Gris Grimly's Tales from the Brother's Grimm

Gris Grimly's Tales from the Brother's Grimm

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
930   0
Write Review
Gris Grimly's Tales from the Brother's Grimm
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Publisher
Age Range
8+
Release Date
July 26, 2016
ISBN
978-0062352330
Buy This Book
      
The Brothers Grimm’s fairy tales are brought to life for a new generation of readers in their original, uncut form by the modern master of gothic horror, Gris Grimly.

Grimm. The name alone is enough to call to mind any number of the timeless fairy tales collected by brothers Jacob and Wilhelm in the early nineteenth century. These folktales have been told and retold in many forms for over two centuries, and while the particular mix of fantasy, adventure, and wonder that defined their seven-volume collection has endured, the terror, violence, and darkness of the original stories has often been lost in translation.

Enter Gris Grimly, who has faithfully reproduced the original text of a selection of tales and adorned them with his own inimitable artwork. The result is a Grimm collection unlike any other, set in a world that is whimsically sinister, darkly vivid, and completely unforgettable.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

A dark twisty illustrated fairy tale

What I Liked:
This is just the chapter sampler but I am blown away once again by the amazingness that is Gris Grimly. I first heard of Gris when his illustrated version of Frankenstein came out and ever since I have been in love with his work. His art style is very dark, twisted and a little bit creepy (which I love). So the combining of Grimm fairy tales, which have always been really dark, plus Gris's illustrations just tie this book together really well. This chapter sampler has only three stories, Little Red-Cap, The Girl Without Hands, and Rapunzel. One of which I have never heard of, but was still really good. For anyone who knows me, they will know that I adore fairy tales from once upon a time on T.V., to the dark twisted fairy tales like Splintered by A.G. Howard and Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Paige. So the fact that one of my favorite artists was illustrating fairy tales was just a dream come true. The fact that it comes out on my birthday is just a sign that this book is meant for me... And well for you too. Because let's be honest who wouldn't want these amazing illustrated fairy tales. And let me tell you it is amazing. The detail that Gris puts in to each and every one of the drawings even if it's a simple chapter header is just beautiful. From the main focus to the tiny details, nothing gets overlooked with this man. The illustrations complement the story beautifully and never seem to overpower it. One thing I always tend to do with Gris's books is to flip through them to just look at the art. It's always so beautiful I find myself staring at them. And the best part is there is always something new to look at when you reread them. Not to mention there will be 40 stories in this collection, and I just know there are going to be some amazing art in this book. One thing I love is that a couple of these are familiar like Rapunzel and Little Red-Cap, but most of these are stories I have never heard of. Which I think will definitely be very interesting to see. I love that I am being introduced to new fairy tales through Gris's work. He does such an amazing job bringing these stories to life, that you won't be able to help yourself from falling in love. The stories in the chapter sampler are just black and white, so I don't know if they are going to have color. But if I have to go off what he's done in previous books, most will be in black and white with some of the big ones in color. Which I love because I love that random pop of color when you're not expecting it. Not to mention that he does amazing things with the color.

What left me wanting more:
To be honest I think you would have a really really hard time finding something I didn't like about this chapter sampler. One thing I would love is if the stories were longer. They are very short, but the end result will have 40 stories so I don't think that will be a problem. A couple words of warning for parents. I would just be cautious, Grimm and Gris are both dark and while there was nothing truly horrible in the stories, I say just do a quick read through to be sure, there's nothing in here that you wouldn't want your kids to see. I would recommend this to kids age 8 and up.

