Books Kids Fiction Mesmerizing Math

Mesmerizing Math Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/12/dd/ff/mesmerizing-math-32-1382622025.jpg
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
474   0
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Age Range
8+
Release Date
August 06, 2013
ISBN
978-0763668815
Buy This Book
      

With pop-ups, spinners, booklets, flaps, and even a wrecking ball, this book explains how math is at the heart of everyday life. Discover the secret of the Mona Lisa, make your own never-ending shape, and learn a number so big it couldn't possibly be written out in full. A world of mathematical merriment awaits!

Editor reviews

I am completely blown away by this book. This book kept my family busy for hours! With tons of facts, explanations and fun to-do's, this book is sure to please even the youngest (and oldest) of math lovers. Even those who are not fans of math will find something in this book that they find interesting. I loved being able to lift the flaps and read about data collection, the fibonacci's sequence, Geometry, and percentages. What an awesome learning tool that's fun for everyone!

This book is a MUST have for any classroom. I seriously want to buy this book for my children's classrooms at school. The title doesn't lie. You will be mesmerized by this book!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Jillian Van Leer Reviewed by Jillian Van Leer October 24, 2013
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (304)

INCREDIBLE!

I am completely blown away by this book. This book kept my family busy for hours! With tons of facts, explanations and fun to-do's, this book is sure to please even the youngest (and oldest) of math lovers. Even those who are not fans of math will find something in this book that they find interesting. I loved being able to lift the flaps and read about data collection, the fibonacci's sequence, Geometry, and percentages. What an awesome learning tool that's fun for everyone!

This book is a MUST have for any classroom. I seriously want to buy this book for my children's classrooms at school. The title doesn't lie. You will be mesmerized by this book!

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

  • It's live!! Cover Reveal: How It Ends by Catherine Lo + Giveaway (International)

    We have another great cover reveal for you, YABC! Today we're super excited to celebrate the cover reveal for HOW IT ENDS by Catherine Lo, releasing June 7, 2016 from Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Books for Young Readers. Before we get to the cover, here's a note from Catherine:   ...

  • What's New in YA

      Are you wondering what's new in YA today? Check out these wonderful new releases!     When high school senior Kelsey’s identical twin sister, Michelle, dies in a car crash, Kelsey is left without her other half. The only person who doesn’t know about the trag ...

  • Giveaway: Damage Done by Amanda Panitch (US & Canada Only)

    DAMAGE DONE by Amanda Panitch Release Date: 7/21/2015     About the Book Family can be a real killer. DAMAGE DONE is a gripping YA debut about a girl trying to escape the past. In this deliciously disturbing, heart-in-your-throat psychological thriller, the tru ...

  • Diversify Your Shelves with WNDB

      Column by Maurene Goo   Maybe it’s because Comic Con is around the corner, or just the general languor that settles in when it’s hot—but summer always makes me want to crack into a good graphic novel and just completely escape. So here ar ...

  • Giveaway: 5 Seconds of Summer: All Exposed by Mick O'Shea (US & Canada Only)

    5 Seconds of Summer: All Exposed by Mick O’Shea Release Date: 10/07/2015   About the Book They've toured with One Direction and scored international super-hits in more than 50 countries across the globe but 5 Seconds of Summer are more than just another boy band. Like ...

  • Giveaway: The Princess & the Pony by Kate Beaton (US Only)

    THE PRINCESS AND THE PONY by Kate Beaton In stores June 30th   About the Book Princess Pinecone knows exactly what she wants for her birthday this year. A BIG horse. A STRONG horse. A horse fit for a WARRIOR PRINCESS! But when the day arrives, she doesn't quite get the ...

  • Giveaway: The Star Side of Bird Hill by Naomi Jackson (US Only)

    The Star Side of Bird Hill by Naomi Jackson   Release Date: 6/30/15   About the Book Summer, 1989: Sixteen-year-old Dionne Braithwaite and her younger sister Phaedra have just arrived in Bird Hill in Barbados. Sent from Brooklyn by their mother after she can no longe ...

