Lilliput

Featured
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
1479   0
Write Review
lilliput.jpg
Author(s)
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Age Range
8+
Release Date
August 01, 2015
ISBN
978-1561458066
Buy This Book
      

Have you heard of the tale that's short and tall? There's an island in the world where everything is small! She is a girl three inches tall with eyes like drops of dew. Her clothes are cut from handkerchiefs and stitched with spider silk. For half her life, she has been trapped in a birdcage while her giant kidnapper sits beside her, writing in a leather-bound book the size of a house. Her name is Lily, and tonight she is escaping. She is going home. To Lilliput. Inspired by Gulliver's Travels, Lilliput is an exhilarating adventure filled with cunning escape plans, evil clock makers, and talkative parrots. Join Lily as she travels through 18th century London over rooftops, down chimneys, and into chocolate shops on a journey to find the one place in the world where she belongs...home.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

Delightful, fun, and BIG on heart

What if Gulliver’s Travels to Lilliput didn’t go quite the way we’d thought. What if Gulliver went back to London only to be the laughing stock of all England? What if no one believed his tales? What if Gulliver had to prove he’d seen what he had? What if he had to steal away an actual Lilliputian to prove the wee folk truly existed?

And so he did.

In Sam Gayton’s LILLIPUT, inspired by the fabulous Gulliver’s Travels - Lilliput, we learn just how big the tiny Lilliputians can become, and how infinitesimal the giant yahoos resort to being.

Dear Lily of Lilliput is only six moons old when she’s stolen away by a giant. The giant takes her to a large city she cannot see properly from her birdcage prison, but she can hear it. For six more moons, Lily is held so that her giant, Gulliver, can finish his book and once and for all prove to the nay-sayers that his words ring true. The children will stop their rude songs regarding his sanity, and Gulliver’s colleagues will know he is a worldly man.

But Lily has a plan. Lots of them. To be exact, Lily has had 32 plans for escape. All failed. Only with the aid of her Finn Safekeeping, a rhyming chocolatier, a multi-lingual parrot, and an enslaved swift will Lily find her way free of her prisons and the evil grasp of an eccentric yet brilliant clockmaker. But as she ages with the moons--while giants age with the years--will Lily get home before it’s too late?

Lilliput is one of those books you can read repeatedly and never tire of. The writing is superb with a very bouncy quality that makes it easy to follow but also fun to read aloud. Even the few illustrations add a whimsical quality to the world around our characters.

Though told from alternating points of view, we never stray too far from our main protagonist, Lily. Her voice is clear, crisp, and full of spunk. She may only be a few inches tall, but Lily has enough gusto to scrap with any giant yahoo! Sam Gayton went to great lengths to show the world as seen from Lilly’s eyes. From a sewing needle making the perfect sword, a thimble that’s equivalent to a giant latte mug, and spider webs being the perfect rope, Lily’s world is wonderfully imagined. She is even so small her tears float around her like mist!

Finn and Mr. Ozinda make a delightful supporting cast. As Lily’s safekeeper, Finn does his very best to make sure Lily is safe. His loyalty never wavers. Not even when his own safety is at great risk. Mr. Ozinda, the chocolatier, adds a bit of humor and a moral compass for Lily, as well as Finn.

Mr. Plinker, the wicked clockmaker, is truly frightful in a genius way. His clock contraptions are perfect in design, if not in their purposes. From his unkempt persona and lingering foul stench, we know this man is up to no good from first whiff.

Even dear Gulliver plays his role well. From chastised adventurer turned Lily’s jailer, we sympathize with his journey. We understand his motives, even if his actions are a bit callous. But with a heart and spirit as large as Lily’s, you just know she’s bound to rub off on him.

