Joplin, Wishing

Joplin, Wishing

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
151   0
Write Review
Joplin, Wishing
Author(s)
Age Range
8+
Release Date
June 13, 2017
ISBN
9780062423702
Buy This Book
      
A heartfelt and magical middle grade novel in the tradition of Tuck Everlasting and Bridge to Terabithia, about family, wishes, and the power of true friends to work magic.

While cleaning out her reclusive grandfather’s house, Joplin discovers pieces of a broken platter in a cookie tin. After having the platter repaired, Joplin wishes that she could both find a friend at school, and befriend the girl pictured in the platter. The next day, Joplin befriends a boy named Barrett, and also notices a girl outside her apartment. A girl who looks remarkably like the girl in the platter…

The girl introduces herself as Sofie, and she has a terrible secret. Cursed to grant wishes for the owner of the platter for all of time, she has been trapped for centuries. Joplin and Barrett vow to help her, but freeing Sofie is more complicated than they could have imagined, and the three friends end up against a sinister foe who could put them all in terrible danger.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

Be careful what you wish for!

Joplin never knew her grandfather, the much celebrated author Martin Camrath, but when he passes away, there is a media frenzy around her New York apartment, which she and her mother share with her mother's best friend Jen. The death is hard for Joplin, but only because she must deal with her mother's sadness. She was allowed to take one keepsake, and grabbed a Christmas tin with a broken platter in it. She and Jen go to have it restored. The first person to whom they talk creeps them both out, but the platter is put back together by someone else, and Joplin hangs it in her bedroom. After the rumors that her grandfather had problems start to bother her at school, Joplin wishes that she had a friend... and the girl on the platter comes to life! Since the girl can't live in the garden, Joplin convinces her upstairs neighbor Chloe to pass Sofie off as her visiting cousin while she figures out what to do. Joplin also meets Barrett Browning, a boy who shares many of her interests, and the two work to figure out the connection between her grandfather, Sofie, and the mysterious man who is following them around.

Good Points
My favorite part of this book was the fact that Joplin DID tell people about Sofie... and they reluctantly believed her! Granted, the best part of magical books is often keeping the secret from the adults who are around, but I appreciated the fact that Joplin's mother was sympathetic to her plight and was willing to help her out even though the circumstances were very odd indeed!

Joplin starts off as a rather underdeveloped character, so it is interesting to see her grow and start to stand up for herself. Her relationship with Barrett is charming, and Chloe is an intriguing secondary character. Sofie's past is filled with all sorts of people, including the creepy Lucius Doyle. I especially appreciated the fact that Stanley brings a 21st century sensibility to Joplin's dealings with this man-- she tries to make sure that Joplin doesn't go meeting the suspect character on her own!

While I wish we had more information about Sofie's world, the New York setting is very vivid, and the author's notes about her own childhood in a similar place imbue this with a charming nostalgic feeling that will resonate with readers.

Stanley has done more high fantasy novels in the past, but this is a book filled with magical realism and mystery that will resonate with fans of Ruth Chew, Liz Kessler, Laurel Snyder, Kimberly Griffiths Little and Kathryn Littlewood.
Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

   

   

  

  

   

   

  

   

   

   

    

   

   

Latest Book Listings Added

16 Ways to Break A Heart
Unfolding through letters, texts, and chats, Lauren Strasnick’s smart, sexy,...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Earth to Skye
Buy direct from the publisher ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hubert in Heaven: A hi-tech angel gets his wings
A hologram in a video game, Hubert is accidentally transported...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Blacksouls
Nicole Castroman brings the dangerous pirate ports of the Caribbean...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Other Breakable Things
According to Japanese legend, folding a thousand paper cranes will...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Takedown
Kyla Cheng doesn't expect you to like her. For the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
rsz_rsz_atskcoverfinal.jpg
"This is a lovely romance, which unleashes butterflies in the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Leaving Dreamland...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Leaving Dreamland
GT is an intelligent, handsome and talented athlete in Page,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
I Dream of Fire
In a not-so-distant future, Dreams really do come true… ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Happily Ever After  (Cinder & Ella #2)
“Like it or not, Brian, the moment you gave that...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cover Image
Azrael's a wingless angel, and if that wasn't bad enough,...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Revengers
How far would you go to make things right? Ama,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lost in Starlight
High school is tough. Romance with a sexy outsider? Even...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
TheShip.jpg
London is burning and Lalla has one hope for survival,...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
In the desolate remains of a post-apocalyptic earth, two territories...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)