Race the Wild #1: Rain Forest Relay

Race the Wild #1: Rain Forest Relay

 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
1539   0
Write Review
Race the Wild #1: Rain Forest Relay
Genre(s)
Age Range
6+
Release Date
April 28, 2015
ISBN
9780545773539
Buy This Book
      
When Russell entered the race, he knew it was going to be a wild ride. Especially the first race course! He'd been studying up on the Amazon's animals and culture forever. But nothing could prepare him or his teammates for what they'd find in the rain forest: raging rapids, poisonous venom, and sneaky competitors who'd do anything to win. Can the red team work together to make it to the finish line in one piece? Each chapter in this action-packed adventure series is bursting with totally true facts about wild and wonderful creatures, dangerous habitats, maps, and more!

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0

Rain forest science adventure

Russell and four of his friends from his flag football team have won a coveted spot on The Wild Life race, where the prize is a million dollars! However, the size of the teams was cut to four, and Russell finds himself separated from his friends and put with three strangers: Mari Soto, who has an encyclopedic knowledge of wild life; Dev Patel, who is great with technology; and Sage, whose go-getting attitude brings the team together. Each team gets clues that need to be followed and instructions of a picture of an animal they must take, and when that is turned in, they get another clue. Russell's friends are cheating a little bit and not being particularly nice when they manage to get an illegal scoop on clues, but Russell and his new group try their best to learn about the creatures in the forest, be respectful of the environment, and work together as a team.

It's nice to see diversity in the characters, and there are a fair number of illustrations in the book that show this diversity.

Russell's sense of dismay when he is assigned to an unknown group is understandable, and the four children are somewhat awkward together at first, which is very true-to-life. Each character brings his or her own assets to the team, and they slowly begin to trust each other and rely on their team. It's also realistic that Russell's friends are working against him, and it's something that readers this age will struggle with themselves.

I especially liked the descriptions of the rain forest, and all of the flora and fauna in it. There are note pages between the chapters that give more information. Since the plants and animals are an integral part of the adventure, these notes seem necessary, instead of like info dumps to make this STEM friendly, and add interest instead of just slowing down the plot. I can see these books being very popular in elementary science classrooms because of this. I learned a lot of things-- the pink Amazon River Dolphin was especially interesting. It's not easy to work science information into a chapter book, but I thought in this case if was handled beautifully.

Readers who enjoy Fish Finelli or Cooper and Packrat will enjoy Russel's trip into the rainforest! It would be a great idea to pair this title with an informational book about rain forests and rain forests creatures.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Summer Bird Blue
A mixed race teen struggles to find her way back...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Starfish
A William C. Morris Award Finalist A New...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Truth Lies Here
In small town Michigan, Penny, an aspiring journalist, teams...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Looking Glass
GIRLS IN TROUBLE. That’s what Sylvie Blake’s older sister...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Something of Substance
Seventeen-year-old Grace Michaels is determined to be thin, even...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Death by the River
SOME TRUTHS ARE BETTER KEPT SECRET. SOME SECRETS...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Soraya: A Wielders of Arantha Prequel
On the planet Elystra, the all-female Ixtrayu tribe have...
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
Scream All Night
A darkly hilarious contemporary realistic young adult novel about...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Touch of Gold
King Midas once had the ability to turn all...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meet the Sky
From award-winning author McCall Hoyle comes a new young adult...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A Dog in King Arthur’s Court (Cavall in Camelot #1)
In Camelot, King Arthur’s dog encounters a world of danger...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Fray
She's been trained for battle but is she ready for...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Emergence (Kindred Ties: Book Two)
The fight for order has only just begun… Fletcher, Ariana...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
All Summer Long.jpg
A coming-of-age middle-grade graphic novel about summer and friendships, written...
 
0.0
 
4.0 (1)
They Say Blue
Caldecott and Printz Honor-winning illustrator Jillian Tamaki brings us a...
 
