Hello, Universe

Hello, Universe

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
290   0
Write Review
Hello, Universe
Age Range
8+
Release Date
March 14, 2017
ISBN
9780062414151
Buy This Book
      
In one day, four lives weave together in unexpected ways. Virgil Salinas is shy and kindhearted and feels out of place in his crazy-about-sports family. Valencia Somerset, who is deaf, is smart, brave, and secretly lonely, and she loves everything about nature. Kaori Tanaka is a self-proclaimed psychic, whose little sister, Gen, is always following her around. And Chet Bullens wishes the weird kids would just stop being so different so that he can concentrate on basketball. They aren’t friends, at least not until Chet pulls a prank that traps Virgil and his pet guinea pig at the bottom of a well. This disaster leads Kaori, Gen, and Valencia on an epic quest to find the missing Virgil. Sometimes four can do what one cannot. Through luck, smarts, bravery, and a little help from the universe, a rescue is performed, a bully is put in his place, and friendship blooms. The acclaimed author of Blackbird Fly and The Land of Forgotten Girls writes with an authentic, humorous, and irresistible tween voice that will appeal to fans of Thanhha Lai and Rita Williams-Garcia.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
(Updated: June 08, 2017)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

Neighborhood adventure with a twist

Virgil's family calls him "Turtle" because he won't come out of his shell. His parents are both busy nurses, but his grandmother seems to understand him, and comforts him with stories. He has a crush on a girl in his class, Valencia, but doesn't know how to talk to her, so he consults Kaori, a girl who gives "psychic advice". Virgil also has to put up with local bully, Chet. When Chet throws Virgil's backpack down an abandoned well, he panics because his hamster, Gulliver, is in the pack, and jumps down into the well to retrieve him, and then is stuck. Valencia, whose deafness causes her some issues when dealing with others, is out in the woods observing squirrels on her way to get advice from Kaori, and vaguely notices the shift, but thinks little of it. When she arrives at Kaori's, Kaori is waiting for Virgil and voices her concern over his disappearance. The girls decide to investigate, and wisely start by asking his grandmother. Eventually, they come across Chet in the woods: he has been torturing snakes and has been bitten by one. All of the events come together, and Virgil is rescued from the well, tentative friendships are formed, and the adventure is neatly wrapped up.

Good Points
It's difficult to write understandable and distinct characters in alternating chapters, but Kelly does a good job of this, even though some chapters are in first person and others are in third. Virgil's fear of everything is palpable but not overdone, Valencia's eccentricities and interest in animals are quirky but endearing, and even Kaori's business interest in psychic readings (and her attempt to advertising them on a message board in town without getting in trouble with her parents) is portrayed realistically. Adults, rather than being absent, are hovering at the edges so that there can be adventure but also help if situations get out of hand.

Virgil's grandmother plays an interesting role, sharing Filipino legends with him in order to make him stronger. One of these, about Ruby San Salvador, helps him when he is stuck in the well, since he has lengthy conversations with the spirit while waiting for help to arrive.

Readers who enjoy books with diverse casts but a general feeling of sadness such as Rivers' The Girl in the Well is Me, Appelt's Maybe a Fox or Spinelli's Eggs will find Hello' Universe to be a complicated blend of social issues framed in a classic neighborhood adventure story.
Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

   

   

  

   

   

   

   

   

 

   

   

  

  

   

   

   

   

   

    

 

Latest Book Listings Added

Clayton Byrd Goes Underground
From beloved Newbery Honor winner and three-time Coretta Scott King...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Fashion Committee
Charlie Dean is a style-obsessed girl who eats, sleeps, and...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Sandcastle Empire
When all hope is gone, how do you survive? ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Babysitter's Guide to Monster Hunting
When middle schooler Kelly Ferguson’s Halloween plans switch from party-going...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Alex & Eliza: A Love Story
Their romance shaped a nation. The rest was history. ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Shadow of a Doubt
Fyfe Flynn lives on a modest farm in the shadows...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Beast and Crown
Boot boy Ji is tired of scrubbing soles and untangling...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
11-year-old Alex Petroski loves space and rockets, his mom, his...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
No More Goddesses
Jordan Lake discovers an ancient bracelet in her grandmother's house...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Goddesses Can Wait (Myths & Mayhem) Volume 2
Jordan Lake, a fifteen-year-old Audrey Hepburn-olic who’s a magnet for...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hearts We Sold
A thrilling blend of sci-fi, paranormal horror, and romance-perfect for...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Katana at Super Hero High (DC Super Hero Girls)
Sword-wielding Katana isn’t like most high school students—but with classmates...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
True North (True Born Trilogy)
Abandoned by her family in Plague-ridden Dominion City, eighteen-year-old Lucy...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Alice Paul and the Fight for Women's Rights
Here is the story of extraordinary leader Alice Paul, from...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Laugh-Out-Loud Awesome Jokes for Kids (Laugh-Out-Loud Jokes for Kids) Paperback
The #1 bestselling Laugh-Out-Loud Jokes for Kids series returns with...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Superstar
Lester’s first days as a fifth grader at Quarry Elementary...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)