Mr. Biddles

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
461   0
Write Review
Mr. Biddles
Age Range
4+
Release Date
August 08, 2017
ISBN
978-0062441140
Buy This Book
      
A funny picture book about friendship, in the tradition of Arnold Lobel’s Frog and Toad.

Mr. Biddles is a cat inventor, and Hobson is a lobster that is left on his front porch. An odd pair indeed, but when Hobson joins Biddles in the lab (where he invented not only his catnip diffuser but also his automatic mail retriever!), they discover that Hobson has a gift: two super-useful claws.

Mr. Biddles always needed help in the lab, but he hadn’t known how much until Hobson came along. The two enjoy one another’s company and work well side by side, but one day, Hobson begins to miss home. Biddles badly wants to invent a way to get his friend home safely. But how? Hobson is from the faraway coast, and can travel only in five gallons of water!

Kristine A. Lombardi meticulously created convincing worlds for both Mr. Biddles and Hobson using collaged ephemera from years of collecting old receipts, postcards, photos, diner bills, business cards, blueprints, and everything else you can think of!

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

Friendship and Inventions

MR. BIDDLES stars a cat named Mr. Biddles who is an inventor. He creates all types of new gadgets and is working on a catnip diffuser. Even though he stays very busy, he feels lonely. Then, Hobson appears on his door from Maine. He's a lobster and was taken from his home, so Mr. Biddles lets him stay.

However, Mr. Biddles doesn't anticipate how much help Hobson will be with his large claws. Soon, Mr. Biddles is having fun and finally has a friend, but Hobson becomes homesick. It's up to Mr. Biddles and his inventions to get Hobson back home.

MR. BIDDLES is a story about an unlikely, but perfect friendship between a lobster and a cat. I loved the pictures and how a lot of them were real, not just illustrated. I loved the inventions and how they fit both animals.


Final Verdict: I would recommend this book to children who love inventions, stories about friendship, and animals.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

#1 Bestseller on Kobo and Category Bestseller on Amazon! ...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
What if you were the missing piece in one of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Babysitter's Club: Kristy's Big Day
Kristy's mom is getting married, and Kristy is going to...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Very Last Castle
A curious little girl watches the man who guards the...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jack B. Ninja
Jack B. Ninja! Jack, be quick! Jack, jump over the...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Emerge: The Assignment: An Immortals of Indriell Novella
She has devoted her life to training with the...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Agony House
Denise Farber has just moved back to New Orleans...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Freak N Gorgeous
Everyone is ugly sometimes. In a world not unlike...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twice Dead
Naya, the daughter of a sea merchant captain, nervously...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Legacy of Light (Legends of the Tri-Gard Book 2)
Death. Sacrifice. Betrayal. That is your curse. The seer's...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Forest Queen
When sixteen-year-old Sylvie’s brother takes over management of their family’s...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Kendall's Snow Fort (Scholastic Reader Level 2: American Girl: Wellie Wishers)
There's a storm coming! The other WellieWishers promise to help...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Afterimage
A horrific explosion levels part of the city and...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Death in daylight. Danger at dark. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Little Girl Who Wanted to be Big
The internet’s “World’s Best Father," award-winning photographer Dave Engledow, follows...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

The Very Last Castle
 
5.0
"'The Very Last Castle' by Travis Jonker, pictures by Mark Pett, has a Willy Wonka feel to it. The book..."
Jack B. Ninja
 
3.5
"'Jack B. Ninja' by Tim McCanna, illustrated by Stephen Savage, is a rhyming story about Jack, a young ninja who..."
My Wish For You A Message for Every Girl and Girl at Heart: Lessons from My Six-Year-Old Daughter
 
4.0
"My wish for you is the quintessential girl power read. Although it seems to focus on empowering young girls..."
Kendall's Snow Fort (Scholastic Reader Level 2: American Girl: Wellie Wishers)
 
3.0
"Kendall’s snow fort is a feel-good lesson learning wintery mix of fun. Essential for slightly more advanced readers, Kendall’s..."
The Little Girl Who Wanted to be Big
 
5.0
"Dave Engledow does it again with THE LITTLE GIRL WHO WANTED TO BE BIG. All the little girl wants to..."
Little Penguin Stays Awake
 
5.0
"All Little Penguin wants to do his fly like all of the other birds. His only hope is wishing on..."
Merry Christmas, Little One
 
5.0
"MERRY CHRISTMAS, LITTLE ONE is a fun, interactive story about Christmas time and snowmen. "Christmas comes but once a year..."
Hi-Five Animals
 
5.0
"HI-FIVE ANIMALS is exactly as it sounds. You Hi-Five all of the animals! The illustrations are adorable with close up..."
The Three Little Superpigs
 
4.0
"What happens after the Three Little Pigs put the Wolf in jail? Well, he plots his revenge of course! THE..."
The Island of Monsters (Spirit Hunters #2)
 
5.0
"Harper moved to Washington, D.C. with her family and found out about her paranormal abilities in Spirit Hunters. She has..."
Missing Pieces (Hello Neighbor #1)
 
4.0
"Nicky's family moves around a lot, and he gets tired of having to adjust to new towns, new schools, and..."
The Collectors
 
4.0
"Giovanni lives in New York City with his mother, who is an opera singer. His father was a set designer,..."
Max Tilt: 80 Days or Die
 
4.0
"After finding an enormous treasure with his cousin Alex, Max's family has built a big new house and is enjoying..."
Sea Prayer
 
5.0
"This fictional picture book, inspired by the tragic death of three-year-old Alan Kurdi's tragic death on a Turkish beach, follows..."
My Father's Words
 
4.0
"When Fiona and Finn's father, a psychologist, is killed in a car accident, the children and their mother (who is..."
The Steeplechase Secret (Free Rein)
 
4.0
"Zoe and her family have moved to Bright Field Stables from California. Her mother is from the small island in..."
Fuzzy Freaks Out (Class Pets #3)
 
4.0
"Fuzzy and the other pets in Miss Wills' class 5-B are getting ready for Halloween. Fuzzy in particular is trying..."
Grow Up, David
 
4.0
"GROW UP, DAVID is all about having a sibling. David's brother is the typical older brother who doesn't want David..."
Everlasting Nora
 
5.0
"Nora and her mother have been living in her father's family mausoleum after they lost their home, and her father,..."
Hurricane Katrina Rescue (Ranger in Time #8)
 
4.0
"Ranger, a failed rescue dog (squirrels are so distracting!), has a first aid kit that sends him through time to..."