Mr. Biddles

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
572   0
Write Review
Mr. Biddles
Age Range
4+
Release Date
August 08, 2017
ISBN
978-0062441140
Buy This Book
      
A funny picture book about friendship, in the tradition of Arnold Lobel’s Frog and Toad.

Mr. Biddles is a cat inventor, and Hobson is a lobster that is left on his front porch. An odd pair indeed, but when Hobson joins Biddles in the lab (where he invented not only his catnip diffuser but also his automatic mail retriever!), they discover that Hobson has a gift: two super-useful claws.

Mr. Biddles always needed help in the lab, but he hadn’t known how much until Hobson came along. The two enjoy one another’s company and work well side by side, but one day, Hobson begins to miss home. Biddles badly wants to invent a way to get his friend home safely. But how? Hobson is from the faraway coast, and can travel only in five gallons of water!

Kristine A. Lombardi meticulously created convincing worlds for both Mr. Biddles and Hobson using collaged ephemera from years of collecting old receipts, postcards, photos, diner bills, business cards, blueprints, and everything else you can think of!

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

Friendship and Inventions

MR. BIDDLES stars a cat named Mr. Biddles who is an inventor. He creates all types of new gadgets and is working on a catnip diffuser. Even though he stays very busy, he feels lonely. Then, Hobson appears on his door from Maine. He's a lobster and was taken from his home, so Mr. Biddles lets him stay.

However, Mr. Biddles doesn't anticipate how much help Hobson will be with his large claws. Soon, Mr. Biddles is having fun and finally has a friend, but Hobson becomes homesick. It's up to Mr. Biddles and his inventions to get Hobson back home.

MR. BIDDLES is a story about an unlikely, but perfect friendship between a lobster and a cat. I loved the pictures and how a lot of them were real, not just illustrated. I loved the inventions and how they fit both animals.


Final Verdict: I would recommend this book to children who love inventions, stories about friendship, and animals.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Quinton Wyatt's summer break before high school should be nothing...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
On Delicate Wings
Mia Walters is optimistic that her final high school...
 
4.8
 
0.0 (0)
Only A Breath Apart
Bestselling author Katie McGarry’s trademark wrong-side-of-the-tracks romance is given...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The world is quite the different place after the loss...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Pretty in Punxsutawney
A Groundhog Day meets Pretty in Pink mashup from...
 
5.0
 
4.7 (1)
Through Fathoms Dark and Deep
What’s a pirate without her crew? Abandoned on an...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
99 Lies (100 Hours, #2)
Getting kidnapped over spring break was definitely memorable. But...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Ray Vs the Meaning of Life
Grandma’s Last Will and Testament names Ray to inherit...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
51uDXTa8hxL._SX351_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg
Celebrate the weird, wonderful, and the downright bizarre in this...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Next to Last Mistake
Tess Goodwin's life in rural Iowa is sheltered and uncomplicated....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Emerge: The Captive: (Book 3)
A moment of distraction has cost him his freedom...
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Awakening of Fire (Dragon Born, #1)
Dragons are just legends from the past... Felicia’s life...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Penderwicks at Last
The finale you've all been waiting for: The Penderwicks...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Over Raging Tides
The pirate crew of the Lady Luck lives by...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Positively Izzy
Award-winning comics creator and author of the bestselling Invisible...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Onyx and Ivory
They call her Traitor Kate. It’s a title Kate...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

 
5.0
"Reading for the next book! Got me guessing. Page turner just went to fast. I couldnt put it down. If..."
Zero Sum Game - Book 2 of the Sid Rubin Silicon Alley Adventures
 
5.0
""I crack my knuckles and shake out my fingers. To quote The Grey, 'Once more into the fray.'" Sidonie..."
 
5.0
"As if High School was not nightmareish enough, now let's put you in a game. No you do not get..."
The Namarielle (Chronicles of Lashai Book 1)
 
5.0
"I love the budding love story mixed in with the evil that is happening around them, it gives the readers..."
 
5.0
"If Victoria Danann writes it; I'll read it! She's so talented at world building and this is no exception..."
 
5.0
"But and read in one sitting - totally possible and highly probable!"
The Step-Spinsters
 
4.3
"You think you know the story of Cinderella and her evil step sisters but you don’t know the whole story...."
 
5.0
"Wonderful story about the Gods playing games with their unsuspecting children's lives. Definitely worth reading."
 
5.0
"Victoria's R. Caine series made me long to return to high school. Seriously! Nothing like meddling gods with too much..."
 
5.0
"This is an amazing debut novel from Jillian E. Martyn. The book is unique in where you don't just have..."
 
5.0
"When the Gods get bored they play games. What happens is yet to be seen. "
 
5.0
"You can tell this author loves what she does! Fantastic details, characters are well developed, all around a phenomenal read!..."
 
5.0
"It’s been quite some time since I’ve read a YA series that kept my attention & had me wanting more..."
 
5.0
"Victoria Danann has another hit series! Gods from diverse cultures strip their children (players) of their memories and withhold the..."
 
5.0
"This is a really good story and that 1-3 are in it is great from a young person to an..."
Glamour of Midnight
 
5.0
"Karis has been blind for as long as she can remember. However, when she sees through the smoke that stands..."
 
5.0
"This was such a fun change from the normal Victoria books! I really felt like I was back roaming the..."
 
5.0
"I never like writing to much info in a review as I don’t want to give away things in the..."
 
5.0
"This books will keep you guessing and then trying to figure out what will happen next."
 
5.0
"Love this series! Haven't read a YA series in a while that has grabbed my attention but this one did..."