The Epic Fail of Arturo Zamora

The Epic Fail of Arturo Zamora

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
199   0
Write Review
The Epic Fail of Arturo Zamora
Author(s)
Age Range
10+
Release Date
May 16, 2017
ISBN
9781101997239
Buy This Book
      
Save the restaurant. Save the town. Get the girl. Make Abuela proud. Can thirteen-year-old Arturo Zamora do it all or is he in for a BIG, EPIC FAIL?

For Arturo, summetime in Miami means playing basketball until dark, sipping mango smoothies, and keeping cool under banyan trees. And maybe a few shifts as junior lunchtime dishwasher at Abuela’s restaurant. Maybe. But this summer also includes Carmen, a cute poetry enthusiast who moves into Arturo’s apartment complex and turns his stomach into a deep fryer. He almost doesn’t notice the smarmy land developer who rolls into town and threatens to change it. Arturo refuses to let his family and community go down without a fight, and as he schemes with Carmen, Arturo discovers the power of poetry and protest through untold family stories and the work of José Martí.

Funny and poignant, The Epic Fail of Arturo Zamora is the vibrant story of a family, a striking portrait of a town, and one boy's quest to save both, perfect for fans of Rita Williams-Garcia.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

Summer adventures in Florida

Arturo lives in a very close knit community-- his family owns an apartment building, and his family, his grandmother, and most of his aunts and uncles live there. This summer, even a friend of his mother's is staying at the complex with his daughter, Carmen, to regroup after the death of Carmen's mother. Arturo is oddly drawn to her, but reminds himself that she is practically his cousin! There's a lot going on in his abuela's restaurant, La Cocina de la Isla, where his mother is the head chef. Not onlky does Arturo have a job as a junior dishwasher, but the family is trying to expand the place in order to do more business. The only problem? The slick Wilfrido Pipo comes to Canal Grove and wants to put up Pipo Place. This new apartment building will have it all, and Wilfrido is trying to get community buy in by having lots of parties and promising to increase business to the area. The problem? His plan involves tearing down abuela's restaurant! The family goes all out to save it, but will it be enough to appeal to Canal Grove's sense of family? And will Arturo be able to talk to Carmen without too many "epic fails"?

Good Points

Weaving in some Spanish vocabulary, this warm tale of family, food and friends is a delightful change from the standard tales of gloom and doom coming out for middle grade readers. I loved that the Zamoras were able to work together without too much family drama, and that their community valued their contributions. While there were some sad things (the death of Carmen's mother before the book opens, and another death during it), they were handled with resilience and pragmatism. No one becomes inconsolable and unable to function, which I thought was much more realistic. There is even a scene where Arturo's mother asks him to help with the funeral dinner-- she cries over her loss but is able to go on, even using the cooking to bond with Arturo and help him through the situation, instead of being unable to care for him. We need to see more of these coping skills in middle grade literature!

There is an interesting sub plot involving Arturo's growing interest in poetry which ties into his discovery of Carmen as a girl instead of a "cousin" that will intrigue readers, and perhaps get them to investigate the work of Jose Marti. This was another instance of bringing a more hopeful tone to the story-- Arturo's grandfather was fond of Marti's work, and Arturo gets to know more about his deceased grandfather through reading journals he had kept when he moved to the US.

While the family's Cuban heritage is vividly portrayed, it is integral to the story instead of being the main focus. Family, and the family business, figures largely, and Arturo's teenage concerns are paramount. Will he be taken seriously as a dishwasher? Can he care for his abuela? What will happen to his family if the restaurant goes under? Does Carment like him? Readers will identify with these concerns while having a window into what it would be like to live in a close knit Florida community.

Fans of Johnson's The Great Green Heist, Grabenstein's Wonderland Motel series, and Paul Acampora's books about the adventures of middle grade boys will gobble up The Epic Fail of Arturo Zamora... and probably get hungry for churros while reading this humorous and insightful tale.
Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

   

  

  

   

   

  

   

   

   

    

   

   

   

 

Latest Book Listings Added

Blacksouls
Nicole Castroman brings the dangerous pirate ports of the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
I Love My Mommy
Sometimes mommies are funny and playful. Other times they are...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
I love My Daddy
Sometimes daddies are loud and playful. Other times they are...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Takedown
Kyla Cheng doesn't expect you to like her. For...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Happily Ever After  (Cinder & Ella #2)
“Like it or not, Brian, the moment you gave...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Blues Harp Green
The second Francie met Chet, her poetic memory danced....
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
TheShip.jpg
London is burning and Lalla has one hope for...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Other Breakable Things
According to Japanese legend, folding a thousand paper cranes...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
16 Ways to Break A Heart
Unfolding through letters, texts, and chats, Lauren Strasnick’s smart, sexy,...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Earth to Skye
Buy direct from the publisher ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hubert in Heaven: A hi-tech angel gets his wings
A hologram in a video game, Hubert is accidentally transported...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kiss Me in New York
It's Christmas Eve at JFK in NYC. ...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
rsz_rsz_atskcoverfinal.jpg
"This is a lovely romance, which unleashes butterflies in the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Leaving Dreamland...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Leaving Dreamland
GT is an intelligent, handsome and talented athlete in Page,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
I Dream of Fire
In a not-so-distant future, Dreams really do come true… ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)