The Door in the Alley (The Explorers#1)

The Door in the Alley (The Explorers#1)

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
406   0
Write Review
The Door in the Alley (The Explorers#1)
Age Range
8+
Release Date
April 25, 2017
ISBN
9781101940068
Buy This Book
      
This is one of those stories that start with a pig in a teeny hat. It’s not the one you’re thinking about. (This story is way better than that one.)
This pig-in-a-teeny-hat story starts when a very uninquisitive boy stumbles upon a very mysterious society. After that, there is danger and adventure; there are missing persons, hired thugs, a hidden box, a lost map, and famous explorers; and there is a girl looking for help that only uninquisitive boys can offer.
The Explorers: The Door in the Alley is the first book in a series that is sure to hit young readers right in the funny bone.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

It all starts with a pig in a teeny hat...

Sebastian lives a well ordered existence with his staid, science loving family, and he is rather annoyed when his cousin Hubert takes him down an unexplored alleyway on their way home from school one day, making him five minutes late getting home. They see a sign in the alley for "The Explorers' Society", and this intrigues Sebastian, although he knows better than to act on just any stray impulse. When he intercepts a pig in a tiny hat and is ordered by a man in a rumpled suit to bring it into the Society, he is concerned, especially when the director tells him he is trespassing and must be punished! The punishment ends up being much to Sebastian's liking, and he cleans and set the Society to rights. It is the assignment to do something out of his comfort zone that perplexes him, until he uncovers a mysterious box and sneaks it home with him.

Good Points
Evie is still mourning the death of her parents in a car accident, mainly because she is living in an orphanage and has to have boring dinners every week with the bland Andersons. She doesn't understand why until a mysterious man shows up one week and plunges everything into chaos. She manages to escape, and finds that her grandfather, Alistair Drake, is still alive.

Eventually, the two children meet up and try to locate the five members of the defunct and not-talked-about Filipendulous Society, since the most famous member of the group was Evie's gradnfather. This course of action is fraught with peril, and the children find themselves rappelling from clock towers, meeting up with boa constrictors, and being madly pursued by a man whose mouth is wired shut. Will Evie be able to locate her grandfather, and will Sebastian be able to come to grips with a wildly unorganized life? This ends in a cliffhanger, so perhaps we will find out in book two.

Perfect for more advanced, younger readers who enjoyed Beha's The Secrets of Eastcliff-by-the-Sea, Milford's The Greenglass House, or Primavera's Ms. Rapscott's Girls, The Door in the Alley is a quirky, action packed mystery filled with puzzles, snarky footnotes, and pigs in hats.

This is very different from Kress' Young Adult titles such as The Friday Society or Hatter Mattigan. I'm not entirely sure that middle school students will go for it, but elementary students should love it.
Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Belles
Camellia Beauregard is a Belle. In the opulent world of...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Free as a Bird: The Story of Malala
The inspiring true story of Malala Yousafzai, human rights activist...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Queen's Rising
Grave Mercy meets Red Queen in this epic debut fantasy,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Game Change
Seventeen-year-old Zeb Holloway is happy to work in his...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Wilder Legacy
The life of a Guardian is a dangerous one,...
 
4.8
 
5.0 (1)
The Stars Beneath Our Feet
It’s Christmas Eve in Harlem, but twelve-year-old Lolly Rachpaul and...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Keeper - Matefinder Next Generation Book 1
Anya has inherited her mother's gift. Born in a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Spies Like Me
Can she bring these girls together? When she discovers...
 
4.8
 
0.0 (0)
Royal Bastards
Being a bastard blows. Tilla would know. Her father,...
 
4.0
 
4.0 (2)
Before I Let Go
Days before Corey is to return home to the...
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Growing Friendships: A Kids' Guide to Making and Keeping Friends
From psychologist and children's friendships expert Eileen Kennedy-Moore and parenting...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sword and Scion 01: Into the Dark Mountains
How lost one feels when his own character remains a...
 
0.0
 
4.9 (2)
The Pirates of Brisa (Wyrms of Pasandir #2)
When young Eskandar leaves his ship with the tough broomrider...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Building a Trade Empire (Wyrms of Pasandir #4)
Trade had been Shaw’s life, her dream, her future –...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Journeys: Young Readers’ Letters to Authors Who Changed Their Lives
Books can change lives — and here are more than...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Moonlight Meeting: The Nocturnals
In The Moonlight Meeting, Tobin, a sweet pangolin, Bismark, a...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Sci-Fi Junior High
 
3.5
"Kelvin Klosmo's family has moved to a new intergalactic community so that his genius parents can continue their important scientific..."
The Stars Beneath Our Feet
 
5.0
"When Lolly's older brother Jermaine dies, Lolly is filled with anger and guilt. He's uncertain about how to move forward..."
The Moonlight Meeting: The Nocturnals
 
3.0
"In this "Grow and Read" level two early reader book, the characters from Nocturnals World meet each other. Bismark is..."
The Hidden Kingdom: The Nocturnals Book 4
 
3.0
"Dawn, a fox; Tobin, a pangolin; and Bismark, an energetic sugar glider are all friends who have adventures. When there..."
North, South, East, West
 
5.0
"A little red bird knows she is is ready to leave home but wonders where she will go: north, south,..."
I Love You Like a Pig
 
5.0
"It’s hard to know what to make of Barnett and Pizzoli’s book. Packed with off-the-wall comparisons and unorthodox relationships, the..."
Come Home Already!
 
4.0
"The third Duck and Bear book, Come Home Already! explores the need for a balance between alone time and social..."
Breathe and Be
 
5.0
"Written as a series of tanka, five-line Japanese poems related to haiku, and illustrated with rich, natural imagery, this book..."
Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard, Book 3: The Ship of the Dead
 
5.0
"Magnus and his friends are at it again. This time, they have to stop Loki before he brings on Ragnarok...."
The Prince and the Dressmaker
 
4.5
"What worked: I really loved this story of a dressmaker and the prince who likes to wear dresses. Prince Sebastian..."
Peterrific
 
5.0
"'Peterrific' by Victoria Kann is all about the joys of imagination and lessons learned as a result. When Peter starts..."
Sealed with a Secret
 
4.0
"Phoebe's sister, Alice, is getting older and they're no longer as close as they used to be. Phoebe wants nothing..."
Switched at Birthday
 
4.0
"'Switched at Birthday' by Natalie Standiford is a cute fantasy story about the power of empathy. Main characters Lavender and..."
Smoot: A Rebellious Shadow
 
4.0
"'Smoot: A Rebellious Shadow' by Michelle Cuevas and illustrated by Sydney Smith is a story about how sometimes it is..."
Amy the Red Panda is Writing the Best Story in the World
 
3.5
"'Amy the Red Panda is Writing the Best Story in the World' by Colleen AF Venable, illustrated by Ruth Chan,..."
Comic Squad: Detention!
 
4.0
"Eight different author/illustrators bring to life (and panel) eight different stories told via sequential art, with the uniting theme of..."
Many Waters
 
3.0
"The Murray twins take the spotlight for the first time in this book, which actually seems to be taking place..."
Little Women
 
5.0
">“Let us be elegant or die!” I’d like to confess up front, I avoided reading this book..."
Jingle
 
5.0
"When Logan signs his friends up for the Christmas extravaganza (much to the others dismay), none of them anticipated what..."
A Wrinkle in Time (Time #1)
 
4.0
"“I don't understand it any more than you do, but one thing I've learned is that you don't have to..."