Books Kids Fiction The Longest Night: A Passover Story

The Longest Night: A Passover Story

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/43/10/d8/_the-longest-night-1364250455.jpg
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
286   0
Author(s)
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Age Range
4+
Release Date
February 12, 2013
ISBN
978-0375869426
Buy This Book
      
Here's a picture book for all Jewish families to read while celebrating Passover. Unlike other Passover picture books that focus on the contemporary celebration of the holiday, or are children's haggadahs, this gorgeous picture book in verse follows the actual story of the Exodus. Told through the eyes of a young slave girl, author Laurel Snyder and illustrator Catia Chien skillfully and gently depict the story of Pharoah, Moses, the 10 plagues, and the parting of the Red Sea in a remarkably accessible way.

This dramatic adventure, set over 3,500 years ago, of a family that endures hardships and ultimately finds freedom is the perfect tool to help young children make sense of the origins of the Passover traditions.

Editor reviews

Ever since I first learned of the story of the Passover (much later than most--at age 19!) I have been enchanted with it. When I saw the cover of this book, told from the perspective of a Jewish girl, I knew I had to read it to my daughters. The poetry is simple but evocative, and the paintings capture the mystery and trepidation that everyone must have felt enduring and observing the ten plagues that fell on the Egyptians before Pharoah set the Hebrews free. Having the story in poetic format just adds to the wonder of these events that occurred so long ago but are so well-remembered by so many of different faiths every year. My favorite line (which is repeated with excellent effect) encompasses the most incredible miracle of all in seven words:

Till the sea was ripped in two.
Till the sea was ripped in two!

A truly fantastic children's book I will be reading again and again to my kids.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

Captivating Storytelling

Ever since I first learned of the story of the Passover (much later than most--at age 19!) I have been enchanted with it. When I saw the cover of this book, told from the perspective of a Jewish girl, I knew I had to read it to my daughters. The poetry is simple but evocative, and the paintings capture the mystery and trepidation that everyone must have felt enduring and observing the ten plagues that fell on the Egyptians before Pharoah set the Hebrews free. Having the story in poetic format just adds to the wonder of these events that occurred so long ago but are so well-remembered by so many of different faiths every year. My favorite line (which is repeated with excellent effect) encompasses the most incredible miracle of all in seven words:

Till the sea was ripped in two.
Till the sea was ripped in two!

A truly fantastic children's book I will be reading again and again to my kids.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Kids Fiction
Tori Porter is best friends with her mom, and most of the time it’s awesome. Not many girls have a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
London's Youngest detective is back . . . Darkus Knightley, tweed-wearing, megabrained, fiercely logical thirteen-year-old investigator of the weird, was...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
When Ari’s mother died four years ago, she had two final wishes: that Ari and her older brother, Gage, would...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A boy hunter, the president of the United States, and a terrorist plot converge to create an original and thrilling...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Rory and her friends are reeling from a series of sudden and tragic events. While racked with grief, Rory tries...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
For the most part, aspiring screenwriter Jack Bell is just your typical Midwestern kid. He’s got a crush on his...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Caden Bosch is on a ship that's headed for the deepest point on Earth: Challenger Deep, the southern part of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Evie is living on borrowed time. She was diagnosed with terminal cancer several months ago and told that by now...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Skillfully blending multiple story strands that transcend time and place, award-winning Grasshopper Jungle author Andrew Smith chronicles the story of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Music, Discovery, Love. Can one summer make the difference of a lifetime? Zahara is a loner. She's brilliant on the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A bulldog and a poodle learn that family is about love, not appearances in this adorable doggy tale from New...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young sorceress's entire life has been shaped to destroy the empire controlling her world. She could change history. But...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drama and danger abound in this fantasy realm where dukes play a game for the throne,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kevin_Brooks_TheBunkerDiary.jpg
This is the winner of the 2014 Cilip Carnegie Medal. Room meets Lord of the Flies,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Rhiannon Thomas's dazzling debut novel is a spellbinding reimagining of Sleeping Beauty and what happens after...
 
3.3
 
3.3 (1)
Quake_Pulse Novel_.jpg
Fans of I Am Number Four and The Maze Runner will clamor for Quake, the climactic...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Forced to obey her master. Compelled to help her enemy. Determined to free herself. Nalia is a jinni of tremendous...
 
3.0
 
4.3 (1)
the sin eater's daughter.jpg
Seventeen-year-old Twylla lives in the castle. But although she’s engaged to the prince, Twylla isn’t exactly a member of the...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Winner of the SILVER MEDAL in the 2014 Readers' Favorite annual International Award Contest—Category YA Paranormal Romance. Ever since she...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
TheFearfulHeart 500x750.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
The heart must be protected at all costs... but will Cassidy be able to afford the price? Cassidy has distanced...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)