The Vanishing Island (Chronicles of the Black Tulip #1)

The Vanishing Island (Chronicles of the Black Tulip #1)

Featured
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
951   0
Write Review
51VpiSn2KKL._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg
Age Range
8+
Release Date
September 01, 2015
ISBN
0062221906
Buy This Book
      

An engrossing fantasy, a high-seas adventure, an alternate history epic—this is the richly imagined and gorgeously realized new book from acclaimed author Barry Wolverton, perfect for fans of John Stephens's the Books of Beginning series. It's 1599, the Age of Discovery in Europe. But for Bren Owen, growing up in the small town of Map on the coast of Britannia has meant anything but adventure. Enticed by the tales sailors have brought through Map's port, and inspired by the arcane maps his father creates as a cartographer for the cruel and charismatic map mogul named Rand McNally, Bren is convinced that fame and fortune await him elsewhere. That's when Bren meets a dying sailor, who gives him a strange gift that hides a hidden message. Cracking the code could lead Bren to a fabled lost treasure that could change his life forever, and that of his widowed father. Before long, Bren is in greater danger than he ever imagined and will need the help of an unusual friend named Mouse to survive.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

Exciting premise perfect for eager young exploreres

Bren Owen is bored of his small town, Map. He wants excitement, adventure, and to sail the seas. When a dying sailor gives Bren a strange coin of sorts, Bren’s journey launches into danger, mystery, and more excitement than he ever bargained for.

What I Loved:

The premise of THE VANISHING ISLAND is incredible. I love the mystery behind the Black Tulip, the magic, and the great legends. The mystery of Marco Polo’s journey is especially intriguing, and readers will easily ooh and ahh over the clues as the story builds.
The world building is strong and believable, crafting a setting that seems somewhat familiar and calm but is somehow still ripe with magical possibilities. Map is the kind of teaser town one can easily imagine a young person like Bren feeling trapped in; few opportunities exist for him, yet he is surrounded by explorers making pit stops and telling fantastical stories like those he reads about in his adventure novels.

What Left Me Wanting More:

While I understand Bren’s general motivations, I still had a hard time connecting with him. His character feels surface level, and though he does develop throughout the story, he still seems flat and a bit predictable. The plot is a little slow going at times, which may contribute to not getting a fuller force of Bren’s internal growth as there are fewer areas for his actions to give notice. Secondary character Mouse captured my interest much more easily, and Mouse’s own mystery is sure to keep readers turning the pages. The ending does give hints that a deeper course may await Bren the next book.

Final Verdict:

Though I found it difficult to connect with Bren, the enchanting premise and awesome world building make this a delightful read, perfect for eager young explorers.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Princess Breeze
For months, Breeze Brannigan has heard nothing from Cam,...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Unlikelies
One good deed will change everything. Sadie is not...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Roar (Stormheart #1)
New York Times bestselling author Cora Carmack's young adult...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
An East Asian fantasy reimagining of The Evil Queen...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Thief's Cunning
Allegra Saldana has always had to look over her...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
You're Weird: A Creative Journal for Misfits, Oddballs, and Anyone Else Who's Uniquely Awesome
Part journal, part activity book, and all fun, You're...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Weird School Fast Facts: Explorers, Presidents, and Toilets
Think fast with A.J. and Andrea from My Weird School!...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Weird School Fast Facts: Space, Humans, and Farts
Think fast with A.J. and Andrea from My Weird School!...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
ALEX HUNT and the Chase for Rhapta
I am Alex Hunt, daughter of the famous Archaeological Hunt...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Barnacle Chronicles: The Search for Dark Matter
Twelve-year-old Simon Barnacle is falling apart. Literally. His body is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Serafina and the Splintered Heart
The storms are coming... Something has happened to Serafina. She...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
The Little Book of Little Activists
A celebration of political activism by America's youngest citizens--our children....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Together at Midnight
What does it really mean to be kind . ....
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Fuecho Y Pablo
Pablo's attempt to get his best friend Ugly Cat a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Little i
A charming, suspenseful, and wholly original picture book about the...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Dragonfly Song
The girl has had many selves in her short life....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Just Friends
 
3.3
"JUST FRIENDS by Dyan Sheldon is a sweet YA romantic comedy featuring Josh Shine, a music-loving, ponytailed, chess-playing, short high..."
Below Northern Lights
 
4.5
"Captures the magic of Scotland and the wonder of young love. The Story: Lucas is confined to a wheelchair..."
The Last Magician
 
5.0
"The Last Magician was a magical and exciting novel set in 1902 that featured time-travel, magic and gangs in New..."
A Wrinkle in Time (Time #1)
 
4.0
"“I don't understand it any more than you do, but one thing I've learned is that you don't have to..."
A Wind in the Door (Time #2)
 
4.5
"I sincerely think this book is better than the first one. (I suspect the 11-year release gap between book 1..."
A Swiftly Tilting Planet (Time #3)
 
4.5
"Time-travel, evil dictators, Unicorns, and impending nuclear doom. Oh my! When you break it down to it’s basic parts,..."
The Elect
 
4.0
"The story: Seventeen-year-old August is a weapon, a mindless tool of the government of Belstrana, helping to put down..."
My Weird School Fast Facts: Explorers, Presidents, and Toilets
 
5.0
"I had high hopes for MY WEIRD SCHOOL FAST FACTS: EXPLORERS, PRESIDENTS, and TOILETS after reading Dan's other book and..."
My Weird School Fast Facts: Space, Humans, and Farts
 
5.0
"MY WEIRD SCHOOL FAST FACTS: SPACE, HUMANS, AND FARTS makes learning more interesting and fun. Using the weird-but-true theme is..."
Fragile Chaos
 
5.0
"When Cassia is unwillingly sacrificed to the War God, she's shocked when it's someone she's already met. Theo doesn't want..."
Phoenix Descending (Curse of the Phoenix #1)
 
5.0
"Phoenix Descending was a really interesting fantasy novel filled with action, adventure and a strong female character. Tori Kagari's family..."
Genuine Fraud
 
3.3
"GENUINE FRAUD by E. Lockhart is a character-driven thriller that is told in reverse chronological order. In essence, the book..."
Serafina and the Splintered Heart
 
5.0
"The night is quiet. Serafina is panicking, thrashing around. She is trapped, alone, with no idea where she is. It..."
The Little Book of Little Activists
 
5.0
"A book that represents hope for the future. The Book: Pages after pages of children raising their voices, adding..."
Together at Midnight
 
3.3
"A cute and bittersweet story of young love at the wrong time. The story: Kendall has just returned..."
Fuecho Y Pablo
 
4.0
"A funny and endearing tale of a summer day gone wrong. The story: Ugly cat just wants a paleta...."
Little i
 
3.5
"A fun alphabet adventure. The story: Little i loses his dot. It fell of and rolled away so..."
Dragonfly Song
 
5.0
"Aissa is the first-born daughter of the Lady of an island, and as such she should be raised in a..."
The Thousandth Floor
 
4.0
"Everything about this book is so glamorous, dramatic, and intriguing. Right down to that stunning cover. Katharine McGee..."
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
 
3.5
""Stay Strong. Love endlessly. Change lives." --Amy Bleuel This suicide and mental illness awareness collection is made..."