Books Kids Fiction Mesmerizing Math

Mesmerizing Math Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/12/dd/ff/mesmerizing-math-32-1382622025.jpg
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
452   0
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Age Range
8+
Release Date
August 06, 2013
ISBN
978-0763668815
Buy This Book
      

With pop-ups, spinners, booklets, flaps, and even a wrecking ball, this book explains how math is at the heart of everyday life. Discover the secret of the Mona Lisa, make your own never-ending shape, and learn a number so big it couldn't possibly be written out in full. A world of mathematical merriment awaits!

Editor reviews

I am completely blown away by this book. This book kept my family busy for hours! With tons of facts, explanations and fun to-do's, this book is sure to please even the youngest (and oldest) of math lovers. Even those who are not fans of math will find something in this book that they find interesting. I loved being able to lift the flaps and read about data collection, the fibonacci's sequence, Geometry, and percentages. What an awesome learning tool that's fun for everyone!

This book is a MUST have for any classroom. I seriously want to buy this book for my children's classrooms at school. The title doesn't lie. You will be mesmerized by this book!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Jillian Van Leer Reviewed by Jillian Van Leer October 24, 2013
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (304)

INCREDIBLE!

I am completely blown away by this book. This book kept my family busy for hours! With tons of facts, explanations and fun to-do's, this book is sure to please even the youngest (and oldest) of math lovers. Even those who are not fans of math will find something in this book that they find interesting. I loved being able to lift the flaps and read about data collection, the fibonacci's sequence, Geometry, and percentages. What an awesome learning tool that's fun for everyone!

This book is a MUST have for any classroom. I seriously want to buy this book for my children's classrooms at school. The title doesn't lie. You will be mesmerized by this book!

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

  • It's live!! Cover Reveal: The Mirror King by Jodi Meadows + Giveaway (US Only)

    Welcome to another fabulous cover reveal, YABC! Today we're super excited to celebrate the cover reveal for THE MIRROR KING by Jodi Meadows, releasing April 5, 2016 from Katherine Tegen Books/HarperCollins Publishers. Before we get to the cover, here's a note from Jodi:   ...

  • What's New in YA

      Are you wondering what's new in YA today? Check out these wonderful new releases!       When you’re in love with the wrong person for the right reasons, anything could happen. Tretch lives in a very small town where everybody's in everybody else ...

  • Books Aren't Dangerous Campaign

      Do you remember that book that changed your life as a reader, or maybe just your life in general? You do? That’s great!        Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl, authors of the BEAUTIFUL CREATURES series, have started a campaign called BOOKS AREN’T DANG ...

  • TOMORROWLAND - Drive Through Movie Review

    **********NO SPOILERS************ The Nerd Riders, Kristin and Clint, give their thoughts on the new Disney film TOMORROWLAND.    QUESTION: If you could go to an alternate universe what would you want to see there? ...

  • It's live!! Cover Reveal: The Secret Side of Empty by Maria E. Andreu + Giveaway (US/Canada)

    Hi, YABC! Today we're super excited to celebrate the cover reveal for THE SECRET SIDE OF EMPTY by Maria E. Andreu, releasing September 1, 2015 from Running Press. Before we get to the cover, here's a note from Maria:   YABC Readers!  I’m so excited to share the pape ...

  • May 2015 YABC Book Haul

    Hey YABCers! Once again, our office has been innundated with books, books, and  more BOOKS! We've run out of shelf space which can only mean one thing .... it's time for the May Book Haul! Enjoy the video and let us know in the comments which books you can't wait to add to your TBR. &nbs ...

  • It's live!! Cover Reveal: Insidious by Dawn Metcalf + Giveaway (US/Canada)

    Hello, YABC! Today we're super excited to celebrate the cover reveal for INSIDIOUS by Dawn Metcalf, releasing August 25, 2015 from Harlequin TEEN. Before we get to the cover, here's a note from Dawn:   You know when you finish a story, you never really finish because there' ...

