Benjamin Franklin: You've Got Mail

Benjamin Franklin: You've Got Mail

 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
228   0
Write Review
Benjamin Franklin: You've Got Mail
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
10+
Release Date
June 20, 2017
ISBN
978-1484713051
Buy This Book
      
If the Future has any remedy for this situation, do not hesitate to provide it. That is to say, Ike and Claire Wanzandae, HELP! HELP HELP HELP.

I am (perhaps not for long),

Benjamin Franklin

Ike Saturday has seen better days. For one thing, his pen pal, Benjamin Franklin (yes, that Benjamin Franklin), is the target of an angry mob after Ike's plan to help the Founding Fathers with some intel from the future seriously backfired. For another, he's decided to mail himself back in time with the help of his girlfriend, Claire Wanzandae, and it's not a particularly comfortable way to travel.

Once Ike tracks B-Freezy down in 1776, it becomes clear that his pal is less than impressed with the irritating, modern-day rescuer, partially because Ike has a habit of making things worse for Ben, and partially because Ben is incredibly cranky when not in the presence of numerous meat pies. Which speaks to another issue for the pair: they have no money, no food, and basically no plan for saving the country. But Claire won't be able to cover for Ike back home in the future forever, and the British are looking pretty impatient, so Ike and B-Freezy will have to come up with something quickly if they want to avoid an epic, history-destroying disaster.

In this hilarious sequel to Benjamin Franklin: Huge Pain in My... , Adam Mansbach and Alan Zweibel take Ike and B-Freezy's antics to the next level as this ill-paired (and sometimes actually ill) duo hold the future of the world in their not-so-capable hands.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

Goofy historical romp

After the adventures in Benjamin Franklin: A Huge Pain in My A**, Ike is worried about a letter he has gotten from his famous friend from the past... it says "Help!" Of course, now that mail can travel back in time with old postage stamps, Ike has his (now) girlfriend Claire send him back to Franklin. He ends up near the mailbox on Franklin's porch, but the house has been burned down. Immediately noticing that his clothing will make him suspicious, Ike gets himself outfitted with suitable garments and goes in search of Franklin to find out what is wrong. He finds his friend without money, so the two set up a snake oil business to fleece local coal miners out of their money to "cure" their black lung. Once they have a bit of cash, they manage to book passage to France, since Franklin's need for help stems from the increasing problems with the British. On the boat, the two meet Jefferson and Adams, and head off for an audience with Marie Antoinette and Louis XVI. Because they'd spent most of the trip inland eating oysters and drinking champagne, they all become violently ill right when they have the audience, and it's up to Ike to save the day. Will his impassioned speech be enough to get the colonists help and save his time from being wildly different?

Good Points

This is a goofy take on history that will be popular with fans of Kinney's Wimpy Kid and other irreverent middle grade books which celebrate potty humor and unlikely heroes. Ike is interested to travel back in time but doesn't have too much of a concept of what language and manners he should embrace, so he frequently angers people he meets. He refers to Franklin as B-Freezy, for example, and almost blows the audience with Antoinette before settling down and trying to fit in.

One of the best parts about this is Claire's letters from the "future"; she informs him that things are not going well, but also keeps an eye on any historical anomaly's that crop up. Once Ike returns, there are a few things that are different, which is a bit of an unusual turn for a time travel book.

Fans of Potter's The Left Behinds and Limbaugh's Rush Revere books will want to pick up these two books. For more accurate historical content, they can investigate Gutman's Flashback Four or Qwerty Stevens time travel books.
Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

20316920_1595609687178811_492401856_o.jpg
This is the true story of a young family of...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Stealing Liberty
When Reed Paine is sent to a secret detention school...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Monster (Gone #7)
It’s been four years since a meteor hit Perdido Beach...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Sink or Swim: A Novel of World War II
It's been a month since the bombing of Pearl Harbor....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The White Tower
When Livy's accepted at Temple College, an exclusive school for...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Abby in Wonderland (Whatever After Special Edition)
Down the rabbit hole . . . ...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Rapunzel, the One With all the Hair (Twice Upon a Time #1)
There are two sides to every story -- even fairy...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Genuine Fraud
The story of a young woman whose diabolical smarts are...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter
The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian meets...
 