Overall I am so excited that this will be out soon. I have waited patiently (not really) since he first announced this book. Beautifully told and illustrated, I would be surprised if you didn't like it. I would recommend this to those that love Ransom Riggs, dark fairy tales, and beautiful illustrations. I am so excited to see the finished copy of this book. It's going to look so good with my Gris Grimly collection.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Surface Breaks: A Reimagining of The Little Mermaid
Think you know the story of the Little Mermaid? Think...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Professor Renoir’s Collection of Oddities, Curiosities, and Delights
By her fourteenth birthday, Babe Killingsworth measures 6ʹ9ʺ and weighs...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
#Murderfunding (#MurderTrending, #2)
WELCOME TO WHO WANTS TO BE A PAINIAC?, the latest...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Truman
After his best friend Sarah leaves for her first day...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Day the Universe Exploded My Head: Poems to Take You into Space and Back Again
Hang on tight for a raucous bounce through the solar...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fallen Empires (Cleopatra in Space #5)
Cleo goes into hiding after a mysterious death at Yasiro...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Season
Seventeen year old Lady Alexandra is strong-willed and sharp-tongued; in...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Exact Opposite of Okay
Eighteen-year-old Izzy O’Neill knows exactly who she is—a loyal friend,...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Girl Gone Viral
For seventeen-year-old Opal Hopper, code is magic. She builds entire...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Patron Saints of Nothing
A powerful coming-of-age story about grief, guilt, and the risks...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
This Time Will Be Different
For fans of Jenny Han, Morgan Matson, and Sandhya Menon,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Ideal Boyfriend is a Croissant
This honest, laugh-out-loud novel brimming with body positivity, bite-sized nuggets...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Carnival Catastrophe (The Problim Children, #2)
All siblings are capable of magic if they stick together....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
As Far as the Stars
Christopher is the sort of guy that no one...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Virtue of Sin
Miriam lives in New Jerusalem, a haven in the...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
OverRun (The OverRuled Series, book 2)
TWO LIVES BOUND BY ONE LIE. Magic has consequences—...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

The Surface Breaks: A Reimagining of The Little Mermaid
 
4.3
"THE SURFACE BREAKS is a slow-building retelling of The Little Mermaid. While staying true to the classic, this story adds..."
#Murderfunding (#MurderTrending, #2)
 
4.3
"#Murderfunding is an engaging and fast-paced sequel to #murdertrending. Alcatraz 2.0 has been shut down and #CinderellaSurvivor (Dee) and her..."
#Murdertrending
 
4.7
"In the near future, a reality TV star has become president and signed off on Alcatraz 2.0, a new prison..."
The Season
 
4.3
"THE SEASON by Sarah MacLean is a YA historical fiction novel that centers around seventeen-year-old Alex, who is coming of..."
My Ideal Boyfriend is a Croissant
 
4.3
"Sixteen-year-old Bluebelle, or BB/Big Bones, loves herself. Forget that others say she's fat. After a recent asthma attack, she has..."
The Exact Opposite of Okay
 
3.3
"THE EXACT OPPOSITE OF OKAY is a book that tackles sexism and slut-shaming. Written as a series of journal entries,..."
Girl Gone Viral
 
3.3
"Girl Gone Viral was pitched for Warcross and Black Mirror fans. Now I haven’t read Warcross yet, but I’ve seen..."
Patron Saints of Nothing
 
4.7
"Reading Patron Saints of Nothing invokes a lot of emotions, especially for someone who’s socially aware of the current political..."
This Time Will Be Different
 
5.0
"THIS TIME WILL BE DIFFERENT is an engaging YA contemporary with strong underlying messages about racism and social activism. With..."
As Far as the Stars
 
3.3
"AS FAR AS THE STARS is a slow-burning book about overwhelming grief. Air (Ariadne) is a high schooler with heaps..."
This Cruel Design
 
5.0
"Feedback This book…. What do I have to say about this book…. I have such a love/hate relationship with it...."
Don't Date Rosa Santos
 
5.0
"DON’T DATE ROSA SANTOS is a sweet and touching book about family. Rosa lives with her grandmother, and she sees..."
Not Now, Not Ever
 
4.0
"Lily Anderson’s sophomore novel follows Elliot "Ever" Gabaroche during an intense summer program to compete for a scholarship. It’s Not..."
A Monster Calls
 
4.7
"4.5 Stars This low-fantasy middle grade story is at once hefty and heartrending—despite its relative brevity and target audience..."
Salvation Day
 
4.3
"Zahra wants the world to know the truth about her father. She believes he wasn't to blame for the deaths..."
The Stars We Steal
 
4.7
"Eighteen-year-old Princess Leonie "Leo" Kolburg has a title, but not much else. She's heir to an older European spaceship.When the..."
In Another Life
 
4.0
"I really loved this storyline. The Story: Chloe is going through a tough time with her family. After her..."
When Summer Ends
 
5.0
"This book is everything. The Story: Olivia and Aiden have good lives. Olivia has a boyfriend she loves..."
Vow of Thieves (Dance of Thieves, #2)
 
5.0
"VOW OF THIEVES is a thrilling end to a wonderful spin-off YA fantasy. Although a spin-off series from the Remnant..."
The Beautiful Lost
 
3.3
"A first-person past-tense telling exclusively from the perspective of Maia, a depressed high school sophomore with some ambitious—if half-formed—plans for..."