Confessions of an Imaginary Friend

Confessions of an Imaginary Friend

Featured
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
1910   0
Write Review
Confessions of an Imaginary Friend
Age Range
9+
Release Date
September 08, 2015
ISBN
9781101925737
Buy This Book
      

The whimsical "autobiography" of an imaginary friend who doesn't know he's imaginary—perfect for fans of The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane and Toy Story Jacques Papier has the sneaking suspicion that everyone except his sister Fleur hates him. Teachers ignore him when his hand is raised in class, he is never chosen for sports teams, and his parents often need to be reminded to set a place for him at the dinner table. But he is shocked when he finally learns the truth: He is Fleur's imaginary friend! When he convinces Fleur to set him free, he begins a surprising, touching, and always funny quest to find himself—to figure out who Jacques Papier truly is, and where he belongs. Readers will fall in love with Jacques's sweet, quirky voice as he gives them a look at life from an incredible new perspective.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (1)
(Updated: August 26, 2015)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

Pure Imagination

Confessions of an Imaginary Friend is humorous and delightful. I laughed my way through this book, and it’s no surprise why. Jacques Papier is a witty, compassionate protagonist who happens to be going through an existential crisis. Except that Jacques Papier doesn’t really exist. After discovering that he is, in fact, a figment of his “sister" Fleur's imagination, Jacques goes on a journey to find his purpose in life.

Jacques Papier moves from one child to the next, fulfilling his imaginary friend duties, and ultimately learning about the power of friendship and the courage it takes to be yourself. One of my favorite moments comes after Jacques gets paired with a very shy, very real kid named Bernard. The two help each other realize just how special it is to be noticed by somebody else. As Jacques helps Bernard find his voice, Bernard helps Jacques find his compassion for others. I was holding back tears by the end - something I wasn’t expecting from the overall humorous tone of the book, but it added great depth to the character arc.

While Jacques has good reason to question his literal visibility, this entire book deals with themes of visibility and the agency of children who are growing up and trying to navigate an adult world. I also found it dealt with emotions in a healthy manner. Jacques misses Fleur and he never tries to minimize his own feelings. Instead, he finds a group of fellow imaginary friends and talks through his emotions. Along with sharing his emotional journey, he learns to listen and empathize with those around him.

The beginning of this book reminded me of A Diary of a Wimpy Kid in style of prose and format. With fun drawings sprinkled throughout and short chapters, this book is ideal for readers who are ready to tackle chapter books with more advanced words and humor. However, it would also make for a fun read-aloud story for younger children.


If you’re looking for an out-of-the-box, feel good, laugh inducing middle grade read then Confessions of an Imaginary Friend is just the book for you!

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

the orphan fixed.jpg
Sometimes the ones who save us are the ones we...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Astrid the Unstoppable
Pippi Longstocking meets Heidi meets Anne Shirley in this tale...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dreamland
In his sleep, Louie starts visiting a magical world where...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Me, Shakespeare and the Anti-Love Club
Heartbroken and spurned Kassidy starts an Anti-Love Club in response...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Last Hope (The Raging Ones, #2)
Sacrifice all you have to survive. ...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
NewBookCover.jpg
The Akakies, a peaceful, technologically advanced alien species known as...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
A new, revised edition of Edward Willett’s multi-award-winning young adult...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Love at First Fight
Band Geek vs Quarterback... One humiliating photo, a stupid...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ellie Quinn has spent most of her sixteen years behind...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
King Geek vs the Cheerleader Julia Farrow...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gamer vs Player Some girls have a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Long live Solaris. One bloodthirsty ruler has...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Librarian turned sorcerer. Sorcerer turned hero. Hero turned puppet. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A woman awoken in air, a soldier forged by fire,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Soldier... Sorcerer... Savior... Who is Vhalla Yarl? ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A library apprentice, a sorcerer prince, and an unbreakable magic...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Astrid the Unstoppable
 
5.0
"Nine-year-old Astrid is the only child in her Norwegian village, and she's called the little thunderbolt by the adults living..."
Dr. Snow Has Got To Go
 
3.5
"Dr. Snow Has To Go is a loosely illustrated chapter book with humor that just might go over some young..."
Mangoes, Mischief, and Tales of Friendship
 
4.0
"MANGOES, MISCHIEF, AND TALES OF FRIENDSHIP is based off of Indian folklore. It's broken up into two parts, but both..."
Secrets of a Fangirl
 
5.0
"Sarah Anne is the biggest fan of the MK Nightshade series, but it's taboo in the popular world of her..."
Jaclyn Hyde
 
5.0
"JACLYN HYDE is a fun middle grade retelling of The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde. Jaclyn is..."
The Lost Heir (Wings of Fire Graphic Novel #2)
 
4.5
"Fans of the Wings of Fire Series won't want to miss the graphic novels. The colors are bright and the..."
Secrets of a Fangirl
 
4.0
"SECRETS OF A FANGIRL is a fun contemporary middle grade about embracing yourself for who you are and what you..."
Scream Site
 
4.0
"After reading Justina Ireland's YA, Dread Nation, which has a solid amount of scare, I was ecstatic to pick up..."
Willbee the Bumblebee
 
5.0
"The story has a beautiful rhythm to it as Willbee the Bumblebee flies around the lovely garden he calls home...."
A Wolf Called Wander
 
4.5
"Roseanne Parry’s book, A Wolf Called Wander is based on a real story about a wolf who became separated from..."
New Kid
 
4.5
"'New Kid' by Jerry Craft follows main character Jordan, a seventh grader who wants to go to an art school,..."
Dragons Eat Noodles on Tuesdays
 
4.0
"DRAGONS EAT NOODLES ON TUESDAY is a silly story about two monsters who are trying to tell a story. However,..."
Lizzy McTizzy and the Busy Dizzy Day
 
4.0
"Lizzy McTizzy is late for a party but she can't find her shoe. She looks everywhere both inside and outside..."
Hello Knights
 
5.0
"HELLO KNIGHTS is all about the life of a knight. There's armor, a king, a queen, knights marching here and..."
Future Astronaut (Future Baby)
 
5.0
"FUTURE ASTRONAUT is a completely charming and brightly colored book that compares astronauts to babies. For instance, astronauts eat from..."
Will Giraffe Laugh?
 
4.0
"When Giraffe wakes up, he feels grumpy and doesn't want to smile. His friends want to cheer him up so..."
Zen Happiness
 
5.0
"ZEN HAPPINESS features twelve different Zen sayings. The first one is "We are born again with each new day." ZEN..."
Baby Love
 
4.0
"BABY LOVE has been redone as a board book with a mirror. The characters are animals and it's about what..."
Animal Stories (BOB Books)
 
5.0
"The pacing and simplistic words in the set ANIMAL STORIES (BOB BOOKS) is just what the emerging reader needs. The..."
Mama Loves Her Silly Goose
 
5.0
"Sandra Magsamen is back with Nursery Rhymes this time. Her signature format and bright, simple colors are perfect for any..."