Lilliput is without a doubt a wonderful addition to any library. From young readers to seasoned ones, all will find this tale endearing. Knowing how your actions affect others is a priceless lesson in life, and Sam Gayton portrays this with excellent tact in Lilliput. A brave spirit, loyal friends, giant-scale adventures, and just a touch of whimsy ensures Lilliput will prove even the largest obstacles can be overcome by the smallest of heroes, as long as your heart is big enough for it.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Surface Breaks: A Reimagining of The Little Mermaid
Think you know the story of the Little Mermaid? Think...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Professor Renoir’s Collection of Oddities, Curiosities, and Delights
By her fourteenth birthday, Babe Killingsworth measures 6ʹ9ʺ and weighs...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Girl Who Loved Ghosts
She’d do anything to save her friends and family. But...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
#Murderfunding (#MurderTrending, #2)
WELCOME TO WHO WANTS TO BE A PAINIAC?, the latest...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Truman
After his best friend Sarah leaves for her first day...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Day the Universe Exploded My Head: Poems to Take You into Space and Back Again
Hang on tight for a raucous bounce through the solar...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Blue Key
Seleste is turning sixteen. A milestone birthday. A birthday that...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fallen Empires (Cleopatra in Space #5)
Cleo goes into hiding after a mysterious death at Yasiro...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Season
Seventeen year old Lady Alexandra is strong-willed and sharp-tongued; in...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Exact Opposite of Okay
Eighteen-year-old Izzy O’Neill knows exactly who she is—a loyal friend,...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Girl Gone Viral
For seventeen-year-old Opal Hopper, code is magic. She builds entire...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Patron Saints of Nothing
A powerful coming-of-age story about grief, guilt, and the risks...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
This Time Will Be Different
For fans of Jenny Han, Morgan Matson, and Sandhya Menon,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Ideal Boyfriend is a Croissant
This honest, laugh-out-loud novel brimming with body positivity, bite-sized nuggets...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Carnival Catastrophe (The Problim Children, #2)
All siblings are capable of magic if they stick together....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
As Far as the Stars
Christopher is the sort of guy that no one...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

The Surface Breaks: A Reimagining of The Little Mermaid
 
4.3
"THE SURFACE BREAKS is a slow-building retelling of The Little Mermaid. While staying true to the classic, this story adds..."
#Murderfunding (#MurderTrending, #2)
 
4.3
"#Murderfunding is an engaging and fast-paced sequel to #murdertrending. Alcatraz 2.0 has been shut down and #CinderellaSurvivor (Dee) and her..."
#Murdertrending
 
4.7
"In the near future, a reality TV star has become president and signed off on Alcatraz 2.0, a new prison..."
The Season
 
4.3
"THE SEASON by Sarah MacLean is a YA historical fiction novel that centers around seventeen-year-old Alex, who is coming of..."
My Ideal Boyfriend is a Croissant
 
4.3
"Sixteen-year-old Bluebelle, or BB/Big Bones, loves herself. Forget that others say she's fat. After a recent asthma attack, she has..."
The Exact Opposite of Okay
 
3.3
"THE EXACT OPPOSITE OF OKAY is a book that tackles sexism and slut-shaming. Written as a series of journal entries,..."
Girl Gone Viral
 
3.3
"Girl Gone Viral was pitched for Warcross and Black Mirror fans. Now I haven’t read Warcross yet, but I’ve seen..."
Patron Saints of Nothing
 
4.7
"Reading Patron Saints of Nothing invokes a lot of emotions, especially for someone who’s socially aware of the current political..."
This Time Will Be Different
 
5.0
"THIS TIME WILL BE DIFFERENT is an engaging YA contemporary with strong underlying messages about racism and social activism. With..."
As Far as the Stars
 
3.3
"AS FAR AS THE STARS is a slow-burning book about overwhelming grief. Air (Ariadne) is a high schooler with heaps..."
This Cruel Design
 
5.0
"Feedback This book…. What do I have to say about this book…. I have such a love/hate relationship with it...."
Don't Date Rosa Santos
 
5.0
"DON’T DATE ROSA SANTOS is a sweet and touching book about family. Rosa lives with her grandmother, and she sees..."
Not Now, Not Ever
 
4.0
"Lily Anderson’s sophomore novel follows Elliot "Ever" Gabaroche during an intense summer program to compete for a scholarship. It’s Not..."
A Monster Calls
 
4.7
"4.5 Stars This low-fantasy middle grade story is at once hefty and heartrending—despite its relative brevity and target audience..."
Salvation Day
 
4.3
"Zahra wants the world to know the truth about her father. She believes he wasn't to blame for the deaths..."
The Stars We Steal
 
4.7
"Eighteen-year-old Princess Leonie "Leo" Kolburg has a title, but not much else. She's heir to an older European spaceship.When the..."
In Another Life
 
4.0
"I really loved this storyline. The Story: Chloe is going through a tough time with her family. After her..."
When Summer Ends
 
5.0
"This book is everything. The Story: Olivia and Aiden have good lives. Olivia has a boyfriend she loves..."
Vow of Thieves (Dance of Thieves, #2)
 
5.0
"VOW OF THIEVES is a thrilling end to a wonderful spin-off YA fantasy. Although a spin-off series from the Remnant..."
The Beautiful Lost
 
3.3
"A first-person past-tense telling exclusively from the perspective of Maia, a depressed high school sophomore with some ambitious—if half-formed—plans for..."