Realm Breaker

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
599   0
Write Review
Realm Breaker
Author(s)
Age Range
8+
Release Date
March 07, 2017
ISBN
9780062308491
Dark times are brewing in Asheville, North Carolina. Known to locals as the Land of Sky, Asheville goes by another name in Prince Caden's homeland of Razzon: the Land of Shadow, a place where the most vile villains are sent to live out their days as ordinary middle school teachers. But the villains are no longer content to stay trapped in Asheville.

Caden will do anything to protect his homeland. But to keep the villains from completing a mysterious four-part spell and breaking the barrier between realms, he must defeat the wicked lunch witch and the evil math tyrant-all while dealing with a foster mother who doesn't believe in magic and a pesky compliance curse that puts him in mortal peril for three days every month.

Protecting the barrier between the realms is no small task. Caden will need the help of his brave friends-and his special gift of speech to charm a ravenous Elderdragon. And if Caden and his allies can save his home, he might finally be able to return to it.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

To dragons, you are crunchy and good with catsup!

I love the world building in this one. I've never been to Asheville, but there are lots of details that bring the setting to life. It was very easy to imagine myself riding Sir Horace through the woods, and wandering the treacherous halls of the school. All of the descriptions are so vivid-- I love Rath Dunn's "redecorating" and his use of red walls to replace Ms. Primrose's ice blue ones.

Caden has become a competent negotiator, and it was fun to see his interactions with Ms. Primrose. Having her share Jasan's town house so that she could put her treasures on display was inspired, since Caden doesn't quite trust his older brother yet. Of course, Caden is also still very good with fighting and keeping the forces of evil on the run.

This final book in the series leaves a few questions, which is a great way for readers to be able to imagine their own best ending when they are missing Caden, Tito, Brynne and Jane!

It's hard to hit just the right note with middle grade fantasy, but The Last Dragon Charmer series manages to blend the crucial Forces of Evil with a nice mix of friends, middle school problems, and magical action and adventure to produce a fresh and exciting series that middle grade readers will gobble down as gleefully as Ms. Primrose gobbles down banished citizens of the Greater Realm!

Good Points
After Villian Keeper and Quest Maker, the situation in Asheville, North Carolina is tenuous at best. Rath Dunn has taken over the school from Ms. Primrose, which isn't really an improvement, since the dragon still keeps eating people who are banished from the Greater Realm. Jasan's presence is helpful rather than alarming, as Caden and his friends try to figure out how to negotiate an uneasy peace with Ms. Primrose and keep Rath Dunn and his allies from completing their spell. They have gathered most of the items they need (Jane's tears, Brynne's hair!) and are very close to making the spell, which will allow them to take down the Greater Realm and Asheville as well! It's up to Caden to stop them, which is hard for him to do since he is still acclimating to Asheville's way of life, struggling with his family dynamics, and trying to get his foster mother Rosa and Officer Levine to believe all the crazy reasons he has for not obeying them! Can he manage to save both worlds... and get a passing grade in gym?
Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Little Book of Little Activists
A celebration of political activism by America's youngest citizens--our children....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Together at Midnight
What does it really mean to be kind . ....
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Fuecho Y Pablo
Pablo's attempt to get his best friend Ugly Cat a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Little i
A charming, suspenseful, and wholly original picture book about the...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Dragonfly Song
The girl has had many selves in her short life....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
For fans of PostSecret, Humans of New York, and If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
An East Asian fantasy reimagining of The Evil Queen legend...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Murder Among the Stars
After being framed for attempted murder, Lulu Kelly has...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Christmas Stories
Join the original pioneer girl in this Little House chapter...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Somebody's Baby
Ever since Sloan won a reality singing competition, her...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Enhanced
Seventeen-year-old Mana has found and rescued her mother, but...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
DC Super Heroes World's Greatest Jokes: Featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and more!
Hundreds of laugh-out-loud jokes featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Squishy Taylor and the Bonus Sisters
Why does Squishy have to share everything with her new...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Wood
After her father goes missing in the woods that...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
release.jpg
nspired by Judy Blume’s Forever and Virginia Woolf’s Mrs....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Words on Bathroom Walls
Adam has just been diagnosed with schizophrenia. He sees...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

The Little Book of Little Activists
 
5.0
"A book that represents hope for the future. The Book: Pages after pages of children raising their voices, adding..."
Fuecho Y Pablo
 
4.0
"A funny and endearing tale of a summer day gone wrong. The story: Ugly cat just wants a paleta...."
Little i
 
3.5
"A fun alphabet adventure. The story: Little i loses his dot. It fell of and rolled away so..."
Dragonfly Song
 
5.0
"Aissa is the first-born daughter of the Lady of an island, and as such she should be raised in a..."
Christmas Stories
 
5.0
"Laura Ingalls Wilder takes you into the pioneer world and what it was like to spend the holiday season in..."
DC Super Heroes World's Greatest Jokes: Featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and more!
 
5.0
"DC Super Heroes and jokes are the perfect combination for a fun, laugh-out-loud read. This book contains over 400 jokes..."
Squishy Taylor and the Bonus Sisters
 
4.0
"When "Squishy" Taylor moves in with her dad and his new wife, she has to share a room with her..."
Dear Girl
 
5.0
"A fantastic way to empower little girls. The story: The book follows a little girl as she's told most..."
Curse of the Bane (The Last Apprentice #2)
 
3.0
" In this second installment of the series, Thomas ward is now 13 and has been the Spook’s apprentice for..."
Hero on a Bicycle
 
5.0
"HERO ON A BICYCLE by Shirley Hughes is a middle grades novel set in 1944 in Florence, Italy and its..."
The Digger and the Flower
 
4.5
"'The Digger and the Flower' by Joseph Kuefler shows the power of goodness when everything else seems to be overtaking..."
Zog and the Flying Doctors
 
5.0
"'Zog and the Flying Doctors' is another great story by Julia Donaldson, and illustrated by Axel Scheffler. The two have..."
Superbat
 
5.0
"Is it a bird? Is it a plane? No, it's a bat in a costume! Pat the bat is a..."
Danny and the Dinosaur A Very Merry Christmas
 
5.0
"Whoever thought of putting stickers inside of children's books is a genius. The story: The dinosaur has never..."
In a Dark, Dark Room and Other
 
4.5
"This book contains seven folktales that have been retold and rewritten to be easily read. This book is level two..."
Wide-Awake Bear
 
5.0
"In WIDE-AWAKE BEAR, baby cub Elliott is supposed to be hibernating with his mom and sleeping until spring. The only..."
Rapunzel and the Lost Lagoon
 
5.0
"My daughter and I love to watch the Tangled Series on the Disney Channel together, so I was so excited..."
Pig the Elf
 
4.0
"PIG THE ELF is about a dog named Pig who loves Christmas, but it isn't for the spirit or joy...."
Old MacDonald Had A Farn
 
4.0
"It was fun reading OLD MACDONALD HAD A FARM to my daughter. As I read, my daughter danced because it..."
Come With Me
 
5.0
"COME WITH ME is a perfect story with the way the world is today. It talks about how scary the..."