Race the Wild #1: Rain Forest Relay

Race the Wild #1: Rain Forest Relay

 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
1736   0
Write Review
Race the Wild #1: Rain Forest Relay
Genre(s)
Age Range
6+
Release Date
April 28, 2015
ISBN
9780545773539
Buy This Book
      
When Russell entered the race, he knew it was going to be a wild ride. Especially the first race course! He'd been studying up on the Amazon's animals and culture forever. But nothing could prepare him or his teammates for what they'd find in the rain forest: raging rapids, poisonous venom, and sneaky competitors who'd do anything to win. Can the red team work together to make it to the finish line in one piece? Each chapter in this action-packed adventure series is bursting with totally true facts about wild and wonderful creatures, dangerous habitats, maps, and more!

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0

Rain forest science adventure

Russell and four of his friends from his flag football team have won a coveted spot on The Wild Life race, where the prize is a million dollars! However, the size of the teams was cut to four, and Russell finds himself separated from his friends and put with three strangers: Mari Soto, who has an encyclopedic knowledge of wild life; Dev Patel, who is great with technology; and Sage, whose go-getting attitude brings the team together. Each team gets clues that need to be followed and instructions of a picture of an animal they must take, and when that is turned in, they get another clue. Russell's friends are cheating a little bit and not being particularly nice when they manage to get an illegal scoop on clues, but Russell and his new group try their best to learn about the creatures in the forest, be respectful of the environment, and work together as a team.

It's nice to see diversity in the characters, and there are a fair number of illustrations in the book that show this diversity.

Russell's sense of dismay when he is assigned to an unknown group is understandable, and the four children are somewhat awkward together at first, which is very true-to-life. Each character brings his or her own assets to the team, and they slowly begin to trust each other and rely on their team. It's also realistic that Russell's friends are working against him, and it's something that readers this age will struggle with themselves.

I especially liked the descriptions of the rain forest, and all of the flora and fauna in it. There are note pages between the chapters that give more information. Since the plants and animals are an integral part of the adventure, these notes seem necessary, instead of like info dumps to make this STEM friendly, and add interest instead of just slowing down the plot. I can see these books being very popular in elementary science classrooms because of this. I learned a lot of things-- the pink Amazon River Dolphin was especially interesting. It's not easy to work science information into a chapter book, but I thought in this case if was handled beautifully.

Readers who enjoy Fish Finelli or Cooper and Packrat will enjoy Russel's trip into the rainforest! It would be a great idea to pair this title with an informational book about rain forests and rain forests creatures.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

UFO Spotted!: A Branches Book (Hilde Cracks the Case #4)
Pick a book. Grow a Reader! ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ghoulia
Ghoulia lives in Crumbling Manor with her Auntie Departed and...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lights, Camera, Carmen! (Carmen #2)
In the vein of Eloise, Olivia, and Fancy Nancy, Carmen...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Love, Life, and the List
Seventeen-year-old Abby Turner’s summer isn’t going the way she’d planned....
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Incredible True Story of the Making of the Eve of Destruction
Arkansas, 1984: The town of Griffin Flat is known for...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Absolutely Everything!: A History of Earth, Dinosaurs, Rulers, Robots and Other Things Too Numerous to Mention
Discover how science, nature and history connect in this fast-paced,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Sloth Who Slowed Us Down
When the speediest family in the world finds a sweet,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Little Golden Book About the Solar System
Little Golden Books introduces your young reader to the solar...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Enlightenment by Reno Ursal
When Dorothy Dizon meets the mysterious Adrian Rosario and his...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Flash: The Secret Files of Barry Allen: The Ultimate Guide to the Hit TV Show
My name is Barry Allen. You probably know me as...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
An Assassin's Guide to Love & Treason
When Lady Katherine's father is killed for being an illegally...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Blood Spell
Blue de la Cour has her life planned: hide the...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ogre Enchanted
In this prequel to Ella Enchanted, which can stand on...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Home and Away
Tasia Quirk is young, Black, and fabulous. She's a senior,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mirage
In a star system dominated by the brutal Vathek empire,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dactyl Hill Squad
It's 1863 and dinosaurs roam the streets of New York...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

UFO Spotted!: A Branches Book (Hilde Cracks the Case #4)
 
5.0
"Hilde is at it again to get a factual story for the newspaper. This time, it's a mysterious flash of..."
Ghoulia
 
4.0
"To Ghoulia, she's just the average girl. To us, she's something completely different: a zombie. Ghoulia's aunt wants her to..."
Lights, Camera, Carmen! (Carmen #2)
 
3.5
"Lights Camera Carmen is a quick-to-read tale of a zealous and outspoken kid destined to make it big. ..."
Going Wild #3: Clash of Beasts
 
4.0
" Charlie, Mac, and Maria are back, having defeated Dr. Gray's army in Predator Vs. Prey. Kelly and Miko, however,..."
Gamer Army
 
4.0
"In a futuristic society where almost everything has gone online, Rogan spends a lot of his time playing the game..."
Love, Life, and the List
 
4.3
"Abby's goal in life is to become a serious artist. Her hope is to get into a special art camp...."
The Incredible True Story of the Making of the Eve of Destruction
 
3.0
"It's 1984 and Laura Ratliff is a high school student with issues beyond a typical sixteen-year-old. Her mom and her..."
Absolutely Everything!: A History of Earth, Dinosaurs, Rulers, Robots and Other Things Too Numerous to Mention
 
5.0
"ABSOLUTELY EVERYTHING includes factual information on our world history. It's divided by time periods and eras of importance. This book..."
The Sloth Who Slowed Us Down
 
5.0
"Amy's family rushes for everything. "They walked fast, drove fast, shopped fast, and ate fast." This upsets Amy because there..."
My Little Golden Book About the Solar System
 
5.0
"My Little Golden Book About the Solar System is the perfect way to introduce the planets. The pictures are vibrant..."
Beyond a Darkened Shore
 
4.7
"Top 4 Reasons to Grab BEYOND A DARKENED SHORE immediately: 1.) Historical fantasy worldbuilding: My biggest genre weakness..."
Onyx and Ivory
 
4.0
"Top 5 Reasons to Read Onyx and Ivory: 1.) The magic: Kate lives in a world where there are..."
Soccer School Season 2: Where Soccer Explains (Saves) the World
 
4.3
"In this second Soccer School book, the first chapter is about pee rather than poop (as the first book was)!..."
The Flash: The Secret Files of Barry Allen: The Ultimate Guide to the Hit TV Show
 
5.0
"THE FLASH: THE SECRET FILES OF BARRY ALLEN is the perfect guide for the Flash tv show. The layout of..."
An Assassin's Guide to Love & Treason
 
4.0
"AN ASSASSIN’S GUIDE TO LOVE & TREASON by Virginia Boecker is such a breath of fresh air. It’s a YA..."
Giant Days
 
4.7
"Susan, Daisy and Esther are very different women, but they become fast friends after meeting on their college dorm floor...."
Holes
 
5.0
"Important message. Unique perspective."
The Namarielle (Chronicles of Lashai Book 1)
 
5.0
"The Namarielle is the perfect addition to any fantasy novel collection. The world is so well imagined in the little..."
The Blood Spell
 
5.0
"Blue de la Cour enjoys her quiet life with her father, passing the days by working in the shop and..."
 
5.0
"The Channeler is the first book in a new YA fantasy series written by William H. Kline IV. Tommy,..."