The Lost Kingdom of Bamarre

The Lost Kingdom of Bamarre

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
409   0
Write Review
The Lost Kingdom of Bamarre
Age Range
8+
Release Date
May 02, 2017
ISBN
978-0062074669
Buy This Book
      
Peregrine strives to live up to the ideal of her people, the Latki—and to impress her parents: affectionate Lord Tove, who despises only the Bamarre, and stern Lady Klausine. Perry runs the fastest, speaks her mind, and doesn’t give much thought to the castle’s Bamarre servants, whom she knows to be weak and cowardly.

But just as she’s about to join her father on the front lines, she is visited by the fairy Halina, who reveals that Perry isn’t Latki-born. She is Bamarre. The fairy issues a daunting challenge: against the Lakti power, Perry must free her people from tyranny.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

The Backstory of Bamarre

Lady Peregrine is a Lakti, and her mother has taught her that the Bamarre are far inferior to her people in many ways, even though her loyal servant, Annet, is Bamarre. Soon, however, Perry learns secrets from the fairy Halina that make her doubt her entire existence. Still, she accompanies her father on a mission to her father's military headquarters, armed with several magical implements that her mother has given her. Among them are seven league boots, as well as a pendant that could keep her safe during fighting against the Kyngoll's her father is facing. Unfortunately, she needs these devices when she is captured, but her fate is not what she suspected. She ends up in a situation where she learns that her deep seated prejudices are unfounded, that her family is not comprised of the people she has known and loved for years, and that the fate of the Bamarre may rest with her.

Good Points

There are a lot of twists and turns in this story, and I don't want to give away anything in this prequel to The Two Princesses of Bamarre (2001). Even though it's been a long time since I read that one, I was quickly drawn back into that world. It was good to see the magical keepsakes again, and to discover the origin story of one of the important characters discussed in the first book.

Perry is an intriguing character who must deal with a lot of conflicting ideas about her identity and her family. She meets these challenges in a realistic way-- she is reluctant to embrace them at first, but slowly comes around to her new reality and is able to champion a new cause. She also encounters magic for the first time, and finds it surprising. She also has a tentative romance, which is never a bad thing in an adventurous fantasy.

The Two Princesses of Bamarre was one of my daughter's favorite books in middle school, and I know that she is very excited to see this new journey into that world. Readers who loved Wrede's Enchanted Forest or Pierce's Tortall, as well as the princess tales of Baker, Green and Zahle, will definitely want to step out with Perry... in her seven league boots!
Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Sword and Scion 01: Into the Dark Mountains
How lost one feels when his own character remains a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Pirates of Brisa (Wyrms of Pasandir #2)
When young Eskandar leaves his ship with the tough broomrider...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Building a Trade Empire (Wyrms of Pasandir #4)
Trade had been Shaw’s life, her dream, her future –...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Journeys: Young Readers’ Letters to Authors Who Changed Their Lives
Books can change lives — and here are more than...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Moonlight Meeting: The Nocturnals
In The Moonlight Meeting, Tobin, a sweet pangolin, Bismark, a...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hidden Kingdom: The Nocturnals Book 4
A group of veiled creatures--a chameleon, stick bugs and assorted...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sight of Stars
Seventeen-year-old Klee’s father was the center of his life. He...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Bokkaners of the North (Wyrms of Pasandir #3)
Against all odds, Eskandar and his bunch of ragtag youngsters...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Road to Kalbakar (Wyrms of Pasandir #1)
Seventeen-year-old...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Air and Ash (TIDES Book 1)
Master and Commander meets Sarah J Maas in a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Wolf Hour
Welcome, my little lambs, to the Puszcza. It's an...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Dragon Orb
The fate of a kingdom rests on the shoulders...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fragile Chaos
A GOD OF WAR SEEKING RESTORATION. AN UNWILLING SACRIFICIAL...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Batman: Nightwalker (DC Icons #2)
Before he was Batman, he was Bruce Wayne. A...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Nice Try, Jane Sinner
The only thing 17-year-old Jane Sinner hates more than...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
I Love You Like a Pig
From the acclaimed bestselling author of Extra Yarn and Sam...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

The Moonlight Meeting: The Nocturnals
 
3.0
"In this "Grow and Read" level two early reader book, the characters from Nocturnals World meet each other. Bismark is..."
The Hidden Kingdom: The Nocturnals Book 4
 
3.0
"Dawn, a fox; Tobin, a pangolin; and Bismark, an energetic sugar glider are all friends who have adventures. When there..."
North, South, East, West
 
5.0
"A little red bird knows she is is ready to leave home but wonders where she will go: north, south,..."
I Love You Like a Pig
 
5.0
"It’s hard to know what to make of Barnett and Pizzoli’s book. Packed with off-the-wall comparisons and unorthodox relationships, the..."
Come Home Already!
 
4.0
"The third Duck and Bear book, Come Home Already! explores the need for a balance between alone time and social..."
Breathe and Be
 
5.0
"Written as a series of tanka, five-line Japanese poems related to haiku, and illustrated with rich, natural imagery, this book..."
Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard, Book 3: The Ship of the Dead
 
5.0
"Magnus and his friends are at it again. This time, they have to stop Loki before he brings on Ragnarok...."
The Prince and the Dressmaker
 
4.5
"What worked: I really loved this story of a dressmaker and the prince who likes to wear dresses. Prince Sebastian..."
Peterrific
 
5.0
"'Peterrific' by Victoria Kann is all about the joys of imagination and lessons learned as a result. When Peter starts..."
Sealed with a Secret
 
4.0
"Phoebe's sister, Alice, is getting older and they're no longer as close as they used to be. Phoebe wants nothing..."
Switched at Birthday
 
4.0
"'Switched at Birthday' by Natalie Standiford is a cute fantasy story about the power of empathy. Main characters Lavender and..."
Smoot: A Rebellious Shadow
 
4.0
"'Smoot: A Rebellious Shadow' by Michelle Cuevas and illustrated by Sydney Smith is a story about how sometimes it is..."
Amy the Red Panda is Writing the Best Story in the World
 
3.5
"'Amy the Red Panda is Writing the Best Story in the World' by Colleen AF Venable, illustrated by Ruth Chan,..."
Comic Squad: Detention!
 
4.0
"Eight different author/illustrators bring to life (and panel) eight different stories told via sequential art, with the uniting theme of..."
Many Waters
 
3.0
"The Murray twins take the spotlight for the first time in this book, which actually seems to be taking place..."
Little Women
 
5.0
">“Let us be elegant or die!” I’d like to confess up front, I avoided reading this book..."
Jingle
 
5.0
"When Logan signs his friends up for the Christmas extravaganza (much to the others dismay), none of them anticipated what..."
A Wrinkle in Time (Time #1)
 
4.0
"“I don't understand it any more than you do, but one thing I've learned is that you don't have to..."
A Wind in the Door (Time #2)
 
4.5
"I sincerely think this book is better than the first one. (I suspect the 11-year release gap between book 1..."
A Swiftly Tilting Planet (Time #3)
 
4.5
"Time-travel, evil dictators, Unicorns, and impending nuclear doom. Oh my! When you break it down to it’s basic parts,..."