Masterminds: Payback (Masterminds #3)

Masterminds: Payback (Masterminds #3)

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
1173   0
Write Review
Masterminds: Payback (Masterminds #3)
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
8+
Release Date
March 07, 2017
ISBN
9780062300058
Buy This Book
      
The thrilling finale to the New York Times-bestselling Masterminds series from middle grade star author Gordon Korman. Perfect for fans of Rick Riordan and James Patterson.

After a serious betrayal from one of their former friends, the clones of Project Osiris are on the run again. Now separated into pairs, Eli and Tori and Amber and Malik are fighting to survive in the real world.

Amber and Malik track down the one person they think can help them prove the existence of Project Osiris, notorious mob boss Gus Alabaster, also known as Malik’s DNA donor. But as Malik gets pulled into the criminal world—tantalized by hints of a real family—his actions put him and Amber into greater danger.

Eli and Tori get sucked into even bigger conspiracies as they hunt down Project Osiris’s most closely guarded secrets—who does Eli’s DNA come from? With a surprising new ally and another cross-country adventure, the four will have to work together to overcome the worst parts of themselves if they are going to end Project Osiris once and for all.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

Girl Scout Cookies for Thought

We left the children of Serenity in several bad situations in Criminal Destiny, (the adventure starts with Masterminds) and we pick up right where we left off. Amber and Malik are trying to escape the Serenity police, and are rushing down rapids, only to end up on the top of a truck speeding down the highway! Tori and Eli are also on the run, and end up finding a bit of comfort at a warehouse full of Girl Scout cookies, some of which they sell to get some money for their adventures. Malik finds out that the criminal from whom he is cloned, Gus Alabaster, has been released from jail because he is dying, and hunts him down. Gus believes that Malik is his long lost son because of the resemblance, and so a fair amount of time is spent doing errands and hanging out with Gus. Tori and Eli head to California in search of an actor who bears a striking resemblance to Eli, and uncover some very odd information about his cloning. When the children can't get any satisfaction from Tamara Dunleavy, who still feels she wasn't being evil, and see a news report that a criminal who has been in jail for twenty years is linked to a crime in a resort in the Bahamas, the group realizes that the adults who were running Project Osiris have escaped New Mexico and are hanging out in luxury. Using their criminal skills to charter a plane with stolen money and to liberate a boat to take them to the island, Malik, Tori, Eli and Amber find the other children. What is the best thing to do when you are a clone of a criminal being raised by morally suspect scientists?

Good Points
Korman knows his way around adventure and humor, and both are worked into Payback in amusing ways. When you're in a rural area, is it a good idea to steal motorcycles from a biker gang? Why not?! If you've been tossed about in river rapids, is plopping down on top of a speeding truck a good idea? Absolutely! While most tween readers (hopefully!) won't get a chance to have adventures like this, it's fun to imagine, and Korman has a great feel for what will amuse middle grade readers.

The world building for Project Osiris and Serenity is very complete, and the children's adventures while trying to locate the criminal from whom they were cloned are both exciting and intriguing. The twist with the Hollywood actor was one that I didn't see coming.

Adventure tales that weave in a bit of science fiction or fantasy are always appealing, and the Masterminds series will be enjoyed by readers of Peterfreund's Omega City, Salane's Lawless or Salerni's The Eighth Day. All of these tales pique the imagination and are great to think about while walking to school-- not that I have ever plotted how to escape mad scientists on MY walk in to work!

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Glow
When thrift-store aficionado Julie discovers a series of antique...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stolen Secrets
After an abrupt move across the country to San...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Tracker's Canyon
Thanks to his dad’s coaching, sixteen-year-old Tristan is one...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Book of Fire
Life outside the domes is not possible. At least...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
This Body Won't Break
The truth doesn’t always set you free. Orphaned as...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Gears of Fate
Centuries have passed since the Fey conquered Earth, forcing...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mother Cary's Butter Knife (Shadows & Light)
The smallest of three brothers, Keenan Mowat had a priceless...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Hundred Billion Trillion Stars
Did you know that the earth is covered in three...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Three Sides of A Heart: Stories About Love Triangles
You may think you know the love triangle, but...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The November Girl
I am Anda, and the lake is my mother....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Approximately Yours (North Pole, Minnesota)
Danny Garland is so out of Holly’s league. And...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Penny Lost
Penelope Grace, usually forgotten under the shadow of her...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Chasing Eveline
Sixteen-year-old Ivy Higgins is the only student at Carmel...
 
