Escape from Silver Street Farm

Escape from Silver Street Farm Featured

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
900   0
Write Review
silver.jpg
Author(s)
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Age Range
6+
Release Date
March 26, 2013
ISBN
978-0763661335
Buy This Book
      
It’s opening day at Silver Street Farm, and Meera, Gemma, and Karl are very excited. Everything is going to plan until the star attractions — the turkeys — go missing along with Bobo and Bitzi, the Silver Street sheep. It takes a lot of detective work (and the enlistment of a pushy ram named Kenny), but the children finally track down the escapees and find the culprits. What they discover are two very surprising turkey rustlers indeed!

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0

Animals Gone Wild

This is the sequel to Welcome to Silver Street Farm, and the second in a series of six books. With the help of farmer Flora, the children are getting ready to open their urban farm to the public, but find that the turkeys and two of the sheep have been set free. It takes some comical effort to track them down, and also to find out who deliberately removed fence board so the animals could escape. The children have quite the adventure saving the turkeys from going over a dam in a bouncy castle and finding the rampaging sheep.

Good Points
This is a fun series for beginning readers who like animals. The idea of setting up a farm in the city is an appealing one, and the children have a lot of responsibility. The way that the people who let the animals loose are dealt with is very kind. The adults are supportive. There is even a bit of multiculturalism, with Meera's family provided some yummy Indian sweets. The illustrations add to the fun.
Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

   

   

   

   

   

   

   

    

 

Latest Book Listings Added

Lily and Dunkin
For readers who enjoyed Wonder and Counting by 7's, award-winning...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Secret Daughter of the Tsar
A compelling alternate history of the Romanov family in which...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Science Experiments You Can Eat
With revised and updated material, a brand-new look, and hours...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
"MouseStar 1" is surrounded by floating space junk! It's yucky...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The famouse opera singer Violetta von Cacklefur is in Gloomeria...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Thea Sisters are visiting a friend in sunny California...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Fault In Our Stars
Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Wandering Wild
"I believe in possibility. Of magic, of omens, of compasses,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Hello, My Name Is Tiger
A reassuring picture book for back-to-school jitters! ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Read Me Like A Book
In her first novel for young adults, New York Times...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What This Story Needs Is a Hush and a Shush
Join Pig in another fun read-aloud adventure on the farm...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Camp Dork (Pack of Dorks #2)
Lucy and her pack are back, in this sequel to...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Where She Went (If I Stay #2)
It's been three years since the devastating accident . ....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dill & Bizzy: An Odd Duck and a Strange Bird
Dill is a duck. A perfectly ordinary duck. At least...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Shadow Hour (The Girl at Midnight #2)
verything in Echo's life changed in a blinding flash when...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Replica
Gemma has been in and out of hospitals since she...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)