Books Kids Fiction The Longest Night: A Passover Story

The Longest Night: A Passover Story

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/43/10/d8/_the-longest-night-1364250455.jpg
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
202   0
Author(s)
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Age Range
4+
Release Date
February 12, 2013
ISBN
978-0375869426
Buy This Book
      
Here's a picture book for all Jewish families to read while celebrating Passover. Unlike other Passover picture books that focus on the contemporary celebration of the holiday, or are children's haggadahs, this gorgeous picture book in verse follows the actual story of the Exodus. Told through the eyes of a young slave girl, author Laurel Snyder and illustrator Catia Chien skillfully and gently depict the story of Pharoah, Moses, the 10 plagues, and the parting of the Red Sea in a remarkably accessible way.

This dramatic adventure, set over 3,500 years ago, of a family that endures hardships and ultimately finds freedom is the perfect tool to help young children make sense of the origins of the Passover traditions.

Editor reviews

Ever since I first learned of the story of the Passover (much later than most--at age 19!) I have been enchanted with it. When I saw the cover of this book, told from the perspective of a Jewish girl, I knew I had to read it to my daughters. The poetry is simple but evocative, and the paintings capture the mystery and trepidation that everyone must have felt enduring and observing the ten plagues that fell on the Egyptians before Pharoah set the Hebrews free. Having the story in poetic format just adds to the wonder of these events that occurred so long ago but are so well-remembered by so many of different faiths every year. My favorite line (which is repeated with excellent effect) encompasses the most incredible miracle of all in seven words:

Till the sea was ripped in two.
Till the sea was ripped in two!

A truly fantastic children's book I will be reading again and again to my kids.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

Captivating Storytelling

Ever since I first learned of the story of the Passover (much later than most--at age 19!) I have been enchanted with it. When I saw the cover of this book, told from the perspective of a Jewish girl, I knew I had to read it to my daughters. The poetry is simple but evocative, and the paintings capture the mystery and trepidation that everyone must have felt enduring and observing the ten plagues that fell on the Egyptians before Pharoah set the Hebrews free. Having the story in poetic format just adds to the wonder of these events that occurred so long ago but are so well-remembered by so many of different faiths every year. My favorite line (which is repeated with excellent effect) encompasses the most incredible miracle of all in seven words:

Till the sea was ripped in two.
Till the sea was ripped in two!

A truly fantastic children's book I will be reading again and again to my kids.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Kids Fiction
Perfect for fans of Margaret Peterson Haddix, When You Reach Me, and Savvy, this charming time-travel story from husband-and-wife team...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Bees.jpg
The Handmaid’s Tale meets The Hunger Games in this brilliantly imagined debut set in an ancient culture where only the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Damian Cass died when he was a teenager at the hands of his own father. A hateful soul afterwards, and...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Gladys Gatsby has been cooking gourmet dishes since the age of seven, only her fast-food-loving parents have no idea! Now...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Becky Thatcher has her side of the story to tell—and it’s a whopper—in this creative spin on Mark Twain’s beloved...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
An all-new, mesmerizing adventure from the masterful Gordon Korman! Jackson Opus has always been persuasive, but he doesn't know that...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Jax Opus knows he's not like other kids. And it isn't his skill on the basketball court or his test...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Jesse is a wide receiver for the freshman team. Can he play against type and help his team as a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Kate’s older sister is way too perfect. Her younger sister is way too cute. And her mom wants her to...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Sarah Robinson is deeply troubled in the wake of her dad’s second marriage. She now has to deal with a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this romantic and evocative fantasy, Najwa is a jinni, training to be a spy in the war against the...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
There’s something strange going on at Washington Irving Elementary School. Kids are turning into monsters—literally! First it was Sebastian, then...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Chase Clark just upped his game. As an eighth grader, he scores the chance to play on the varsity football...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lauren has a secret. Colby has a problem. But when they find each other, everything falls into place. In alternating...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Alek Khederian should have guessed something was wrong when his parents took him to a restaurant. Everyone knows that Armenians...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
When Larissa Renaud starts receiving eerie phone calls on a disconnected old phone in her family's antique shop, she knows...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Can you fall in love with a voice? This witty romance, told entirely through phone calls, chronicles the tale of...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Julia Buchanan enrolls at St. Anne’s at the beginning of junior year, Charlotte Ryder already knows all about the...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Valentina Cruz no longer exists. One moment, she was wrapped in Emilio’s arms, melting into his kiss. The next, she...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Clyde has worked for Mr. Wilkshire for a very long time. Life is comfortable in his keeper's chateau—until Mr. Wilkshire...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)