A New Home for Lily (The Adventures of Lily Lapp #2)

A New Home for Lily (The Adventures of Lily Lapp #2) Featured

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
851   0
Write Review
A New Home for Lily (The Adventures of Lily Lapp #2)
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Publisher
Age Range
8+
Release Date
February 01, 2013
ISBN
0800721330
Buy This Book
      
Lily Lapp is moving with her family to Pennsylvania to join a new Amish community. In this small town where changes--and newcomers--are greeted with suspicion, Lily must adjust to a new school, new friends, and Aaron Yoder, an annoying boy who teases her relentlessly. Still, there are exciting new developments, including an attic full of adventure and a new baby brother. But why, Lily wonders, can't God bring her just one sister?

The second novel in the charming Adventures of Lily Lapp series, A New Home for Lily gives children ages 8-12 a fascinating glimpse into the life of the Amish--and lots of fun and laughter along the way. It combines the real-life stories of growing up Amish from Mary Ann Kinsinger and the bestselling writing of Amish fiction and nonfiction author Suzanne Woods Fisher. With line illustrations throughout, this series is sure to capture the hearts of readers young and old.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

Amish Charm

This story reminded me of the Little House on the Prairie books. The chapters are very episodic, and the main focus of the book is to show the reader pieces of the Amish lifestyle through the life experiences of Lily Lapp. The Amish culture, schooling, and farming lifestyle are depicted in ways a young reader can easily envision. Every aspect, from the unique medical remedies, to the one room schoolhouse, to the way church is held in someone's home each week, is colorful and vivid.

While the Amish life is depicted in fantastic detail, the emotional repercussions of that lifestyle are often dealt with in a sentence or two and then ignored. For example, when Lily finds a doll in the attic of her new home and is promised that she can keep it once her mother makes appropriate Amish attire for the doll, Lily and the reader spend pages anticipating playing with the doll. Then Lily's grandmother intervenes and pronounces it sinful to play with a doll that has a real plastic face, and so Lily's parents break their promise to Lily so that they won't offend her grandmother. There's a deeper lesson there about the Amish belief system and about their cultural values in relation to honoring their elders, but it isn't addressed. And Lily's parents spend very little time consoling Lily. In fact, most of the time when Lily is upset by something (bullying at school, disappointment over the doll, and other issues), her parents deal with the matter in a sentence or two and then it's over. I would've loved to see more emotional depth in a book that is so rich in culture and tradition.

That being said, this story had a distinct charm that young readers will certainly gravitate toward. Lily's longings are similar to that of any young reader, but her lifestyle is different and that will surely draw in the reader's interest and make examining a difficult situation in the reader's own life a bit easier to do. There are strong themes of the importance of family, the pains of growing up, and the awkwardness of being the new kid in town.

With the episodic style of Little House on the Prairie books and a detailed, vivid look at the Amish lifestyle, A NEW HOME FOR LILY is sure to draw many young readers.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

   

   

   

  

   

   

    

  

   

 

Latest Book Listings Added

cover60900-medium.png
Toby's sister and baby brother love their schools - they...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Every Exquisite Thing
Nanette O'Hare is an unassuming teen who has played the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Emma and Julia Love Ballet
Emma is little. Julia is big. They both love...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Blobfish Book
Perfect for fans of Battle Bunny and Z Is for...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Empire of Storms (Throne of Glass #5)
The long path to the throne has only just begun...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gemina (The Illuminae Files #2)
The highly anticipated sequel to the instant New York Times...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Crooked Kingdom (Six of Crows #2)
Kaz Brekker and his crew have just pulled off a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ask Me How I Got Here
Addie has always known what she was running toward. In...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Last Time We Were Us
A passionate summer love story about a girl, her childhood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Way Back To You
In this witty, heart-tugging novel, two teens take a spontaneous...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What Happens Now
"I know what it is to want something so badly,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
All I Need
The last night of summer is only the beginning. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Occasional Diamond Thief
What if you learned your father was a thief?...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Salarian Desert Game
What if someone you love gambled on her life? ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Truth About Forever
A long, hot summer... That's what Macy...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“The mother I knew would never do those things. ...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)