Sugar and Spice (Whatever After #10)

Sugar and Spice (Whatever After #10)

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
516   0
Write Review
Sugar and Spice (Whatever After #10)
Age Range
8+
Release Date
November 19, 2016
ISBN
9780545851060
Buy This Book
      
That's the way the cookie crumbles!

Yum! Our magic mirror has dropped me and my brother, Jonah, into the story of Hansel and Gretel. If we're lucky, we may even get to taste the cake-house...

But we didn't count on accidentally getting trapped. The real Hansel and Gretel are on the run, and Jonah and I have taken their place. And the witch is making a kid casserole for dinner...

Now we have to:
- Avoid being eaten
- Pretend our dog is a cat
- Learn to make kale smoothies
- Befriend a talking duck

Or we may never make it back to our home sweet home!

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

A Sweet Fairy Tale Treat

Abby is having a bad day-- she and her brother Jonah break a lamp playing duckball in the house, they have to eat asparagus at dinner, and there's no dessert because Abby has had a note sent home about her being disruptive in class. Going through the magic mirror sounds like a great way to get away from her problems, but when she and Jonah get through, they find that they are trapped in the story of Hansel and Gretel, in a land called Vegetopia. And evil witch owns all of the vegetable gardens, which are guarded closely by birds. Time is going more quickly in the fairy tale world than in their own world, and things are not working out. When they find a witch's gingerbread cottage with Hansel and Gretel, they know what might happen, and Hansel and Gretel go through the portal, leaving Abby and Jonah stranded. Abby convinces the witch that Jonah won't make a good stew because he's eaten too much junk food, and buys herself a little time. Eventually, the two manage to get back through the portal, only to discover that Hansel and Gretel have been impersonating them in order to take advantage of the much better way of life that Abby and Jonah have.

Good Points
This is the most moralistic tale in this series-- Abby and Jonah quickly realize how good their lives are compared to Hansel and Gretel, who have (after all) been abandoned in the woods by their father and step mother. They gain a greater appreciation for their parents' rules and consequences, and even the kale smoothies their mother makes, after seeing how hard Hansel and Gretel's lives are.

The story of the witch also has a funny twist about vegetables-- the witch is selling them at a very high cost that most of the people in Vegetopia can't afford, which makes all of the children appreciate them a little more. Of course, the candy on the gingerbread house is still very tasty-- what child hasn't imagined being stuck in this particular fairy tale so that he could eat all of the candy AND outwit the witch?

While Prince the dog and Maryrose the fairy don't have as big a role in this volume, Abby and Jonah certainly develop a little more as characters, and it's interesting for them to be shown learning something new about themselves. Readers of fractured fairy tales like E.D.Baker's or Daisy Meadows' titles will gobble up this latest installment of Whatever After. The next volume in this series is to be Abby in Wonderland a super special due out in September of 2017.
Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Little Book of Little Activists
A celebration of political activism by America's youngest citizens--our children....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Together at Midnight
What does it really mean to be kind . ....
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Fuecho Y Pablo
Pablo's attempt to get his best friend Ugly Cat a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Little i
A charming, suspenseful, and wholly original picture book about the...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Dragonfly Song
The girl has had many selves in her short life....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
For fans of PostSecret, Humans of New York, and If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
An East Asian fantasy reimagining of The Evil Queen legend...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Murder Among the Stars
After being framed for attempted murder, Lulu Kelly has...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Christmas Stories
Join the original pioneer girl in this Little House chapter...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Somebody's Baby
Ever since Sloan won a reality singing competition, her...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Enhanced
Seventeen-year-old Mana has found and rescued her mother, but...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
DC Super Heroes World's Greatest Jokes: Featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and more!
Hundreds of laugh-out-loud jokes featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Squishy Taylor and the Bonus Sisters
Why does Squishy have to share everything with her new...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Wood
After her father goes missing in the woods that...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
release.jpg
nspired by Judy Blume’s Forever and Virginia Woolf’s Mrs....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Words on Bathroom Walls
Adam has just been diagnosed with schizophrenia. He sees...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Stray
 
3.8
"'Stray' by Joni Johnson has an interesting premise. When Lila finds out that her father is about to kick her..."
 
3.5
"The story: Brooke dies in a car accident and discovers she’s no longer alive but a silhouette, still in her..."
Prophecy of Darkness (Legends of the Tri-Gard) (Volume 1)
 
5.0
"When Trystan is named Toha, he becomes the protector of the realm instead of the ordinary prince. Because of this..."
 
5.0
"An excellent follow up. The story: We meet Emma again when she is still in the early stages of..."
 
3.5
"An interesting plot with a lot of potential. The story: Katie has been raised by her mother and..."
The Good Citizen
 
4.3
"The story: In a futuristic society that oppresses immigrants and requires citizens, including children, to use guns to enforce..."
The Girl Who Saved Ghosts
 
4.0
"The Girl Who Saves Ghosts is as engaging, adventerous, and mysterious as the first in the series! There is murder,..."
The Girl Who Ignored Ghosts (The Unbelievables #1)
 
4.0
"The Girl Who Ignored Ghosts surprised me in a good way. I went in with very little expectations and now..."
The Key of F
 
5.0
"The Key of F- Freedom Fight Trilogy#1 by Jennifer Haskin (Goodreads Author) 27143663 Steph Warren's review Nov 18, 2017..."
 
5.0
"Into the Abyss: Vault of Verona is an enticing tale of empowered females and strong role models for its young..."
Sunshine at the Academy: Book 1 of the Sunshine Series
 
4.5
"I really enjoyed this book. It's a futuristic coming of age novel reminiscent of Harry Potter although no magic is..."
Blood Oath (The Darkest Drae Book 1)
 
5.0
"I’ve always enjoyed Kelly St. Clare’s series and I’ve always enjoyed Raye Wagner’s as well, but together, these authors are..."
White (The Wings Trilogy, #1)
 
4.3
"With Claire's parents gone, she is uprooted and moves to Aurora with her sister. Here, she finds a new fascination..."
 
5.0
"What I loved about reading this book was the realness and the real hope. It would be so good if..."
Heart of Mist
 
5.0
"Heart of Mist (The Oremere Chronicales #1) by Heather Scheuerer The Story: Bleak, the town drunk, is hiding a..."
 
4.0
"Premonition (The Division Series, #1) by Leigh Walker The Story: With a drunk for a mother, Riley can’t..."
Blood Magic (Abnormals Underground #1)
 
4.5
"Blood Magic (Abnormals Underground, #1) The Story: In a world where paranormal species are outcasts, Alyssa is bitten..."
 
5.0
"A thrilling new addition to a fantastic series. The story: Crown's shield picks up right where Rebel's Blade leaves..."
That Night
 
3.0
"‘That Night’ is the story of Kayla and her two best friends Sarah, and Cassidy. Kayla is an honors student..."