Flowers for Sarajevo

Flowers for Sarajevo

New
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
52   0
Write Review
Flowers for Sarajevo
Age Range
6+
Release Date
April 01, 2017
ISBN
978-1561459438
The moving story of a young boy who discovers the power of beauty and kindness during a time of war. Drasko helps his father sell flowers in Sarajevo, but when war threatens and his father is called to the battlefront, Drasko must take over the flower stall. One morning the boy's familiar routine is shattered when a mortar shell hits the bakery, killing twenty-two people. The next day, a cellist from the Sarajevo Opera Orchestra goes to the crater and plays the most beautiful music that Drasko can imagine. Inspired, he looks for ways to ease the sorrow of those around him. Based on real events of the Bosnian War, award-winning songwriter and storyteller John McCutcheon tells the uplifting story of the power of beauty in the face of violence and suffering. The story comes to life with the included CD in which cellist Vedrun Smailovic accompanies McCutcheon and performs the melody that he played in 1992 to honor those who died in the Sarajevo mortar blast.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

Beauty Amid Pain

Haunting and hopeful.

The bombing one of the last working bakeries in the city of Sarajevo might have been remembered as just one more senseless act of violence at the height of a terrible ethnic war, if not for the venerable tribute of a lone cellist. The day following the explosion he donned a tuxedo, carried a chair to the crater, and played Albinoni’s Adagio in G Minor—a moving and unfinished piece. He came at the same time and repeated this performance for twenty-two consecutive days.

This story is about a horrendous true incident of the Bosnian war, as experienced through the eyes of a fictional young boy named Drasko. The author does a tactful-yet-impactful job of humanizing a flashpoint in history, giving it more meaningful weight and depth, whilst highlighting a heroic act of dignity. I’ll admit to being a bit hesitant at first about how my 7 and 8 year old might handle something this heavy, but I needn’t have worried. The audio narration held their rapt attention, and provided opportunities for us to discuss difficult questions.

The CD included in a sleeve at the back of the book contains 6 tracks, which include audio of the author narrating the book (one version with page-turning prompts and one without), a reading of the historical note and brief biography, a piano/cello/vocal composition called “The Streets of Sarajevo,” an interview conversation with the author, and the mournful cello piece referenced in the book--performed by Vedran Smailovic—“The Cellist of Sarajevo” himself.

It’s rare to find a children’s book that’s so completely a work of art—but that’s exactly what John McCutcheon and Kristy Caldwell have partnered to bring us. An artistic experience that is visual, musical, and empathic—creating a lyrical and emotional resonance. This book is a treasure.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Let's Investigate with Nate #1: The Water Cycle
Bill Nye the Science Guy meets The Magic School Bus!...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The 12 Dares of Christa
Christa is a holiday junkie. What’s not to love? There’s...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Frazzled: Ordinary Mishaps and Inevitable Catastrophes
Things are looking up for Abbie Wu: this year she’ll...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
See Fred Run
Learning to read has never been more fun than it...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Monster of Selkirk Book I: The Duality of Nature
Monsters come in many forms, and not everyone knows a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Where's Waldo? 30th Anniversary Edition
The amazing original that set off the worldwide search for...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Little Girl Who Didn't Want to Go to Bed
The internet’s “World’s Best Father," award-winning photographer Dave Engledow, makes...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Being Fishkill
Fishkill Carmel fends for herself, with her fists if need...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Goldeline
Perfect for fans of The Girl Who Drank the Moon...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Last Namsara
Kristen Ciccarelli’s debut fantasy explores an intricately woven world of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Speak Easy, Speak Love
Six teenagers’ lives intertwine during one thrilling summer full of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mr. Biddles
A funny picture book about friendship, in the tradition of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Uni the Unicorn and the Dream Come True
Amy Krouse Rosenthal and Brigette Barrager reunite to bring us...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Black Bird of the Gallows
simple but forgotten truth: Where harbingers of death appear,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Not Now, Not Ever
The sequel to The Only Thing Worse than Me Is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Prince and the Dressmaker
Paris, at the dawn of the modern age: ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

This Savage Song
 
4.0
"This Savage Song is a uniquely peculiar novel that cleverly combines magic, monsters and music. Dark, violent and monstrous, the..."
The 12 Dares of Christa
 
4.3
"'The 12 Dares of Christa' by Marissa Burt is a sweet story of friendship, determination, strength, and forgiveness. Main character..."
Frazzled: Ordinary Mishaps and Inevitable Catastrophes
 
5.0
"'Frazzled: Ordinary Mishaps and Inevitable Catastrophes' by Booki Vivat is an adorable, illustrated story that not only proves a fast..."
How to Disappear
 
5.0
"I am so absolutely in love with Sharon Huss Roat. Her books are funny, relatable, and so easily devoured. I..."
David Inside Out
 
5.0
"David Inside Out is a novel about a teenager (David) who is discovering he is gay. In David's high school,..."
The Rest of Us Just Live Here
 
3.7
"I have to admit, it took me a while to get into this one. The characters seemed to me to..."
The Book Thief
 
4.7
"Death as a narrator? What an idea! It was so interesting to see the Second World War from a German..."
Ferocious (Vicarious #2)
 
5.0
"*WARNING: There are no spoilers for FEROCIOUS, but there are spoilers for book 1, VICARIOUS* As a reader, sequels always..."
Blight
 
4.7
"BLIGHT by Alexandra Duncan is the next young adult dystopian novel that will set your world on fire. Torrest Tempest..."
The Knife of Never Letting Go (Chaos Walking #1)
 
5.0
"This book was so unusual and satisfying in so many ways. Then there was the one bit - if you've..."
Mask of Shadows
 
4.0
"MASK OF SHADOWS by Linsey Miller features Sal Leon, a genderfluid thief who wants nothing more than to exact revenge..."
Shiver (The Wolves of Mercy Falls #1)
 
3.7
"This one took a while to get into. I didn't warm much to Grace. She didn't seem to have much..."
Everything, Everything
 
3.0
"This story is told in first-person present-tense entirely from the POV of Madeline, who is turning eighteen in the first..."
The Museum of Heartbreak
 
4.7
"I really relate to this book very much. Most especially with Pen. This book was so honest. Many symbolisms but..."
Loved (House of Night Other World series, Book 1)
 
5.0
"Zoe and the Nerd Herd from the House of Night Series have returned for another adventure in LOVED. All of..."
 
4.0
"4.5 Stars! Someone Else's Summer was an amazing and emotional novel. It had a well written plot and captivating..."
Eden Summer
 
4.3
"EDEN SUMMER by Liz Flanagan is a rollercoaster of a novel. In this contemporary young adult book, Jess’ best friend,..."
The Tiger's Watch (Ashes of Gold #1)
 
4.3
"Tashi has had a rough life. With the power of an inhabitor, someone who bonds with an animal, they have..."
The Hollow Girl
 
5.0
"Content Warning: As the author mentions in the forward, there is sexual assault in this book. Disclaimer: I..."
Ash And Quill: The Great Library
 
4.3
"ASH AND QUILL is the third installment of The Great Library Series. Jess and his group of friends live in..."