Books Kids Fiction A New Home For Lily (The Adventures of Lily Lapp #2)

A New Home For Lily (The Adventures of Lily Lapp #2) Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/a2/7c/83/_000-1364611050.jpeg
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
358   0
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Publisher
Age Range
8+
Release Date
February 01, 2013
ISBN
0800721330
Buy This Book
      
Lily Lapp is moving with her family to Pennsylvania to join a new Amish community. In this small town where changes--and newcomers--are greeted with suspicion, Lily must adjust to a new school, new friends, and Aaron Yoder, an annoying boy who teases her relentlessly. Still, there are exciting new developments, including an attic full of adventure and a new baby brother. But why, Lily wonders, can't God bring her just one sister?

The second novel in the charming Adventures of Lily Lapp series, A New Home for Lily gives children ages 8-12 a fascinating glimpse into the life of the Amish--and lots of fun and laughter along the way. It combines the real-life stories of growing up Amish from Mary Ann Kinsinger and the bestselling writing of Amish fiction and nonfiction author Suzanne Woods Fisher. With line illustrations throughout, this series is sure to capture the hearts of readers young and old.

Editor reviews

This story reminded me of the Little House on the Prairie books. The chapters are very episodic, and the main focus of the book is to show the reader pieces of the Amish lifestyle through the life experiences of Lily Lapp. The Amish culture, schooling, and farming lifestyle are depicted in ways a young reader can easily envision. Every aspect, from the unique medical remedies, to the one room schoolhouse, to the way church is held in someone's home each week, is colorful and vivid.

While the Amish life is depicted in fantastic detail, the emotional repercussions of that lifestyle are often dealt with in a sentence or two and then ignored. For example, when Lily finds a doll in the attic of her new home and is promised that she can keep it once her mother makes appropriate Amish attire for the doll, Lily and the reader spend pages anticipating playing with the doll. Then Lily's grandmother intervenes and pronounces it sinful to play with a doll that has a real plastic face, and so Lily's parents break their promise to Lily so that they won't offend her grandmother. There's a deeper lesson there about the Amish belief system and about their cultural values in relation to honoring their elders, but it isn't addressed. And Lily's parents spend very little time consoling Lily. In fact, most of the time when Lily is upset by something (bullying at school, disappointment over the doll, and other issues), her parents deal with the matter in a sentence or two and then it's over. I would've loved to see more emotional depth in a book that is so rich in culture and tradition.

That being said, this story had a distinct charm that young readers will certainly gravitate toward. Lily's longings are similar to that of any young reader, but her lifestyle is different and that will surely draw in the reader's interest and make examining a difficult situation in the reader's own life a bit easier to do. There are strong themes of the importance of family, the pains of growing up, and the awkwardness of being the new kid in town.

With the episodic style of Little House on the Prairie books and a detailed, vivid look at the Amish lifestyle, A NEW HOME FOR LILY is sure to draw many young readers.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

Amish Charm

This story reminded me of the Little House on the Prairie books. The chapters are very episodic, and the main focus of the book is to show the reader pieces of the Amish lifestyle through the life experiences of Lily Lapp. The Amish culture, schooling, and farming lifestyle are depicted in ways a young reader can easily envision. Every aspect, from the unique medical remedies, to the one room schoolhouse, to the way church is held in someone's home each week, is colorful and vivid.

While the Amish life is depicted in fantastic detail, the emotional repercussions of that lifestyle are often dealt with in a sentence or two and then ignored. For example, when Lily finds a doll in the attic of her new home and is promised that she can keep it once her mother makes appropriate Amish attire for the doll, Lily and the reader spend pages anticipating playing with the doll. Then Lily's grandmother intervenes and pronounces it sinful to play with a doll that has a real plastic face, and so Lily's parents break their promise to Lily so that they won't offend her grandmother. There's a deeper lesson there about the Amish belief system and about their cultural values in relation to honoring their elders, but it isn't addressed. And Lily's parents spend very little time consoling Lily. In fact, most of the time when Lily is upset by something (bullying at school, disappointment over the doll, and other issues), her parents deal with the matter in a sentence or two and then it's over. I would've loved to see more emotional depth in a book that is so rich in culture and tradition.

That being said, this story had a distinct charm that young readers will certainly gravitate toward. Lily's longings are similar to that of any young reader, but her lifestyle is different and that will surely draw in the reader's interest and make examining a difficult situation in the reader's own life a bit easier to do. There are strong themes of the importance of family, the pains of growing up, and the awkwardness of being the new kid in town.

With the episodic style of Little House on the Prairie books and a detailed, vivid look at the Amish lifestyle, A NEW HOME FOR LILY is sure to draw many young readers.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Young Adult Indie
Music, Discovery, Love. Can one summer make the difference of a lifetime? Zahara is a loner. She's brilliant on the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A bulldog and a poodle learn that family is about love, not appearances in this adorable doggy tale from New...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young sorceress's entire life has been shaped to destroy the empire controlling her world. She could change history. But...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drama and danger abound in this fantasy realm where dukes play a game for the throne,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kevin_Brooks_TheBunkerDiary.jpg
This is the winner of the 2014 Cilip Carnegie Medal. Room meets Lord of the Flies,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Rhiannon Thomas's dazzling debut novel is a spellbinding reimagining of Sleeping Beauty and what happens after...
 
3.3
 
3.3 (1)
Quake_Pulse Novel_.jpg
Fans of I Am Number Four and The Maze Runner will clamor for Quake, the climactic...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Forced to obey her master. Compelled to help her enemy. Determined to free herself. Nalia is a jinni of tremendous...
 
3.0
 
4.3 (1)
the sin eater's daughter.jpg
Seventeen-year-old Twylla lives in the castle. But although she’s engaged to the prince, Twylla isn’t exactly a member of the...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Winner of the SILVER MEDAL in the 2014 Readers' Favorite annual International Award Contest—Category YA Paranormal Romance. Ever since she...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
TheFearfulHeart 500x750.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
The heart must be protected at all costs... but will Cassidy be able to afford the price? Cassidy has distanced...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You know that feeling in the pit of your stomach that stays with you, then tears you apart slowly at...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
A sumptuous and epically told love story inspired by A Thousand and One Nights Every dawn brings horror to a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Life loves a good curveball… Seventeen-year-old Annie Lucas's life is completely upended the moment her dad returns to the major...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Step right up, step right up! Come see one of the most amazing, astounding, stunning, and stupendous wonders of the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Handmaid’s Tale meets Blood Red Road in Glass Arrow, the story of Aya, who lives with a small group...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Indie
Haunted by memories of the past, 16 year old Hayden Heyer (pronounced Higher) lives in a world where she feels...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This is not your average trip to Fairyland… Selkie Stewart has just saved her quasi-boyfriend, Ben, from a fairy prison...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
THE GIRL WHO NEVER WAS is the story of Selkie Stewart, who thinks she’s a totally normal teenager growing up...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Indie
A dragon named Nickerbacher guards a princess "because his papa told him to." However, he practices his jokes on Princess...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)