Heroes of Pearl Harbor (10 True Tales)

Heroes of Pearl Harbor (10 True Tales)

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
554   0
Write Review
Heroes of Pearl Harbor (10 True Tales)
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
8+
Release Date
October 25, 2016
ISBN
9780545872768
Buy This Book
      
A massive bomb explosion destroys the battleship USS Arizona and pitches Cassin Young, captain of the nearby USS Vestal, overboard into a flaming oil slick. The dazed commander must find a way back to his ship and save her before she sinks too.

Julio DeCastro and Joe Bulgo can hear sailors trapped inside the capsized USS Oklahoma, which is rapidly filling with water. After toiling all day and all night with their pneumatic hammers, can the exhausted workers cut through the steel hull and save their comrades in time?

Despite suffering serious wounds, Chief Petty Officer John Finn continues to stand out in the open, firing his machine gun at a swarm of Japanese fighter planes while yelling to his fellow sailors, "No one attacks America and gets away with it!"

These and other real-life heroes risked their lives during the surprise attack on Pearl Harbor, which forced America into World War II. You will never forget their courageous true stories.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

A Sure Hit with WWII Buffs

Zullo starts out his book with a very helpful explanation of both how the information was gathered for the book and the process he used to write the tales. Like many of his other titles (Vietnam War Heroes, Hurrican Katrina, Young Civil Rights Heroes), Zullo uses a variety of primary and secondary sources to gather information, and then writes interesting accounts by inserting dialogue, which may include epithets and language used at the time. This makes his books read like some older nonfiction titles, which is not a bad thing. Some modern narrative nonfiction gets bogged down in proving itself, but once Zullo has explained his process, we are free to immerse ourselves in the stories of the event.

I especially appreciated the map at the beginning of the book-- although I have read many books about the attacks on Pearl Harbor, I didn't quite realize the number of ships that were anchored there. Being able to visualize where the ships were helps, especially since Zullo has picked out stories from a number of different ships.

Good Points
The stories themselves cover a wide variety of experiences, and are told in very exciting language that is clearly aimed at showcasing the bravery of those involved. Notes at the end of each chapter delineate the extent of the damage on the ship involved, and where necessary, tell the fates of the crew members. It is a nice touch that the lives of survivors are given a brief overview as well.

While there is a glossary at the end of the book, there is no index or bibliography, and there are no pictures in the book. There are many other sources that have these-- both National Geographic and Dorling Kindersley have lovely compilations of WWII pictures and there are specialized volumes on just about every facet of the war. Readers need only stop by the 940.53 section of their local libraries for a wealth of these.

Even though the 75th anniversary of Pearl Harbor just passed, the interest on the topic has not waned. It is difficult to keep aficionados stocked with enough books on World War II, and this newest Ten True Tales will be snapped up quickly. It's the sort of book that will be read under the covers with a flashlight by interested readers until the pages start to fall out.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Esme's Wish
When fifteen-year-old Esme Silver objects at her father's wedding, her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What the Night Sings
For fans of The Book Thief and The Boy in...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the first book of this new series, Sage Stone...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bright Burns the Night
Ten years ago, King Lorcan of the Dark Kingdom...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Edge of Juniper
Malcolm Dearing is sweet, gorgeous, persistent...and off-limits. Fay is...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Marked Beauty
Uncovering hidden secrets can sometimes kill you . ....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Listen to Your Heart
Kasie West brings us another compelling read with “Listen...
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Screenshot
Skye's social media game is always on point. Until...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
And She Was
Dara’s lived a sheltered life with her single mom,...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The God Gene Chronicles: The Secret of the Gods
Legend and lore lay the foundation for this exciting new...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Big Water
Seventeen-year-old Christina McBurney has led a sheltered life. But when...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two schools: One of magic and science, the other focused...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Kidult Handbook: From Blanket Forts to Capture the Flag, a Grownup's Guide to Playing Like a Kid
Adulting is hard! But “kidulting”— engaging in nostalgic childhood activities...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Science: A LEGO Adventure in the Real World
Did you know that the blue whale could blow up...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Meant To Be Broken
Rayne Davidson is perfectly happy fading into the background. Her...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (3)
Switching Gears
Still mourning the loss of Lucas Nelson, the boy she...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

What the Night Sings
 
5.0
"Gerta Rausch didn’t know she was Jewish until she and her father were taken from their home in the middle..."
Zombie Queen of Newbury High
 
4.3
"This book was probably the best book I have ever read. I loved the end so much I wished there..."
Switching Gears
 
3.7
"Lucas Nelson loved Emmy Martin, but he waited until a week before he died of cancer to tell her that...."
Sky in the Deep
 
4.7
"What worked: This is a highly engaging historical tale of a teen warrior who is taken by a rival clan..."
We Are All That's Left
 
5.0
" Zara feels shut off from her Bosnian born mother. She knows that her mother survived some..."
The Fault In Our Stars
 
5.0
"Seriously, is it possible to read this book without crying? Asking for allllllll offffff myyyyyyy friiiiiiiiiends."
Frat Girl
 
4.0
"The writing style is what really stands out in this book-- SO easy to read, conversational, believable character interactions. It..."
Original Syn
 
5.0
"Got an ARC of this one and flew through it. So so good."
What I Leave Behind
 
5.0
"Will’s dad commits suicide. His childhood friend, Playa, is raped at a party. His mom works long over-night shifts as..."
All The Crooked Saints
 
3.7
"Trust me when I say no one was more stunned than me when I enjoyed All the Crooked Saints. ..."
Legacy of Kings
 
2.0
"Legacy of Kings was not a bad book per se, but I found it a confusing, frequently boring one. Perhaps..."
Dare Mighty Things
 
4.0
"Dare Mighty Things is an extraordinary debut that features an Indian-American asexual protagonist in the fight of her life for..."
Tempests and Slaughter
 
4.7
"I am a terrible fantasy fan. Why? Because I’ve never read a novel by Tamora Pierce. I am definitely..."
Nimona
 
5.0
"Oh my gosh!!!!!!! This is the cutest graphic novel I have read in a long time! Cute and entertaining and..."
The Night Circus
 
4.0
"The Night Circus was an enchanting, mind-boggling story that enraptured me. It was confusing, lovely, frightening, elusive, all at once...."
Sky in the Deep
 
5.0
"If you’re looking for an action-packed novel with a fierce female main character who is multifaceted, and the text is..."
Life in Outer Space
 
5.0
"Life in Outer Space is one of the cutest and nerdiest books I’ve ever read. This contemporary quickly burrowed its..."
White Rabbit
 
4.7
"TW: sexual assault, rape, homophobia, descriptions of violence, murder, drug use. White Rabbit is going to be the..."
Queens of Geek
 
4.0
"Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde is the most adorkable novel I’ve read in a long while. The book is..."
The Tiger's Watch (Ashes of Gold #1)
 
3.0
"I’m in two minds about this novella. While there was a part of me that was intrigued by the general..."