The Supernormal Sleuthing Service #1: The Lost Legacy

The Supernormal Sleuthing Service #1: The Lost Legacy

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
572   0
Write Review
The Supernormal Sleuthing Service #1: The Lost Legacy
Author(s)
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Age Range
8+
Release Date
May 02, 2017
ISBN
978-0062459947
Buy This Book
      
Three kids. A hotel full of monsters. And a stolen magical artifact that could disrupt the balance between the humans and the supernatural. Welcome to life at Hotel Monster! Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library meets Hotel Transylvania in the first book of this hilarious and spooky new series that blends mystery with monsters.

Stephen’s dad decided to move the two of them across the country to New York City, where he is taking over as head chef in an exclusive hotel. A hotel that has the most elite of clientele: monsters! Surprise! (Though they prefer to be called supernormals.) And an even bigger surprise? Stephen is part supernormal himself. When a magical family heirloom is stolen and Stephen is framed, he must work with two new friends to navigate this whole new world and clear his name. After all, consequences can be dire in the world of monsters. Spooky, funny, and full of monstrous hijinks, The Lost Legacy is an inventive and accessible mystery-adventure full of friendship and humor—perfect for fans of Pseudonymous Bosch and R. L. Stine’s Goosebumps series.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
(Updated: March 24, 2017)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

A delightful tale of monsters, magic, and the meaning of family and friends

When Stephen’s grandmother dies, his dad decides to move them to New York City to The New Harmonia hotel, where his grandmother worked as the chef. Stephen was used to hearing about his grandmother’s interesting clientele, but when he arrives, he discovers they’re more interesting than he knew; they’re monsters (or supernormals)! Stephen is actually half-supernormal himself on his mother’s side, who left him and his father. Stephen’s family is on thin ice at the hotel, and when a magical artifact is stolen with Stephen as the suspected culprit, it’s up to him and his new friends to get it back and save the hotel.

After loving Bond’s LOIS LANE YA series, I was thrilled to dive into her debut MG novel, written with fellow writer, Christopher Rowe. The two prove a fantastic team in this hilarious, warm, and exciting adventure. Stephen is a highly relatable protagonist for anyone who has ever gone through several changes at once. He is grieving over his beloved grandmother, uncertain about his new living situation, and shocked at the new revelations about his family. Before he can get a handle on any of that, he’s accused of theft, and his own father isn’t sure if he should believe him. However, what I love about this story is the excellent way Stephen and his friends have a private, outside-of-parental-figures world but also have family members who genuinely care for them, even though they sometimes make mistakes. THE LOST LEGACY captures the nuances of family, both biological and chosen, while providing hilarious comic relief throughout.

The secondary characters are as fun as Stephen is, particularly a certain dragon who loves art. Sofia and Ivan are already friends when Stephen meets them, and Bond and Rowe do a fabulous job of the slow progression of the three forming a new friend group. The trios teamwork will have you smiling and rooting for them, not to mention eager for their next adventures.

With a fitting comparison to Hotel Transylvania, THE SUPERNORMAL SLEUTHING SERVICE: THE LOST LEGACY is a delightful tale of monsters, magic, and the meaning of family and friends.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Game Change
Seventeen-year-old Zeb Holloway is happy to work in his...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Wilder Legacy
The life of a Guardian is a dangerous one,...
 
4.8
 
5.0 (1)
The Stars Beneath Our Feet
It’s Christmas Eve in Harlem, but twelve-year-old Lolly Rachpaul and...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Keeper - Matefinder Next Generation Book 1
Anya has inherited her mother's gift. Born in a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Spies Like Me
Can she bring these girls together? When she discovers...
 
4.8
 
0.0 (0)
Royal Bastards
Being a bastard blows. Tilla would know. Her father,...
 
4.0
 
4.0 (2)
Before I Let Go
Days before Corey is to return home to the...
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Growing Friendships: A Kids' Guide to Making and Keeping Friends
From psychologist and children's friendships expert Eileen Kennedy-Moore and parenting...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sword and Scion 01: Into the Dark Mountains
How lost one feels when his own character remains a...
 
