Rules for Stealing Stars

Rules for Stealing Stars

Featured
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
2587   0
Write Review
51iGVDfpBrL._SX327_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg
Age Range
8+
Release Date
September 29, 2015
ISBN
0062352717
Buy This Book
      

In the tradition of Sharon Creech and Wendy Mass, Corey Ann Haydu's sparkling middle grade debut is a sister story with a twist of magic, a swirl of darkness, and a whole lot of hope. Silly is used to feeling left out. Her three older sisters think she's too little for most things—especially when it comes to dealing with their mother's unpredictable moods and outbursts. This summer, Silly feels more alone than ever when her sisters keep whispering and sneaking away to their rooms together, returning with signs that something mysterious is afoot: sporting sunburned cheeks smudged with glitter and gold hair that looks like tinsel. When Silly is brought into her sisters' world, the truth is more exciting than she ever imagined. The sisters have discovered a magical place that gives them what they truly need: an escape from the complications of their home life. But there are dark truths there, too. Silly hopes the magic will be the secret to saving their family, but she's soon forced to wonder if it could tear them apart.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

Moving story of magic and families

Silly vaguely remembers a time with her mother was better, but lately, her mother only seems to be getting worse. She sleeps often, drinks frequently, and has unpredictable moods. Silly hopes to find comfort with her three sisters, but it becomes clear they are keeping a secret from her. When she discovers they have found magical closets, the adventure begins as Silly tries to save her family.

RULES FOR STEALING STARS is a truly magical story, both literally and figuratively. The magical realism element is done fantastically, weaving in fairy tales, magical closets, and an all too realistic family in deep pain. Silly’s voice is brave, uncertain, and desperate to prove herself as more than someone to be just be protected. Her journey in finding the strength to stand up for herself is beautiful and heartwarming, even as her circumstances are dire and tragic. There is a continuous weave of hope throughout the story that is immensely needed and adds so much light, even if small at first, to a family that believes itself to be in ashes.

Though the reader only gets Silly’s perspective, each sister has a clear personality. There are lines of dialogue where the speaker is so obvious that you know who it is before the text verifies. Marla, Astrid, and Eleanor each face their mother (and their father) in different ways, showcasing the wide spectrum of hurt and pain that neglect and abuse can cause. Marla’s reactions are especially heartbreaking, but the satisfying ending will leave readers with the perfect combination of realism and hope.

Readers will be enraptured with Silly and RULES FOR STEALING STARS. Corey Ann Haydu tells a wholly original story of pain, magic, broken family relationships, and a hope inside one young girl that will never fade completely.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Unicorns Are Real! (Mythical Creatures Are Real!)
Stardust and glitter and rainbows, oh my! Did you know...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
This Is Not a Love Scene
Lights, camera―all Maeve needs is action. But at eighteen, a...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Voices: The Final Hours of Joan of Arc
Bestselling author David Elliott explores how Joan of Arc...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dragons Are Real! (Mythical Creatures Are Real!)
Moonlight and courage and sparks, oh my! That's what dragons...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Last Voyage of Poe Blythe
Who do you become when you have nothing left...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Leaving Jackson Wolf
Passing through the transition hallway at South Park High...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Once & Future (Once & Future, #1)
King Arthur as you've never imagined! This bold, sizzling...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Tuned Into You
A summer party is the last place Lydia Flowers...
 
3.8
 
0.0 (0)
Beware the Night (Beware the Night, #1)
When her world divides, pitting light against dark, Veda...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
controlfreak_wordart (wecompress.com).png
He actually gets the girl in this story. His perfect...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Soul of Power (The Waking Land, #3)
One young woman learns the true nature of power—both her...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Oath Taker
Light magic is forbidden. Dark magic spells death....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twisted Saga Collection 1
Save almost 40% off the price of the single books...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Sin Soldiers Cover
Red compound makes them angry. Yellow exhausts them. Blue drives...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hunter's Truce
The Big Bad Wolf never killed for fun—he was on...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lions and Lamps
Aladdin-meets-steampunk in this brand-new retelling from K.M. Robinson ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Internment
 
5.0
"Seventeen-year-old Layla Amin and her family live in fear after reporting that they were Muslim on a Census record. Because..."
This Is Not a Love Scene
 
3.3
"THIS IS NOT A LOVE SCENE follows Maeve, who lives her life in a wheelchair due to a form of..."
The Soul of Power (The Waking Land, #3)
 
5.0
"THE SOUL OF POWER is a strong conclusion in The Waking Land trilogy. While the first book focused on Elanna..."
Skyward
 
5.0
"Sanderson raises the YA sci-fi quality bar in this high-flying story of human survival, friendship, legacy, loss, and confronting enormous..."
The Afterward
 
3.7
"It's been a year since a team of knights, a mage, and a thief defeated a great evil. Hope sprung..."
The Lost Coast
 
5.0
"THE LOST COAST is lyrical, ethereal, and deliciously haunting. Danny has moved to Northern California with her mother, to a..."
We Rule the Night
 
4.3
"WE RULE THE NIGHT is an engaging YA fantasy that takes place in a world at war. Revna works in..."
Internment
 
5.0
"This book absolutely wrecked me. INTERNMENT is a YA contextual dystopian that takes place in the near future. Extrapolating from..."
The Last Voyage of Poe Blythe
 
4.7
"THE LAST VOYAGE OF POE BLYTHE is a fascinating YA fantasy/dystopian that is even better than Condie's Matched series. The..."
Night Music
 
5.0
"NIGHT MUSIC is a beautiful YA coming-of-age/romance that brings classical music front and center. Ruby Chertok is the youngest of..."
Cogheart
 
4.0
"COGHEART by Peter Bunzl is a thrilling adventure that blends a historical setting with futuristic elements. The author hints his..."
The Cruel Prince
 
5.0
"Having only read one book of Holly's I wasn't caught up in the hype of her writing a new YA..."
Through the White Wood
 
4.7
"THROUGH THE WHITE WOOD follows Katya, a young woman who has a power of ice and is feared by many...."
Bloodleaf (The Bloodleaf Trilogy, #1)
 
5.0
"BLOODLEAF is a new favorite. This YA fantasy is completely engrossing, thrilling, and absolutely amazing. Aurelia is princess of Renalt..."
Beware the Night (Beware the Night, #1)
 
4.7
"BEWARE THE NIGHT was an intriguing YA fantasy that follows Veda, a seventeen-year-old Basso who lives on the island of..."
Fat Angie: Rebel Girl Revolution
 
4.3
"Angie is about to start sophomore year, and she's miserable. She made it through 9th grade on her second go,..."
The Girl with the Broken Heart
 
3.0
"THE GIRL WITH THE BROKEN HEART is Lurlene McDaniel’s latest YA contemporary novel. The story follows Kenzie as she throws..."
Three Dark Crowns
 
3.0
" The dark YA fantasy tale of a brutal matriarchy, and its vicious method of choosing its rulers. ..."
Where She Fell
 
3.3
"Eliza is an aspiring geologist and self-professed 'nerd'. Even though she feels like the odd one out, Eliza tries hard..."
Once & Future (Once & Future, #1)
 
4.7
"Capetta and McCarthy have crafted a fantastic novel weaving the legend of King Arthur with the majesty of space in..."