The Moon Platoon (Space Runners #1)

The Moon Platoon (Space Runners #1)

New
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
70   0
Write Review
The Moon Platoon (Space Runners #1)
Age Range
8+
Release Date
May 02, 2017
ISBN
9780062445995
Buy This Book
      
In the year 2085, Benny Love is pretty used to surviving on what he and his family can scavenge on Earth. But when he wins a scholarship for a life-changing trip to visit the Lunar Taj, the first-ever resort on the Moon, Benny thinks he finally has a chance to give his family a better life.

Benny can’t wait to fly his very own Space Runner, practice reverse bungee jumping, and explore craters on the dark side of the Moon. But he gets more than he expected when he and the other kids discover the Moon has secrets no one else knows about. Benny is a long way from home—and soon there might not be an Earth to go back to.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

Chevelles in Space!

In 2085, Benny lives in the Drylands. His father didn't come back from a scouting mission, so he lives in a caravan with his grandmother and two younger brothers. When he is picked for the elite academy at the swank Lunar Taj, he knows that the way to better the circumstances for his family is to go. Once there, he meets the other students, including the obnoxious Drue, the daredevil Hot Dog, and the techie Jasmine. When Hot Dog goes out in a Space Runner and crashes, Benny and Drue go out looking for her. Theyfind her, but uncover a mystery as well. Could it be that Elijah West has brought the 100 children to the moon for other reasons?

Good Points

Benny is a great character who is trying hard to fit into a new environment. Life in the Drylands is hard, so he appreciates all of the amenities of the Lunar Taj in a way that Drue does not. Drue is a spoiled brat, but not beyond redemption. Hot Dog throws caution to the wind, but can back up her actions with excellent skills-- and she's described as a pretty blond. I loved that Jasmine was the tech guru instead of some stereotypical geeky boy!

The Lunar Taj is a solidly described setting. Will technology progress that far by 2085? Children who read this book today could conceivably live long enough to find out! I'm not entirely sold that a Chevelle could be retrofitted and made space worthy, but it's a fun concept. This bore a small resemblance to Reilly's 2007 Crash Course, but has a lot more going for it.

Kraatz's The Cloak Society also offered tweens saving the world; as much as this concept gives me pause, middle school students love the idea. Pair this first book in the Space Runners series with Fry's Jupiter Pirates, McDougall's Mars Evacuees, and Kloepfer's Galaxy's Most Wanted for readers who like Star Wars, Star Trek, and traditional space adventure rather than dystopian worlds.
Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

   

   

    

    

   

 

   

   

   

Latest Book Listings Added

The Supernormal Sleuthing Service #1: The Lost Legacy
Three kids. A hotel full of monsters. And a stolen...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Vigilante
A brutally honest, uncompromising story about a teen girl who...
 
2.7
 
0.0 (0)
Lost Girls
esterday, Rachel went to sleep listening to Taylor Swift, curled...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Unexpected Life of Oliver Cromwell Pitts
In the seaside town of Melcombe Regis, England, 1724, Oliver...
 
4.5 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
Izzy Kline Has Butterflies
It's a new school year, and Izzy Kline is having...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The World's Greatest Detective
Daisy is in the pound, and not enjoying it much....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Dog Like Daisy
Daisy has only ten weeks to prove her usefulness or...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Letters to the Lost
Juliet Young always writes letters to her mother, a world-traveling...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
THE ELECT
For the past twelve years, seventeen-year-old August has been a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Booked
Like lightning/you strike/fast and free/legs zoom/down field/eyes fixed/on the checkered...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Wolf-Hollow.jpg
Growing up in the shadows cast by two world wars,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Joplin, Wishing
A heartfelt and magical middle grade novel in the tradition...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Wild Lily
It's the 1920s -- cars and planes are new. ...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Moon Platoon (Space Runners #1)
In the year 2085, Benny Love is pretty used to...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Invisible Emmie
This is the story of two totally different girls— ...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
10 Things I Can See From Here
Think positive. Don’t worry; be happy. ...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)