Hello, Universe

Hello, Universe

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
335   0
Write Review
Hello, Universe
Age Range
8+
Release Date
March 14, 2017
ISBN
9780062414151
Buy This Book
      
In one day, four lives weave together in unexpected ways. Virgil Salinas is shy and kindhearted and feels out of place in his crazy-about-sports family. Valencia Somerset, who is deaf, is smart, brave, and secretly lonely, and she loves everything about nature. Kaori Tanaka is a self-proclaimed psychic, whose little sister, Gen, is always following her around. And Chet Bullens wishes the weird kids would just stop being so different so that he can concentrate on basketball. They aren’t friends, at least not until Chet pulls a prank that traps Virgil and his pet guinea pig at the bottom of a well. This disaster leads Kaori, Gen, and Valencia on an epic quest to find the missing Virgil. Sometimes four can do what one cannot. Through luck, smarts, bravery, and a little help from the universe, a rescue is performed, a bully is put in his place, and friendship blooms. The acclaimed author of Blackbird Fly and The Land of Forgotten Girls writes with an authentic, humorous, and irresistible tween voice that will appeal to fans of Thanhha Lai and Rita Williams-Garcia.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
(Updated: June 08, 2017)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

Neighborhood adventure with a twist

Virgil's family calls him "Turtle" because he won't come out of his shell. His parents are both busy nurses, but his grandmother seems to understand him, and comforts him with stories. He has a crush on a girl in his class, Valencia, but doesn't know how to talk to her, so he consults Kaori, a girl who gives "psychic advice". Virgil also has to put up with local bully, Chet. When Chet throws Virgil's backpack down an abandoned well, he panics because his hamster, Gulliver, is in the pack, and jumps down into the well to retrieve him, and then is stuck. Valencia, whose deafness causes her some issues when dealing with others, is out in the woods observing squirrels on her way to get advice from Kaori, and vaguely notices the shift, but thinks little of it. When she arrives at Kaori's, Kaori is waiting for Virgil and voices her concern over his disappearance. The girls decide to investigate, and wisely start by asking his grandmother. Eventually, they come across Chet in the woods: he has been torturing snakes and has been bitten by one. All of the events come together, and Virgil is rescued from the well, tentative friendships are formed, and the adventure is neatly wrapped up.

Good Points
It's difficult to write understandable and distinct characters in alternating chapters, but Kelly does a good job of this, even though some chapters are in first person and others are in third. Virgil's fear of everything is palpable but not overdone, Valencia's eccentricities and interest in animals are quirky but endearing, and even Kaori's business interest in psychic readings (and her attempt to advertising them on a message board in town without getting in trouble with her parents) is portrayed realistically. Adults, rather than being absent, are hovering at the edges so that there can be adventure but also help if situations get out of hand.

Virgil's grandmother plays an interesting role, sharing Filipino legends with him in order to make him stronger. One of these, about Ruby San Salvador, helps him when he is stuck in the well, since he has lengthy conversations with the spirit while waiting for help to arrive.

Readers who enjoy books with diverse casts but a general feeling of sadness such as Rivers' The Girl in the Well is Me, Appelt's Maybe a Fox or Spinelli's Eggs will find Hello' Universe to be a complicated blend of social issues framed in a classic neighborhood adventure story.
Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Refugee.jpg
JOSEF is a Jewish boy living in 1930s Nazi Germany....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
SwingitSunnyjpg
Summer's over and it's time for Sunny Lewin to enter...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
TheWitchBoy.jpg
In thirteen-year-old Aster's family, all the girls are raised to...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Let's Investigate with Nate #1: The Water Cycle
Bill Nye the Science Guy meets The Magic School Bus!...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The 12 Dares of Christa
Christa is a holiday junkie. What’s not to love? There’s...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Frazzled: Ordinary Mishaps and Inevitable Catastrophes
Things are looking up for Abbie Wu: this year she’ll...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tiger's Watch (Ashes of Gold #1)
Sixteen-year-old Tashi has spent their life training as a...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Blight
Seventeen-year-old Tempest Torres has lived on the AgraStar farm...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
See Fred Run
Learning to read has never been more fun than it...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Solo
From award-winning and New York Times bestselling author Kwame...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Being Jamie Baker (Jamie Baker #1)
"Most superhero stories start with a meteor shower or...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
How to Disappear
Vicky Decker has perfected the art of hiding in...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ferocious (Vicarious #2)
Paula Stokes returns to the world of Vicarious in...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Monster of Selkirk Book I: The Duality of Nature
Monsters come in many forms, and not everyone knows a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Where's Waldo? 30th Anniversary Edition
The amazing original that set off the worldwide search for...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Little Girl Who Didn't Want to Go to Bed
The internet’s “World’s Best Father," award-winning photographer Dave Engledow, makes...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

