The Planet Thieves (The Planet Thieves #1)

The Planet Thieves (The Planet Thieves #1)

Featured
 
4.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
1598   0
Write Review
The Planet Thieves (The Planet Thieves #1)
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
10+
Release Date
May 21, 2013
ISBN
978-0765334282
Buy This Book
      
Two weeks ago, thirteen-year-old Mason Stark and seventeen of his fellow cadets from the Academy for Earth Space Command boarded the SS Egypt. The trip was supposed to be a short routine voyage to log their required spacetime for summer quarter. But routine goes out the airlock when they’re attacked by the Tremist, an alien race who have been at war with humanity for the last sixty years. With the captain and crew dead, injured, or taken prisoner, Mason and the cadets are all that’s left to warn the ESC. And soon they find out exactly why the Tremist chose this ship to attack: the Egypt is carrying a weapon that could change the war forever. Now Mason will have to lead the cadets in a daring assault to take back the ship, rescue the survivors, and recover the weapon. Before there isn’t a war left to fight.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0  (2)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

Sci Fi Nerds, This One's for You!

What I loved:
Though marketed as a middle grade novel, do not let the age of the protagonists scare you away if you're an older reader. Krokos' sophomore novel is well-written and does not speak down to the audience. I loved Krokos' debut, False Memory, and he's hit it out of the park once again. The Planet Thieves is funny, full of adventure, and packed with delightful characters.

Novels for children and teens are full of absent parents and authority figures. This construct allows for young people to feel empowered, the weight of the world on their shoulders. Only these kids can save the day and all that. Well, Krokos does use this basic plot structure. At the beginning of The Planet Thieves, the SS Egypt is attacked by humanity's enemy, the Tremist. All of the adults on the ship but one are captured or killed, leaving the cadets, thirteen and under to save the day.

Krokos does a great job making this believable. Though the cadets are young, they are by no means out of their element entirely. They've already been in training for years, and have the skill sets they need to perform the tasks they need to, though they may not be as good as the adults yet. Also, they don't come by anything too easily. They suffer injuries, frequently consider giving up and waiting for adults to handle everything, and are stressed rather than excited by the roles they find themselves in.

That said, the cadets really rise to the occasion. The one remaining adult on the Egypt is injured, so he names Mason captain, which ends up being a great choice. Mason isn't the most talented or brilliant of the trainees, but he's creative, something he'd ill-advisedly shown in his pranks. Rather than ever giving up, his mind is always churning for solutions, and most of his ideas turn out to be good ones, though some do go awry.

The characters are likable and exhibit complexities. For example, the friendships between these cadets are tentative, so they also have to work to trust one another implicitly while facing odds they never should have been left alone to face. The villains too are much more complex than in most books for younger readers. They're not left as monsters out to destroy for the fun of it, and I love when authors take the time to establish motivations and shades of grey in the actions of the antagonists.

Another aspect that makes this book a delight are all of the references. Science fiction nerds will likely pick out even more than I did, as I'm not nearly as well read as I would like to be. Most overt perhaps are references to Star Wars and Star Trek. However, though there are cute allusions, the overall story was fresh and original.

What Left Me Wanting More:
The ending was perhaps a bit rushed.

The Final Verdict:
The ending leaves space open for more books in this world, and I, for one, would be excited to read more. I'd love to find out more about Mason and Merrin, especially. Dan Krokos' The Planet Thieves is a novel that lovers of science fiction will not want to miss, whatever their age!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0

A Strong MG SciFI

The Planet Thieves is a strong middle grade debut from author Dan Krokos. With it's intriguing premise and unique way it entwines a typical school story with that of saving the world, The Planet Thieves was a treat.

I really enjoyed the characters, particularly the female characters. Both Merrin and Susan were both just really well rounded characters and I loved how loyal they were to their cause. The rivalry between Tom and Mason really added to both of their character as well.

While I did really enjoy all the specifics of the premise, I never completely fell in love with the story line. There were some parts I just wanted to be pushed a little further. Dan Krokos's world building is completely solid - the way he incorporated magic and the different galaxies was really neat.

There are super cool sketches throughout the book which really add to the story. They helped to solidify what these different elements and beings Dan Krokos introduces in the story.

