Little Penguin Gets the Hiccups

Little Penguin Gets the Hiccups

Featured
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
2138   0
Write Review
Little Penguin Gets the Hiccups
Author(s)
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Age Range
4+
Release Date
October 06, 2015
ISBN
978-0062335364
Buy This Book
      

From debut author-illustrator Tadgh Bentley, Little Penguin Gets the Hiccups is a sweetly hilarious tale of icebergs, chili, and playful surprises that puts its reader at the very center of the story! Perfect for fans of Dragons Love Tacos, Not a Box, and The Monster at the End of This Book. Poor Little Penguin has a major case of the . . . HIC! . . . hiccups. It all started last week on chili night. Since then he's tried everything to get rid of them, but nothing—HIC!—works. So when his friend Franklin suggests that a good scare might do the trick, Little Penguin is willing to give it a try . . . all he needs is a little help from YOU! Can you help Little Penguin . . . HIC! . . . cure his hiccups?

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

Little Penguin Gets the Hiccups!

Little Penguin has a major dilemma. After a night of feasting on chili, the Little Penguin gets the hiccups. The story starts with the penguin (he's never given a name), telling the reader that someone named Franklin informed him that we (the reader) would stop by.

What worked for me: The interactive nature of the story calls for the reader to help scare the hiccups out of the little penguin, after many failed attempts. The illustrations are incredibly beautiful. The painting quality gives the penguin a depth that graphics can't. In the double spreadsheets, which capture larger landscapes, there are hidden details that keep revealing themselves, like the shadow of fish and even sharks under the water and the shading of the icebergs. The colors are dark, blue, and moody, but still manage to retain a cheerfulness when it comes to the penguin's expressions.

However, the little penguin doesn't learn his lesson. Which leaves him to repeat his cycle of hiccups all over again.

Final thoughts: Little Penguin Gets the Hiccups is an entertaining picture book that engages the reader, and makes them part of the story.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Soul of Power (The Waking Land, #3)
One young woman learns the true nature of power—both her...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Oath Taker
Light magic is forbidden. Dark magic spells death....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twisted Saga Collection 1
Save almost 40% off the price of the single books...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Sin Soldiers Cover
Red compound makes them angry. Yellow exhausts them. Blue drives...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hunter's Truce
The Big Bad Wolf never killed for fun—he was on...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lions and Lamps
Aladdin-meets-steampunk in this brand-new retelling from K.M. Robinson ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ode to the Queen
Savannah wants to be a nurse, not a Greek Goddess....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Super Humans
A mysterious chest. A terrifying vision. Are their...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Fifth Well: Fate of the Future
Carter, Patrick, Amber, and Ryan discover a set of five...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dragonfell
“An adventurous dragon tale that delivers an emotionally satisfying ending.”...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Goddess and the Guardians Boxset
This digital boxed set includes all four books in the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Finley and the Foster Brother
When a social worker and a truancy officer show up...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Of Wolves and Witches
I messed up. I broke two of the Arcane Council's...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two Like Me and You
Edwin Green's ex-girlfriend is famous. We're...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Skyward
Spensa's world has been under attack for decades. Now pilots...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Severance
Four enemies. One compromise. No escape. Telly...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

The Soul of Power (The Waking Land, #3)
 
5.0
"THE SOUL OF POWER is a strong conclusion in The Waking Land trilogy. While the first book focused on Elanna..."
Skyward
 
5.0
"Sanderson raises the YA sci-fi quality bar in this high-flying story of human survival, friendship, legacy, loss, and confronting enormous..."
The Afterward
 
3.7
"It's been a year since a team of knights, a mage, and a thief defeated a great evil. Hope sprung..."
The Lost Coast
 
5.0
"THE LOST COAST is lyrical, ethereal, and deliciously haunting. Danny has moved to Northern California with her mother, to a..."
We Rule the Night
 
4.3
"WE RULE THE NIGHT is an engaging YA fantasy that takes place in a world at war. Revna works in..."
Internment
 
5.0
"This book absolutely wrecked me. INTERNMENT is a YA contextual dystopian that takes place in the near future. Extrapolating from..."
The Last Voyage of Poe Blythe
 
4.7
"THE LAST VOYAGE OF POE BLYTHE is a fascinating YA fantasy/dystopian that is even better than Condie's Matched series. The..."
Night Music
 
5.0
"NIGHT MUSIC is a beautiful YA coming-of-age/romance that brings classical music front and center. Ruby Chertok is the youngest of..."
Cogheart
 
4.0
"COGHEART by Peter Bunzl is a thrilling adventure that blends a historical setting with futuristic elements. The author hints his..."
The Cruel Prince
 
5.0
"Having only read one book of Holly's I wasn't caught up in the hype of her writing a new YA..."
Through the White Wood
 
4.7
"THROUGH THE WHITE WOOD follows Katya, a young woman who has a power of ice and is feared by many...."
Bloodleaf (The Bloodleaf Trilogy, #1)
 
5.0
"BLOODLEAF is a new favorite. This YA fantasy is completely engrossing, thrilling, and absolutely amazing. Aurelia is princess of Renalt..."
Beware the Night (Beware the Night, #1)
 
4.7
"BEWARE THE NIGHT was an intriguing YA fantasy that follows Veda, a seventeen-year-old Basso who lives on the island of..."
Fat Angie: Rebel Girl Revolution
 
4.3
"Angie is about to start sophomore year, and she's miserable. She made it through 9th grade on her second go,..."
The Girl with the Broken Heart
 
3.0
"THE GIRL WITH THE BROKEN HEART is Lurlene McDaniel’s latest YA contemporary novel. The story follows Kenzie as she throws..."
Three Dark Crowns
 
3.0
" The dark YA fantasy tale of a brutal matriarchy, and its vicious method of choosing its rulers. ..."
Where She Fell
 
3.3
"Eliza is an aspiring geologist and self-professed 'nerd'. Even though she feels like the odd one out, Eliza tries hard..."
Once & Future (Once & Future, #1)
 
4.7
"Capetta and McCarthy have crafted a fantastic novel weaving the legend of King Arthur with the majesty of space in..."
The Geography of Lost Things
 
4.0
"THE GEOGRAPHY OF LOST THINGS by Jessica Brody is a YA contemporary novel that begins with Ali needing to sell..."
Wicked Saints: A Novel (Something Dark and Holy, #1)
 
4.7
"WICKED SAINTS was an absolutely wonderful YA fantasy. We plunge into this world with a holy war- Tranavians against Kalyazins...."