The Book That Made Me
 
4.0
"The Book That Made Me' is an anthology by several authors that tells about a book that influenced their life...."
It's Your World: Get Informed, Get Inspired & Get Going!
 
4.0
"'It's Your World' by Chelsea Clinton does a nice job of anticipating questions teens (or adults) may have about a..."
Girling Up
 
4.0
"What worked: Encouraging info for girls on growing up. Mayim is like that cool older sis that tells you what..."
The March Against Fear: The Last Great Walk of the Civil Rights Movement and the Emergence of Black Power
 
4.5
"James Meredith was a ground breaker in the Civil Rights Movement, and the first African-American to graduate from The University..."
Shackles from the Deep: Tracing the Path of a Sunken Slave Ship, a Bitter Past, and a Rich Legacy
 
4.0
"Cottman, a reporter for the Washington Post and an avid SCUBA diver, was intrigued when he learned about the Henrietta..."
Alice Paul and the Fight for Women's Rights
 
5.0
"In this very timely book, the story of Alice Paul's life is interwoven with the women's movement in the same..."
Double Cross: Deception Techniques in War
 
4.5
"From Biblical descriptions of battles (Gideon driving out the Midianites) to the siege of Troy and a variety of early..."
Motor Girls: How Women Took the Wheel and Drove Boldly Into the Twentieth Century
 
5.0
"Having explored how women gained freedom in the mid 1800s and onward in her 2011 Wheels of Change: How Women..."
Death on the River of Doubt: Theodore Roosevelt's Amazon Adventure
 
4.0
"We all have this vague idea that Teddy Roosevelt was an adventurer, but I had no idea the depth of..."
This Is Really Happening
 
5.0
"I wish I could accurately put into words how much I adored This is Really Happening. I didn’t..."
Girl Code: Gaming, Going Viral, and Getting It Done
 
4.0
"What I Loved: The linear structure of Girl Code tracks their journey from everygirls to viral stars from start to..."
Queer, There, and Everywhere: 23 People Who Changed the World
 
4.0
"What I Loved: Queer, There, and Everywhere is a quick read you’ll breeze through in one sitting thanks to simple..."
Best and Buzzworthy 2017
 
4.0
"Best and Buzzworthy 2017 puts a year’s worth of pop culture into a colorful, well organized, and entertaining read. From..."
How to Be You: Stop Trying to Be Someone Else and Start Living Your Life
 
4.0
"Before reading this I had not heard of Jeffrey Marsh, but after reading this book I can tell you that..."
Cool Japan Guide
 
4.0
"What worked: This is a fun guide for those interested in traveling to Japan. The illustrations add to the..."
Diary of a Tokyo Teen
 
4.0
"What worked: This is a must-read for anyone fascinated with Japanese culture. Engaging, fun graphic novel version of a..."
Newt Scamander A Movie Scrapbook
 
4.5
"Full of insider information and behind the scenes details about the making of the movie, this beautiful book makes the..."
Courage & Defiance: Spies, Saboteurs, and Survivors in WWII Denmark
 
4.5
"Immersive, impactful and informative. This non-fiction account of World War 2 takes a somewhat more alternate angle than is usual—shedding..."
Healthy Cooking and Nutrition for College Students: How Not to Gain the Freshman 15
 
4.0
"Healthy takes a critical look at a variety of concerns, and does a good job at balancing information about food..."
 
4.5
"Perry Wallace grew up in Nashville, Tennessee at a time when many things were changing in the south. He had..."