While this one was not as strong as Dan Krokos's YA series, I still thought it was a solid start. I loved the high stakes throughout the book and the fact that he doesn't offer security to anyone really.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Serafina and the Splintered Heart
The storms are coming... Something has happened to Serafina. She...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
The Little Book of Little Activists
A celebration of political activism by America's youngest citizens--our children....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Together at Midnight
What does it really mean to be kind . ....
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Fuecho Y Pablo
Pablo's attempt to get his best friend Ugly Cat a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Little i
A charming, suspenseful, and wholly original picture book about the...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Dragonfly Song
The girl has had many selves in her short life....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
For fans of PostSecret, Humans of New York, and If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
An East Asian fantasy reimagining of The Evil Queen legend...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Murder Among the Stars
After being framed for attempted murder, Lulu Kelly has...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Christmas Stories
Join the original pioneer girl in this Little House chapter...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Somebody's Baby
Ever since Sloan won a reality singing competition, her...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Enhanced
Seventeen-year-old Mana has found and rescued her mother, but...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
DC Super Heroes World's Greatest Jokes: Featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and more!
Hundreds of laugh-out-loud jokes featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Squishy Taylor and the Bonus Sisters
Why does Squishy have to share everything with her new...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Wood
After her father goes missing in the woods that...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
release.jpg
nspired by Judy Blume’s Forever and Virginia Woolf’s Mrs....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Genuine Fraud
 
3.3
"GENUINE FRAUD by E. Lockhart is a character-driven thriller that is told in reverse chronological order. In essence, the book..."
Together at Midnight
 
3.3
"A cute and bittersweet story of young love at the wrong time. The story: Kendall has just returned..."
The Thousandth Floor
 
4.0
"Everything about this book is so glamorous, dramatic, and intriguing. Right down to that stunning cover. Katharine McGee..."
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
 
3.3
"It took me a long time to finish Forest of a Thousand Lanterns, but overall, this book turned out to..."
Wonder Woman: Warbringer (DC Icons #1)
 
5.0
"I finally got a chance to sit down and read this one and I was not disappointed. It definitely..."
The Girl in the Tower
 
4.7
"This follow up to The Bear and the Nightingale is just as stunning as its predecessor. We met Vasya as..."
When Dimple Met Rishi
 
3.3
"A contemporary YA romance—heavy on the romance—with an Indian-American take on the attraction of opposites. The story is told..."
It's Not Me, It's You
 
3.7
"'It's Not Me, It's You' by Stephanie Kate Strohm provides a unique and somewhat irregular look into the dynamics of..."
You're Weird: A Creative Journal for Misfits, Oddballs, and Anyone Else Who's Uniquely Awesome
 
5.0
"'You're Weird: A Creative Journal for Misfits, Oddballs, and Anyone Else Who's Uniquely Awesome' by Kate Peterson will allow anyone..."
The Riddle (Pellinor #2)
 
4.7
"THE RIDDLE by Alison Croggon is the second in the author's Pellinor series, and it picks up right where book..."
A Taxonomy of Love
 
3.3
"A story of love that spans a childhood. The story: Spencer is a lonely boy with Tourette's when he..."
The Selection Coloring Book
 
4.0
"Selection fans get excited! THE SELECTION COLORING BOOK, based on the series by Kiera Cass, is getting ready to celebrate..."
The Memory of Things
 
4.0
"When I first found out that THE MEMORY OF THINGS by Gae Polisner was set in the immediate days following..."
Mean Girls
 
4.0
"MEAN GIRLS (2004), the cult film phenomenon starring Lindsay Lohan, Rachel McAdams, Amanda Seyfried, and Tina Fey, is now a..."
Dune (Dune Chronicles #1)
 
5.0
"Its a classic. Not much more I can add."
On A LARP
 
3.3
"In ON A LARP, Sid is known to be a hacker after a past school prank, and she's a good..."
Code Name Verity
 
4.3
"The year is 1943. The setting locations are England, and Nazi-occupied France. The book is told in a..."
Good and Gone
 
3.7
"Road tripping with a purpose, Good and Bad is a journey, the reader won't soon forget. Lexi's brother,..."
Glow
 
5.0
"'There's a certain kind of light that I should have been afraid of all along.' Radium was discovered..."
Release
 
4.0
"Wildly original--and completely realistic--Release is a whirlwind of a tale, one that will leave you both completely confused, yet satiated...."