Raisin, the Littlest Cow

Raisin, the Littlest Cow

 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
265   0
Write Review
Raisin, the Littlest Cow
Author(s)
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Publisher
Age Range
4+
Release Date
March 28, 2017
ISBN
978-0062427632
Buy This Book
      
An irresistible sibling story about Raisin, the littlest cow on the farm, and what happens when she gets a little brother—from the author and illustrator of Lion, Lion. Perfect for fans of Hug Machine and You Are (Not) Small.

Raisin loves being the littlest cow in the herd. All the other cows dote on her, and life is grand.

But one day, Raisin’s mother has a new little cow . . . one who is even smaller than Raisin. And suddenly everything changes. Raisin has never liked change, and this one is the worst. Now no one pays attention to her, the new baby smells funny, and even the weather won’t cooperate.

But then, when absolutely everything is going wrong, Raisin discovers a change in herself—one that delights the entire herd. Even (and especially!) the new baby.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

Cute little cow

RAISIN, THE LITTLEST COW, was a cute story with a good message that change will come, but it's not always bad.

Raisin has always been the smallest cow and doesn't like change. But change comes just as it always does. In her case, change arrives in the form of a baby brother. Raisin has a list of things she likes and doesn't like, just as a child would have. With change being a big dislike, she doesn't welcome her new brother. Because of him, she's no longer the littlest cow and doesn't receive attention like she used to. Everyone's too busy cooing over her little brother.

But when a storm comes and her brother grows scared, Raisin softens up and lets him know she's scared too. Then, she takes on the role of the big sister to cheer him up.

The only complaint I'd have is that a male cow is a bull, but we still understand that it's her brother even when he's referred to as a cow.


Finally Verdict: This is a good children's story to teach about siblings and change. Any children about to become a big brother or sister would enjoy this read.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Growing Friendships: A Kids' Guide to Making and Keeping Friends
From psychologist and children's friendships expert Eileen Kennedy-Moore and parenting...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sword and Scion 01: Into the Dark Mountains
How lost one feels when his own character remains a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Pirates of Brisa (Wyrms of Pasandir #2)
When young Eskandar leaves his ship with the tough broomrider...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Building a Trade Empire (Wyrms of Pasandir #4)
Trade had been Shaw’s life, her dream, her future –...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Journeys: Young Readers’ Letters to Authors Who Changed Their Lives
Books can change lives — and here are more than...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Moonlight Meeting: The Nocturnals
In The Moonlight Meeting, Tobin, a sweet pangolin, Bismark, a...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hidden Kingdom: The Nocturnals Book 4
A group of veiled creatures--a chameleon, stick bugs and assorted...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sight of Stars
Seventeen-year-old Klee’s father was the center of his life. He...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Bokkaners of the North (Wyrms of Pasandir #3)
Against all odds, Eskandar and his bunch of ragtag youngsters...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Road to Kalbakar (Wyrms of Pasandir #1)
Seventeen-year-old...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Air and Ash (TIDES Book 1)
Master and Commander meets Sarah J Maas in a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Wolf Hour
Welcome, my little lambs, to the Puszcza. It's an...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Dragon Orb
The fate of a kingdom rests on the shoulders...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fragile Chaos
A GOD OF WAR SEEKING RESTORATION. AN UNWILLING SACRIFICIAL...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Batman: Nightwalker (DC Icons #2)
Before he was Batman, he was Bruce Wayne. A...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Nice Try, Jane Sinner
The only thing 17-year-old Jane Sinner hates more than...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

The Moonlight Meeting: The Nocturnals
 
3.0
"In this "Grow and Read" level two early reader book, the characters from Nocturnals World meet each other. Bismark is..."
The Hidden Kingdom: The Nocturnals Book 4
 
3.0
"Dawn, a fox; Tobin, a pangolin; and Bismark, an energetic sugar glider are all friends who have adventures. When there..."
North, South, East, West
 
5.0
"A little red bird knows she is is ready to leave home but wonders where she will go: north, south,..."
I Love You Like a Pig
 
5.0
"It’s hard to know what to make of Barnett and Pizzoli’s book. Packed with off-the-wall comparisons and unorthodox relationships, the..."
Come Home Already!
 
4.0
"The third Duck and Bear book, Come Home Already! explores the need for a balance between alone time and social..."
Breathe and Be
 
5.0
"Written as a series of tanka, five-line Japanese poems related to haiku, and illustrated with rich, natural imagery, this book..."
Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard, Book 3: The Ship of the Dead
 
5.0
"Magnus and his friends are at it again. This time, they have to stop Loki before he brings on Ragnarok...."
The Prince and the Dressmaker
 
4.5
"What worked: I really loved this story of a dressmaker and the prince who likes to wear dresses. Prince Sebastian..."
Peterrific
 
5.0
"'Peterrific' by Victoria Kann is all about the joys of imagination and lessons learned as a result. When Peter starts..."
Sealed with a Secret
 
4.0
"Phoebe's sister, Alice, is getting older and they're no longer as close as they used to be. Phoebe wants nothing..."
Switched at Birthday
 
4.0
"'Switched at Birthday' by Natalie Standiford is a cute fantasy story about the power of empathy. Main characters Lavender and..."
Smoot: A Rebellious Shadow
 
4.0
"'Smoot: A Rebellious Shadow' by Michelle Cuevas and illustrated by Sydney Smith is a story about how sometimes it is..."
Amy the Red Panda is Writing the Best Story in the World
 
3.5
"'Amy the Red Panda is Writing the Best Story in the World' by Colleen AF Venable, illustrated by Ruth Chan,..."
Comic Squad: Detention!
 
4.0
"Eight different author/illustrators bring to life (and panel) eight different stories told via sequential art, with the uniting theme of..."
Many Waters
 
3.0
"The Murray twins take the spotlight for the first time in this book, which actually seems to be taking place..."
Little Women
 
5.0
">“Let us be elegant or die!” I’d like to confess up front, I avoided reading this book..."
Jingle
 
5.0
"When Logan signs his friends up for the Christmas extravaganza (much to the others dismay), none of them anticipated what..."
A Wrinkle in Time (Time #1)
 
4.0
"“I don't understand it any more than you do, but one thing I've learned is that you don't have to..."
A Wind in the Door (Time #2)
 
4.5
"I sincerely think this book is better than the first one. (I suspect the 11-year release gap between book 1..."
A Swiftly Tilting Planet (Time #3)
 
4.5
"Time-travel, evil dictators, Unicorns, and impending nuclear doom. Oh my! When you break it down to it’s basic parts,..."