Realm Breaker

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
499   0
Write Review
Realm Breaker
Author(s)
Age Range
8+
Release Date
March 07, 2017
ISBN
9780062308491
Dark times are brewing in Asheville, North Carolina. Known to locals as the Land of Sky, Asheville goes by another name in Prince Caden's homeland of Razzon: the Land of Shadow, a place where the most vile villains are sent to live out their days as ordinary middle school teachers. But the villains are no longer content to stay trapped in Asheville.

Caden will do anything to protect his homeland. But to keep the villains from completing a mysterious four-part spell and breaking the barrier between realms, he must defeat the wicked lunch witch and the evil math tyrant-all while dealing with a foster mother who doesn't believe in magic and a pesky compliance curse that puts him in mortal peril for three days every month.

Protecting the barrier between the realms is no small task. Caden will need the help of his brave friends-and his special gift of speech to charm a ravenous Elderdragon. And if Caden and his allies can save his home, he might finally be able to return to it.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

To dragons, you are crunchy and good with catsup!

I love the world building in this one. I've never been to Asheville, but there are lots of details that bring the setting to life. It was very easy to imagine myself riding Sir Horace through the woods, and wandering the treacherous halls of the school. All of the descriptions are so vivid-- I love Rath Dunn's "redecorating" and his use of red walls to replace Ms. Primrose's ice blue ones.

Caden has become a competent negotiator, and it was fun to see his interactions with Ms. Primrose. Having her share Jasan's town house so that she could put her treasures on display was inspired, since Caden doesn't quite trust his older brother yet. Of course, Caden is also still very good with fighting and keeping the forces of evil on the run.

This final book in the series leaves a few questions, which is a great way for readers to be able to imagine their own best ending when they are missing Caden, Tito, Brynne and Jane!

It's hard to hit just the right note with middle grade fantasy, but The Last Dragon Charmer series manages to blend the crucial Forces of Evil with a nice mix of friends, middle school problems, and magical action and adventure to produce a fresh and exciting series that middle grade readers will gobble down as gleefully as Ms. Primrose gobbles down banished citizens of the Greater Realm!

Good Points
After Villian Keeper and Quest Maker, the situation in Asheville, North Carolina is tenuous at best. Rath Dunn has taken over the school from Ms. Primrose, which isn't really an improvement, since the dragon still keeps eating people who are banished from the Greater Realm. Jasan's presence is helpful rather than alarming, as Caden and his friends try to figure out how to negotiate an uneasy peace with Ms. Primrose and keep Rath Dunn and his allies from completing their spell. They have gathered most of the items they need (Jane's tears, Brynne's hair!) and are very close to making the spell, which will allow them to take down the Greater Realm and Asheville as well! It's up to Caden to stop them, which is hard for him to do since he is still acclimating to Asheville's way of life, struggling with his family dynamics, and trying to get his foster mother Rosa and Officer Levine to believe all the crazy reasons he has for not obeying them! Can he manage to save both worlds... and get a passing grade in gym?
Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The 12 Dares of Christa
Christa is a holiday junkie. What’s not to love? There’s...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Frazzled: Ordinary Mishaps and Inevitable Catastrophes
Things are looking up for Abbie Wu: this year she’ll...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
See Fred Run
Learning to read has never been more fun than it...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Monster of Selkirk Book I: The Duality of Nature
Monsters come in many forms, and not everyone knows a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Where's Waldo? 30th Anniversary Edition
The amazing original that set off the worldwide search for...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Little Girl Who Didn't Want to Go to Bed
The internet’s “World’s Best Father," award-winning photographer Dave Engledow, makes...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Being Fishkill
Fishkill Carmel fends for herself, with her fists if need...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Goldeline
Perfect for fans of The Girl Who Drank the Moon...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Last Namsara
Kristen Ciccarelli’s debut fantasy explores an intricately woven world of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Speak Easy, Speak Love
Six teenagers’ lives intertwine during one thrilling summer full of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mr. Biddles
A funny picture book about friendship, in the tradition of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Uni the Unicorn and the Dream Come True
Amy Krouse Rosenthal and Brigette Barrager reunite to bring us...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Black Bird of the Gallows
simple but forgotten truth: Where harbingers of death appear,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Not Now, Not Ever
The sequel to The Only Thing Worse than Me Is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Prince and the Dressmaker
Paris, at the dawn of the modern age: ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Pashmina
Priyanka Das has so many unanswered questions: Why did her...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

The 12 Dares of Christa
 
4.3
"'The 12 Dares of Christa' by Marissa Burt is a sweet story of friendship, determination, strength, and forgiveness. Main character..."
Frazzled: Ordinary Mishaps and Inevitable Catastrophes
 
5.0
"'Frazzled: Ordinary Mishaps and Inevitable Catastrophes' by Booki Vivat is an adorable, illustrated story that not only proves a fast..."
How to Disappear
 
5.0
"I am so absolutely in love with Sharon Huss Roat. Her books are funny, relatable, and so easily devoured. I..."
David Inside Out
 
5.0
"David Inside Out is a novel about a teenager (David) who is discovering he is gay. In David's high school,..."
The Rest of Us Just Live Here
 
3.7
"I have to admit, it took me a while to get into this one. The characters seemed to me to..."
The Book Thief
 
4.7
"Death as a narrator? What an idea! It was so interesting to see the Second World War from a German..."
Ferocious (Vicarious #2)
 
5.0
"*WARNING: There are no spoilers for FEROCIOUS, but there are spoilers for book 1, VICARIOUS* As a reader, sequels always..."
Blight
 
4.7
"BLIGHT by Alexandra Duncan is the next young adult dystopian novel that will set your world on fire. Torrest Tempest..."
The Knife of Never Letting Go (Chaos Walking #1)
 
5.0
"This book was so unusual and satisfying in so many ways. Then there was the one bit - if you've..."
Mask of Shadows
 
4.0
"MASK OF SHADOWS by Linsey Miller features Sal Leon, a genderfluid thief who wants nothing more than to exact revenge..."
Shiver (The Wolves of Mercy Falls #1)
 
3.7
"This one took a while to get into. I didn't warm much to Grace. She didn't seem to have much..."
Everything, Everything
 
3.0
"This story is told in first-person present-tense entirely from the POV of Madeline, who is turning eighteen in the first..."
The Museum of Heartbreak
 
4.7
"I really relate to this book very much. Most especially with Pen. This book was so honest. Many symbolisms but..."
Loved (House of Night Other World series, Book 1)
 
5.0
"Zoe and the Nerd Herd from the House of Night Series have returned for another adventure in LOVED. All of..."
 
4.0
"4.5 Stars! Someone Else's Summer was an amazing and emotional novel. It had a well written plot and captivating..."
Eden Summer
 
4.3
"EDEN SUMMER by Liz Flanagan is a rollercoaster of a novel. In this contemporary young adult book, Jess’ best friend,..."
The Tiger's Watch (Ashes of Gold #1)
 
4.3
"Tashi has had a rough life. With the power of an inhabitor, someone who bonds with an animal, they have..."
The Hollow Girl
 
5.0
"Content Warning: As the author mentions in the forward, there is sexual assault in this book. Disclaimer: I..."
Ash And Quill: The Great Library
 
4.3
"ASH AND QUILL is the third installment of The Great Library Series. Jess and his group of friends live in..."
Just Friends
 
4.7
"Josh is into old movies, old music, and doesn't mind taking yoga classes with his best friend, Ramona. He also..."