wonderland fame). Catherine, destined to be the..."
All The Crooked Saints
 
4.0
""All the Crooked Saints" is YA fiction with a heavy dose of magical realism. The Soria family lives in Bicho..."
Beastly (Kendra Chronicles #1)
 
5.0
""Beastly" is a beautiful and amazing story of second chances, the importance of who you are within, and love. A..."
Don't Look Back
 
4.0
""Don't Look Back" is a one-off thriller from Jennifer L. Armentrout. It begins with Samantha appearing bloody and beat up..."
Seven Days of You
 
4.0
""Seven Days of You" follows Sophia during her last week in Tokyo, where she has lived for the last four..."
When the Moon Was Ours
 
5.0
""When the Moon was Ours" is a hauntingly beautiful and lyrical masterpiece. McLemore is an incredible storyteller. The words do..."
Finding Audrey
 
4.0
"I think this is one of Kinsella's finest books. There is so much heart, struggle, and soul to this book...."
Reclaiming Shilo Snow
 
4.0
""Reclaiming Shilo Snow" is an even better continuation of "The Evaporation of Sofi Snow" duology. All the story lines are..."