0.0
 
4.9 (2)
The Pirates of Brisa (Wyrms of Pasandir #2)
When young Eskandar leaves his ship with the tough broomrider...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Building a Trade Empire (Wyrms of Pasandir #4)
Trade had been Shaw’s life, her dream, her future –...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Journeys: Young Readers’ Letters to Authors Who Changed Their Lives
Books can change lives — and here are more than...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Moonlight Meeting: The Nocturnals
In The Moonlight Meeting, Tobin, a sweet pangolin, Bismark, a...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hidden Kingdom: The Nocturnals Book 4
A group of veiled creatures--a chameleon, stick bugs and assorted...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sight of Stars
Seventeen-year-old Klee’s father was the center of his life. He...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Bokkaners of the North (Wyrms of Pasandir #3)
Against all odds, Eskandar and his bunch of ragtag youngsters...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Game Change
 
4.0
"GAME CHANGE by Joseph Monninger follows its main character Zeb Holloway for one week in his life--and what a week..."
Saint Anything
 
5.0
"In Sarah Dessen’s “Saint Anything,” the author shows what it’s like to be invisible in one’s own life. It..."
Uglies (Uglies #1)
 
5.0
"I loved how different this book was to most that I have read. The plot and the story line are..."
Wicked (A Wicked Saga #1)
 
5.0
"I read a TON of fae fiction and A WICKED TRILOGY by Jennifer L. Armentrout is so hilarious and refershing...."
Moonburner
 
4.7
" "The moon cannot enslave the sun, nor make the day its mistress." I absolutely loved this dark yet..."
An Enchantment of Ravens
 
4.7
" This is one of the most beautifully written books I've read in a long, long while. I found myself..."
In Sight of Stars
 
5.0
"IN SIGHT OF STARS is Gae Polisner’s latest young adult novel. It’s a contemporary story that tackles mental health in..."
First Year (The Black Mage Book 1)
 
4.0
"This is a very good series introduction. From the critical side, my first impression was that Rachel Carter broke..."
Batman: Nightwalker (DC Icons #2)
 
4.0
"I am in love! The DC Icon series is turning me into a fan of superheroes, and Marie Lu's take..."
The Foragers
 
5.0
"An intricate narrative bringing out a picturesque imagination of the author, reverberating unknown Ainu culture and the footprints of experiences,..."
The Chronicle of the Three: Bloodline
 
5.0
"Zoe, the daughter of the three, isn’t just another descendant–she’s the key to humanity’s salvation. In this first installment of..."
Nice Try, Jane Sinner
 
5.0
"HILARIOUS. Nice Try, Jane Sinner is hands down one of the funniest YA books I've ever read. Just imagine a..."
The Edge of Forever
 
5.0
"THE EDGE OF FOREVER by Melissa E. Hurst is the first book of a duology set in 2146. It’s a..."
The Gatekeepers
 
4.3
"North Shore seems like the most sophisticated and put-together town there is, but it hides a deadly secret from those..."
Starswept (Starswept #1)
 
5.0
"Starswept was a really fascinating novel filled with adventure, music and romance. I loved the plot of the novel..."
The Wolf Hour
 
3.0
"THE WOLF HOUR by Sara Lewis Holmes is both a fairytale retelling and something new entirely. The book focuses on..."
A Love for the Pages
 
4.0
"A Love for the Pages was a nice and sweet contemporary novel. It's about June Eyermann, a nineteen-year-old whom loves..."
The Foragers
 
5.0
"I love how each chapter is written from a different character's perspective, it's like mini stories within a bigger one...."
The Rules of Magic
 
4.0
"Franny and Bridget (Jet) along with their brother Vincent are part of the legendary Owen family of witches. Settling in..."
Right Where You Left Me
 
4.3
"Calla Devlin’s sophomore novel offers a look into what happens to those left behind after disaster. The story..."