  • Giveaway: Siren's Fury by Mary Weber (US Only)

    Siren’s Fury by Mary Weber Release Date: June 2, 2015   About the Book “I thrust my hand toward the sky as my voice begs the Elemental inside me to waken and rise. But it’s no use. The curse I’ve spent my entire life abhorring—the thing I trained so hard to control—no ...

  • Giveaway: Paperweight by Meg Haston (US Only)

    PAPERWEIGHT by Meg Haston   Release Date: July 7, 2015   About the Book In the vein of Laurie Halse Anderson's Wintergirls, this emotionally haunting and beautifully written young adult debut delves into the devastating impact of trauma and loss. Seventeen-ye ...

  • Giveaway: Wanted Series by Erin Johnson (US Only)

    About the Books   WANTED: Grace and the Guiltless (Book 1) by Erin Johnson Release Date: August 1, 2014 As the first book in the new young-adult series Wanted, Grace and the Guiltless is an edge-of-your-seat, gripping thrill ride. Set in the Wild West, the book pigg ...

  • Giveaway: Becoming Darkness by Lindsay Brambles (US & Canada Only)

    Becoming Darkness by Lindsay Brambles Release Date: October 1, 2015     About the Book Becoming Darkness is a dark, action-filled tale set in an alternate twenty-first century in which Hitler won World War II, our modern technologies never evolved, and the Nazi ...

  • Giveaway: Alive by Chandler Baker (US Only)

    ALIVE   by Chandler Baker Release Date: June 9, 2015     About the Book Stella Cross's heart is poisoned. After years on the transplant waiting list, she's running out of hope that she'll ever see her eighteenth birthday. Then, miraculously, Stella re ...

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

51iGVDfpBrL._SX327_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the tradition of Sharon Creech and Wendy Mass, Corey Ann Haydu's sparkling middle grade debut is a sister story...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
51VpiSn2KKL._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
An engrossing fantasy, a high-seas adventure, an alternate history epic—this is the richly imagined and gorgeously realized new book from...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
51sUO9Zx62L._SX337_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
Ronan Truelove barely survived his first encounter with his father and the Bend Sinister. Now, he’s determined to become one...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Eva has always wanted to write a modern classic—one that actually appeals to her generation. The only problem is that...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
That sweaty, gut-clenching, suffocating, racing-heart feeling... that dull, never-ending sense that something's wrong. What is it? Anxiety, which together with...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twin sisters Kelsey and Michelle Maxfield look identical -- but they couldn't be more different. Kelsey is the captain of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Your day starts at 6 a.m. and ends at midnight -- if you're lucky. You keep up with all two...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Many people experience depression at one time or another in their lives, but during the adolescent years, the vast number...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mental Health Information for Teens, Fourth Edition: Health Tips About Mental Wellness and Mental Illness, Including Facts About Recognizing and...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Making a difficult topic easier to comprehend, "Heads Up Psychology" offers big ideas, simply explained, for teen readers. Psychology is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Practice Makes Perfect. Everyone at Hundred Oaks High knows that career mentoring day is a joke....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
The first book in an epic new series for fans of The School for Good and Evil and The Land...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
*36:00:00* The clock activates so suddenly in my mind, my head involuntarily jerks a bit to...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gone Girl meets 13 Reasons Why in this stylish, sexy, and atmospheric story about friendship packed...
 
4.0 (2)
 
2.7 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Paper in the Wind is a compassionate and riveting story depicting a single father’s dedication to his daughter. In the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
THE CLIMATE IS CHANGING. Thousands are fleeing the chaos and social unrest. “You could almost imagine everything was like...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
THE CLIMATE IS CHANGING. Thousands are fleeing the chaos and social unrest. With their own water and power supplies, fourteen...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Zane is not that interested in the Gollywhopper Games. He'd rather play football and is sure that he's headed straight...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Chock-full of puzzles, riddles, and challenges for the reader to solve along with the main characters, this fast-paced companion to...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
On his twelfth birthday, Archie Greene receives a mysterious package containing an ancient book in a language he doesn't recognize....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)