Hello, Universe

Hello, Universe

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
146   0
Write Review
Hello, Universe
Age Range
8+
Release Date
March 14, 2017
ISBN
9780062414151
Buy This Book
      
In one day, four lives weave together in unexpected ways. Virgil Salinas is shy and kindhearted and feels out of place in his crazy-about-sports family. Valencia Somerset, who is deaf, is smart, brave, and secretly lonely, and she loves everything about nature. Kaori Tanaka is a self-proclaimed psychic, whose little sister, Gen, is always following her around. And Chet Bullens wishes the weird kids would just stop being so different so that he can concentrate on basketball. They aren’t friends, at least not until Chet pulls a prank that traps Virgil and his pet guinea pig at the bottom of a well. This disaster leads Kaori, Gen, and Valencia on an epic quest to find the missing Virgil. Sometimes four can do what one cannot. Through luck, smarts, bravery, and a little help from the universe, a rescue is performed, a bully is put in his place, and friendship blooms. The acclaimed author of Blackbird Fly and The Land of Forgotten Girls writes with an authentic, humorous, and irresistible tween voice that will appeal to fans of Thanhha Lai and Rita Williams-Garcia.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

Neighborhood adventure with a twist

Virgil's family calls him "Turtle" because he won't come out of his shell. His parents are both busy nurses, but his grandmother seems to understand him, and comforts him with stories. He has a crush on a girl in his class, Valencia, but doesn't know how to talk to her, so he consults Kaori, a girl who gives "psychic advice". Virgil also has to put up with local bully, Chet. When Chet throws Virgil's backpack down an abandoned well, he panics because his hamster, Gulliver, is in the pack, and jumps down into the well to retrieve him, and then is stuck. Valencia, whose deafness causes her some issues when dealing with others, is out in the woods observing squirrels on her way to get advice from Kaori, and vaguely notices the shift, but thinks little of it. When she arrives at Kaori's, Kaori is waiting for Virgil and voices her concern over his disappearance. The girls decide to investigate, and wisely start by asking his grandmother. Eventually, they come across Chet in the woods: he has been torturing snakes and has been bitten by one. All of the events come together, and Virgil is rescued from the well, tentative friendships are formed, and the adventure is neatly wrapped up.

Good Points
It's difficult to write understandable and distinct characters in alternating chapters, but Kelly does a good job of this, even though some chapters are in first person and others are in third. Virgil's fear of everything is palpable but not overdone, Valencia's eccentricities and interest in animals are quirky but endearing, and even Kaori's business interest in psychic readings (and her attempt to advertising them on a message board in town without getting in trouble with her parents) is portrayed realistically. Adults, rather than being absent, are hovering at the edges so that there can be adventure but also help if situations get out of hand.

Virgil's grandmother plays an interesting role, sharing Filipino legends with him in order to make him stronger. One of these, about Ruby San Salvador, helps him when he is stuck in the well, since he has lengthy conversations with the spirit while waiting for help to arrive.

Readers who enjoy books with diverse casts but a general feeling of sadness such as Rivers' The Girl in the Well is Me, Appelt's Maybe a Fox or Spinelli's Eggs will find Hello' Universe to be a complicated blend of social issues framed in a classic neighborhood adventure story.
Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

   

   

   

   

    

    

   

   

    

   

   

   

    

    

   

  

It's Live!! Book Trailer Reveal: The Princess and the Page by Christina Farley + Giveaway   

   

   

Latest Book Listings Added

Pip Bartlett's Guide to Unicorn Training (Pip Bartlett #2)
Some things Pip and Tomas will find when dealing with...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Different? Same!
This clever picture book introduces the concept of animal characteristics...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Sci-Fi Junior High
Kelvin Klosmo isn't just the new kid at...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Insects: The Most Fun Bug Book Ever
Popular science writer Sneed B. Collard III gets creepy-crawly with...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
North of Happy
His whole life has been mapped out for him… ...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Dining with Dinosaurs: A Tasty Guide to Mesozoic Munching
Sure you know that T-Rex was the meat-eating king and...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Loveykins
Following a blustery night, Angela Bowling finds a baby bird...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
fortsolitude.jpg
Clark Kent is thrilled when he receives an invite to...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
I Am Not a Chair!
Grab the best seat in the house with this funny,...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A Good Idea
Can the right kind of boy get away with...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Diary of a Tokyo Teen
A book for comic lovers and Japanophiles of all...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
2014 NATIONAL INDIE EXCELLENCE AWARD FINALIST! 2014 KINDLE BOOK...
 
4.7
 
4.8 (1)
Waking in Time
Still mourning the loss of her beloved grandmother and...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
TheLastHarvest_.jpg
Kim Liggett draws on her childhood during the Satanic Panic...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Who Killed Christopher Goodman.jpg
Inspired by a tragic true event in his past, Allan...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hate U Give
Sixteen-year-old Starr Carter moves between two worlds: the poor...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)