4.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
This Darkness Mine
Sasha Stone knows her place—first-chair clarinet, top of her...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Dear Martin
Justyce McAllister is top of his class and set...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Last Namsara
Kristen Ciccarelli’s debut fantasy explores an intricately woven world...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Blood Dragons (Rebel Vampires Volume 1)
A young rebel vampire, a red-haired devil, and a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
An Enchantment of Ravens
Isobel is a prodigy portrait artist with a dangerous...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Apex (Hunter Series #3)
Being a member of the Elite Hunter Command imperils Joy...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bad Girl Gone
A recently deceased girl must solve her own murder in...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Monster (Gone #7)
 
4.7
"Let me start by saying that while this is the seventh (yes, seventh!) book in a series, I haven't ever..."
Genuine Fraud
 
3.3
"This is my first book by E. Lockhart and boy did it stress me out! Told in reverse, I flipped..."
First Came Forever (The Angelheart Saga #1)
 
5.0
"I am totally blown away by this book! It’s just absolutely adorable! I was hooked from the very first page..."
The Last Namsara
 
5.0
"The Last Namsara is easily one of my favourite fantasy books of this year. I mean, a princess who slays..."
Apex (Hunter Series #3)
 
5.0
"APEX is the epic, action-packed finale to the Hunter Series. Joy is now a member of the Elite Hunter Command..."
Bad Girl Gone
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Echo Stone wakes up and finds herself in a dark house with other kids. Middle House is the home..."
An Ember in the Ashes
 
4.3
"Looooooved this book. I devoured each page. Savored every word. The writing is gorgeous. The characters are flawed but sympathetic...."
Three Dark Crowns
 
5.0
"LOVE. THIS. BOOK. Looooooooove! I'm not sure I'll make it to September when the second book is released. ..."
Nevermore (Nevermore #1)
 
4.0
"What a ride! As a Poe enthusiast, I found this book irresistible. I struggled to put it down. And, when..."
Siege and Storm (Grisha Trilogy #2)
 
5.0
"I'm in love with this book series. LOVE. The world building, the story, the characters... *book nerd heart sigh* ..."
Ruin and Rising (Grisha Trilogy #3)
 
5.0
"I am now officially in a state of end-of-book-series mourning. I shall don my book nerd black armband and grapple..."
Caraval
 
3.7
"**spoiler alert** This. Was. AMAZING! I love psychological thrillers and gothic tales. However, the ending left me ... uncomfortable. ..."
The Scorpio Races
 
5.0
"I'm struggling for words to adequately describe my experience while reading this phenomenal story. All I know is that..."
On A LARP
 
5.0
"“And you want to know something else, something truly freaky? It is absolutely amazing how much stuff can flit through..."
Slider
 
5.0
"David is interested in competitive eating-- he can eat a pizza pretty quickly, and he's watched a lot of competitions..."
Candidate (The Black Mage Book 3)
 
4.3
"A wild, heart-pounding fantasy. The Story: Ryiah is no longer a student and she's no longer just a..."
The Naming (Pellinor #1)
 
4.7
"Alison Croggon’s THE NAMING: BOOK ONE OF PELLINOR is a high fantasy tale that draws from and rivals some of..."
Book of Fire
 
4.0
"Book of Fire is a fast paced and action packed debut that dystopian fans will not want to miss. ..."
Apprentice (The Black Mage Book 2)
 
3.7
"Definitely an intriguing story that will keep you anxious to begin the next one. The Story: Ryiah is no..."
The Wood
 
4.0
"THE WOOD by Chelsea Bobulski is bound to be the next guiltiest pleasure on the market. Complete with time travel,..."