Books Kids Fiction The Tree of Bells

The Tree of Bells

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/6a/72/fd/1808_947716-1348253070.jpg
 
0.0
 
4.0 (1)
365   0
Author(s)
Age Range
10+
Release Date
April 26, 1999
ISBN
0395905109
Buy This Book
      
In this delightful sequel to The Ornament Tree, Bonnie leaves for college, but before she leaves she urges Clare to keep her dangerous secret from the loving, unconventional family who lives in the big, old Seattle boarding house. But Bonnie's secret is not all that concerns Clare. While letters bring word of her cousin's determined pursuit of a medical career, Clare wonders about her own future. She does not have Bonnie's fierce ambition, and she is unsure of what she wants for herself. She is in love with a man she believes loves someone else, and it often seems that everyone takes her for granted. But when Clare finds an abused child and his dog, their perilous world shows her where she is needed, and a mysterious young man shows her where she is wanted.

User reviews

Average user rating from: 1 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0  (0)
Reader reviewed by Bookworm9

"The Tree of Bells" picks up where "The Ornament Tree" leaves off, but instead of following Bonnie's life as she tries to become a doctor, the book follows her prickly younger cousin Claire, who feels she is not as special as Bonnie and doesn't know where she belongs in life. In Bonnie's absence, Claire spends more time with fractitious boarder Carson Younger, who continually pushes her life in new directions, and she also tries to help an abused boy and his dog. Claire's gradual coming-of-age is just as interesting as Bonnie's, and the book goes in directions that readers of "The Ornament Tree" might not expect.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
a reader Reviewed by a reader April 08, 2005
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (20052)

Excellent sequel

Reader reviewed by Bookworm9

"The Tree of Bells" picks up where "The Ornament Tree" leaves off, but instead of following Bonnie's life as she tries to become a doctor, the book follows her prickly younger cousin Claire, who feels she is not as special as Bonnie and doesn't know where she belongs in life. In Bonnie's absence, Claire spends more time with fractitious boarder Carson Younger, who continually pushes her life in new directions, and she also tries to help an abused boy and his dog. Claire's gradual coming-of-age is just as interesting as Bonnie's, and the book goes in directions that readers of "The Ornament Tree" might not expect.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Kids Fiction
Perfect for fans of Margaret Peterson Haddix, When You Reach Me, and Savvy, this charming time-travel story from husband-and-wife team...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Bees.jpg
The Handmaid’s Tale meets The Hunger Games in this brilliantly imagined debut set in an ancient culture where only the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Damian Cass died when he was a teenager at the hands of his own father. A hateful soul afterwards, and...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Gladys Gatsby has been cooking gourmet dishes since the age of seven, only her fast-food-loving parents have no idea! Now...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Becky Thatcher has her side of the story to tell—and it’s a whopper—in this creative spin on Mark Twain’s beloved...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
An all-new, mesmerizing adventure from the masterful Gordon Korman! Jackson Opus has always been persuasive, but he doesn't know that...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Jax Opus knows he's not like other kids. And it isn't his skill on the basketball court or his test...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Jesse is a wide receiver for the freshman team. Can he play against type and help his team as a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Kate’s older sister is way too perfect. Her younger sister is way too cute. And her mom wants her to...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Sarah Robinson is deeply troubled in the wake of her dad’s second marriage. She now has to deal with a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this romantic and evocative fantasy, Najwa is a jinni, training to be a spy in the war against the...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
There’s something strange going on at Washington Irving Elementary School. Kids are turning into monsters—literally! First it was Sebastian, then...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Chase Clark just upped his game. As an eighth grader, he scores the chance to play on the varsity football...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lauren has a secret. Colby has a problem. But when they find each other, everything falls into place. In alternating...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Alek Khederian should have guessed something was wrong when his parents took him to a restaurant. Everyone knows that Armenians...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
When Larissa Renaud starts receiving eerie phone calls on a disconnected old phone in her family's antique shop, she knows...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Can you fall in love with a voice? This witty romance, told entirely through phone calls, chronicles the tale of...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Julia Buchanan enrolls at St. Anne’s at the beginning of junior year, Charlotte Ryder already knows all about the...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Valentina Cruz no longer exists. One moment, she was wrapped in Emilio’s arms, melting into his kiss. The next, she...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Clyde has worked for Mr. Wilkshire for a very long time. Life is comfortable in his keeper's chateau—until Mr. Wilkshire...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)