  • What's New in YA

      Are you wondering what's new in YA today? Check out these wonderful new releases!       A School for Unusual Girls is the first captivating installment in the Stranje House series for young adults by award-winning author Kathleen Baldwin. #1 New York ...

  • The Librarian's Corner

      This month's theme for the Librarian's corner is all about picture books you can share with teens! Picture books aren't just for kids and babies anymore. In fact, teens love storytime too!    For May, I am featuring some of my favorite picture books to share ...

  • The Greater Rochester Teen Book Festival

        The Greater Rochester Teen Book Festival--TBF 2015 Contributed by Kayla King, Blog Manager and Staff Reviewer   Here at Young Adult Books Central, we LOVE YA! Fortunately for us, The Greater Rochester Book Festival held at Nazareth Collge devotes itself to s ...

  • Giveaway: If You Feel Too Much by Jamie Tworkowski (US Only)

    If You Feel Too Much: Thoughts on Things Found and Lost and Hoped For By Jamie Tworkowski Release Date: May 26, 2015   About the Book In 2006 Jamie Tworkowski wrote a story called “To Write Love on Her Arms” about helping a friend through her struggle with drug addiction, ...

  • Giveaway: Nova by Margaret Fortune (US Only)

    Nova by Margaret Fortune   Release Date: June 2nd   About the Book *36:00:00* The clock activates so suddenly in my mind, my head involuntarily jerks a bit to the side. The fog vanishes, dissipated in an instant as though it never was. Memories come slotting ...

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Seventeen-year-old Dyna comes from a long line of risk-takers and is an avid thrill-seeker in her own right, until she...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Catherine Linka, the sequel and explosive conclusion to A Girl Called Fearless. Having survived a violent confrontation with the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When sixteen-year-old Tess Kendrick is sent to live with her older sister, Ivy, she has no idea that the infamous...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
TheEscape.jpg
Not everyone who goes into the woods comes out.... It was supposed to be a short hike, a way for...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The realities of teen prostitution are revealed in this eye-opening, heartbreaking story from the author of America, which Booklist called...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The_Dogst.jpg
Out of the corner of my eye, I catch something moving by the barn. When I look, it disappears. Wait....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A stunning re-imagining of Robin Hood, the first in an exciting new trilogy Forget everything you've ever heard about Robin...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A summer romance filled with danger and lies Jane is ready for a fantastic summer. In fact, she’s pretty sure...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fans of Pretty Little Liars and L.A. Candy will devour this fast-paced series from a writer New York Times bestselling...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mina is seventeen. A virgin. And pregnant. Mina is top of her class, girlfriend to the most ambitious guy in...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“I loved CHARMED . . . I couldn't turn the pages fast enough!” raves Amy Tintera, author of Reboot, of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Pagan Jones went from America's sweetheart to fallen angel in one fateful night in 1960: the night a car accident...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
An unforgettable new series from acclaimed author Katie McGarry about taking risks, opening your heart and ending up in a...
 
0.0
 
4.7 (1)
Category: Kids Fiction
A war torn country - a town that is burning. A single ship waits at the port for those who...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The sequel to the highly praised and intricately plotted Nearly Gone--a YA urban mystery that's perfect for fans of Bones,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sustain the weak. Destroy the strong . A dark fable in the vein of Animal Farm, Watership Down, and The...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
John Green's The Fault in Our Stars meets Rainbow Rowell's Eleanor & Park in this darkly funny novel from the...
 
0.0
 
3.7 (1)
Acclaimed writer Margo Rabb's Kissing in America is "a wonderful novel about friendship, love, travel, life, hope, poetry, intelligence, and...
 
0.0
 
2.7 (1)
Given the way love turned her heart in the New York Times bestselling To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
There’s school, and then there’s the real world. If you’re lucky enough to survive the first, you owe it to...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)