0.0
 
4.0 (1)
Lady Knight (Crystal Journals) Book 3
Shortlisted 2018-19 "Chocolate Lily Book Award"... ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

The Confidence Code for Girls
 
4.5
"The Confidence Code for Girls is an empowering read every girl should have in their arsenal. So many girls struggle..."
A Few Red Drops: The Chicago Race Riot of 1919
 
5.0
"Hartfield begins her in depth look at the history of the Chicago race riots recounting the events of a simple..."
1968: Today's Authors Explore a Year of Rebellion, Revolution, and Change
 
4.5
"In order for young people to make sense of the current sociopolitical landscape, it is not a bad idea for..."
Life Inside My Mind: 31 Authors Share Their Personal Struggles
 
5.0
"This is a raw, honest portrayal of YA authors struggles with mental health. Thirty-one authors share their stories which include..."
The Nazi Hunters: How a Team of Spies and Survivors Captured the World's Most Notorious Nazi
 
4.0
"Adolf Eichmann orchestrated the removal of thousands of Jews to concentration camps, where many met their deaths. He managed to..."
Boots on the Ground: America's War in Vietnam
 
5.0
"The conflict in Vietnam was horrible, contentious, and defined the 1960s in many ways. In order to give an all-inclusive..."
The Whydah: A Pirate Ship Feared, Wrecked, and Found
 
4.0
"Sandler brings history to life through the myths and legends of the Whydah, an 18th century pirate ship which sank..."
The Girl Guide: 50 Ways to Learn to Love Your Changing Body
 
5.0
"Where was this book when I was a girl? Ibrahim talks about every embarrassing subject tween girls face each..."
This is our Constitution: Discover America with a Gold Star Father
 
5.0
"This is our Constitution is an entertaining and educational text every student—and some adults—should read. The passion and profound respect..."
The Kidult Handbook: From Blanket Forts to Capture the Flag, a Grownup's Guide to Playing Like a Kid
 
5.0
"THE KIDULT HANDBOOK is the perfect book to pull out on a boring day. It is packed with fun activities..."
Two Truths and a Lie: Histories and Mysteries
 
4.0
"'Two Truths and a Lie: Histories and Mysteries' by Ammi-Joan Paquette and Laurie Ann Thompson is a fun read, chock..."
Things to Do Before You're 30: The Try-It Out, Get-It-Done, Live-It-Up List!
 
4.0
"When I heard about the book THINGS TO DO BEFORE YOU’RE 30 by Jessica Misener, I knew I had to..."
Boots on the Ground: America's War in Vietnam
 
5.0
"The conflict in Vietnam was horrible, contentious, and defined the 1960s in many ways. In order to give an all-inclusive..."
No Truth Without Ruth: The Life of Ruth Bader Ginsburg
 
5.0
"As an adult woman, I don’t really remember a time when women couldn’t do the things they wanted to do..."
Votes for Women!: American Suffragists and the Battle for the Ballot
 
4.0
"A candid, comprehensive, and thoroughly researched look at the long fight for women’s rights—spanning nearly a century of history while..."
Fly Girls: The Forgotten Women Airforce Service Pilots of WWII
 
5.0
"While WWI used planes, the technology and use really took off during WWII. It's hard for people today to understand..."
Americanized: Rebel Without a Green Card
 
4.0
"What worked: This memoir is the account of an undocumented teen living in the US during the 90s. She gives..."
Journeys: Young Readers’ Letters to Authors Who Changed Their Lives
 
5.0
"Journeys is a collection of letters from the “Letters About Literature” program sponsored by the Library of Congress Center for..."
Sweet Revenge: Passive-Aggressive Desserts for Your Exes & Enemies
 
5.0
"This cookbook hits the perfect balance of being as entertaining to read as it is delicious to cook out of!..."
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
 
3.5
""Stay Strong. Love endlessly. Change lives." --Amy Bleuel This suicide and mental illness awareness collection is made..."