4.7
 
5.0 (2)
Good and Gone
When Lexi Green’s older brother, Charlie, starts plotting a...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Alicia and the Light Bulb People in Star Factory 13
Where do light bulbs go when they burn out? ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Somebody's Baby
Ever since Sloan won a reality singing competition, her music...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Dune (Dune Chronicles #1)
 
5.0
"Its a classic. Not much more I can add."
On A LARP
 
3.3
"In ON A LARP, Sid is known to be a hacker after a past school prank, and she's a good..."
Code Name Verity
 
4.3
"The year is 1943. The setting locations are England, and Nazi-occupied France. The book is told in a..."
Good and Gone
 
3.7
"Road tripping with a purpose, Good and Bad is a journey, the reader won't soon forget. Lexi's brother,..."
Glow
 
5.0
"'There's a certain kind of light that I should have been afraid of all along.' Radium was discovered..."
Release
 
4.0
"Wildly original--and completely realistic--Release is a whirlwind of a tale, one that will leave you both completely confused, yet satiated...."
Stolen Secrets
 
4.3
"What worked: This is an amazing tale with an unique twist on the holocaust and the survivors. What I really..."
Somebody's Baby
 
4.3
"SOMEBODY’S BABY by Lurlene McDaniel is the perfect follow up to her novel LOSING GABRIEL, which I absolutely loved. I..."
White Rabbit
 
5.0
"Rufus just wants one day of semi-fun, something he hasn’t had since his ex-boyfriend, Sebastian, wrecked his heart. But then,..."
The Last Namsara
 
3.3
"Asha, daughter of the king, is feared and admired as the greatest dragon hunter. She is nicknamed the Iskari, after..."
The November Girl
 
4.0
"Anda lives on an island on Lake Superior. For most of the year, she’s there with her father, trying to..."
Approximately Yours (North Pole, Minnesota)
 
5.0
"It’s been years since Holly was in North Pole, Minnesota, the place she loved with her grandmother. But now with..."
Daughter of the Burning City
 
5.0
"Daughter of the Burning City was an enticing, mysterious and compelling novel. It tells the story of Sorina, an illusion-worker..."
Revenge of the Witch (The Last Apprentice #1)
 
4.0
"A mature middle-grade fantasy—sporting a medieval feel and steeped in an eerie English folklore ambiance which, at times, drifts over..."
Bloody Jack: Being an Account of the Curious Adventures of Mary "Jacky" Faber, Ship's Boy (Bloody Jack #1)
 
4.7
"This first-person present-tense piece of historical YA fiction begins a bit like a Charles Dicken’s work—eighteenth-century London, poor destitute orphan,..."
The Raven King (The Raven Cycle, #4)
 
5.0
"I just really really love The Raven Cycle series! It was an amazing series and I just adored it! ..."
Blue Lily, Lily Blue (The Raven Cycle #3)
 
5.0
"Blue Lily, Lily Blue was another great addition to The Raven Cycle! It was an amazing novel filled with fantasy,..."
The Dream Thieves (The Raven Cycle #2)
 
5.0
"I really loved The Dream Thieves! It was a fun, magical and captivating novel. The Dream Thieves continues Gansey's,..."
The Raven Boys (Raven Cycle #1)
 
5.0
"I really enjoyed reading The Raven Boys. It was filled with mystery, magic and adventure. The Raven Boys had..."
Echo After Echo
 
4.3
"WHAT I LOVED: Something tells me more than a few actresses could read this book and say afterwards "yep, some..."