Books Kids Fiction Trolls vs. Cowboys in the Arctic: (Mega Mash-up)

Trolls vs. Cowboys in the Arctic: (Mega Mash-up) Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/be/3a/7c/_000-1362925839.jpeg
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
372   0
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
6+
Release Date
December 11, 2012
ISBN
0763662712
Buy This Book
      
What if some cool Cowboys and some hairy Trolls wanted to be rich? What if they went digging for gold in the Arctic? What if the ice started to crack and they all floated out to sea? Would they sink without a trace? Or would they come up with a cunning plan? You’ll have to finish the illustrations to find out…

Editor reviews

Trolls vs. Cowboys in the Arctic is another fun installment in the Mega Mash-up series. The illustrations are colorful and full of life and are stylistically reminiscent of the show Johnny Test. The adventure is action-packed, a little bit silly, and guaranteed to keep young readers engaged with the story from first page to last.

My twelve year old son loves the Mega Mash-up books. They're a hybrid of comic book/cartoons and chapter book. I love that beneath the silly adventures there's a strong theme of the importance of being resourceful and of working with others as a team.

If you have any boys who are reluctant readers, this might be the series to turn them onto books.
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

Colorful Fun

Trolls vs. Cowboys in the Arctic is another fun installment in the Mega Mash-up series. The illustrations are colorful and full of life and are stylistically reminiscent of the show Johnny Test. The adventure is action-packed, a little bit silly, and guaranteed to keep young readers engaged with the story from first page to last.

My twelve year old son loves the Mega Mash-up books. They're a hybrid of comic book/cartoons and chapter book. I love that beneath the silly adventures there's a strong theme of the importance of being resourceful and of working with others as a team.

If you have any boys who are reluctant readers, this might be the series to turn them onto books.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

  • What's New in YA

      Are you wondering what's new in YA today? Check out these wonderful new releases!       Readers of I Am Number Four, The Maze Runner, and Legend will love this sophisticated adventure series by the cocreator of the groundbreaking television show Twin ...

  • Author Top 5 with Jenny Martin

      Today we welcome Jenny Martin to YABC! Martin's soon to be released debut novel, Tracked, is sure to appeal to fans of The Fast and the Furious and Firely along with Marie Lu's Legend and Veronica Roth's Divergent. This book will be racing across the finis ...

  • Chapter Reveal: The Ark by Laura Liddell Nolen + Giveaway (International)

    The Ark by Laura Liddell Nolen Release Date: March 26, 2015 Before we get to the chapter, here's a note from Laura:   Hi, YABC! I’m fired up about sharing my first chapter with you today. The Ark is about a young convict trapped in prison on the last day of ...

  • Author Top 5 with Django Wexler

      Today we welcome Django Wexler to YABC! Wexler's newly released sequel to The Forbidden Library, The Mad Apprentice: The Forbidden Library: Volume 2, is a fantasy adventure sure to appeal to fans of Harry Potter, Coroline, and Inkheart! Django has given us a list of the ...

  • April 2015 Book Haul!

    Hey YABCers!  Our office was innundated with fabulous kidlit, middle grade, and YA books this month! (Including an audio book and a graphic novel.) Check out our book haul below and tell us which books look the most interesting to you!    ...

  • Giveaway: Twintuition - Double Vision by Tia & Tamera Mowry (US Only)

    TWINTUITION: DOUBLE VISION by Tia & Tamera Mowry Release Date: April 21, 2015   About the Book Cassie and Caitlyn Waters may be identical twins, but everything else about them is completely different. The only thing they can agree on is that neither of them is happy th ...

  • It's live!! Cover Reveal: The Complete Blooming Goddess Trilogy by Tellulah Darling + Giveaway (International)

    Hi, YABCers! Today we're super excited to celebrate the cover reveal for THE COMPLETE BLOOMING GODDESS TRILOGY by Tellulah Darling, releasing April 30, 2015 from Te Da Media. Before we get to the cover, here's a note from Tellulah:   Hey YABC! I’ve basically been in sque ...

  • What's New in YA

      Are you wondering what's new in YA today? Check out these wonderful new releases!       From the acclaimed author of How to Love comes another stunning contemporary novel, perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen.   Molly Barlow is facing on ...

  • The Librarian's Corner

        I am happy to share with the YABC community the brand new Librarian's Corner column! This column features three themed book recommendations from a Teen Librarian each month. My name is Eden Grey, and I'll be doing the column each month. I am a Teen Librarian, and I absolutel ...

  • Chapter Reveal: Last Year's Mistake by Gina Ciocca

    Last Year's Mistake by Gina Ciocca Release Date: June 9, 2015 Before we get to the chapter, here's a note from Gina:   I’m so excited to share the first chapter of LAST YEAR’S MISTAKE with all of you! I’ve written this opening many different ways, and I lov ...

  • Giveaway: The Ark by Laura Liddell (International)

    The Ark By Laura Liddell Nolen    Release Date: March 26, 2015   About the Book It’s the final days of earth, and sixteen-year-old Char is right where she belongs: in prison. With her criminal record, she doesn’t qualify for a place on an Ark, one of the five ...

  • Giveaway: 5 To 1 by Holly Bodger (US & Canada Only)

    5 to1 By Holly Bodger Release Date: 5/12/15   About the Book Sudasa doesn't want to be a wife and Kiran, a boy forced to compete in the test to become her husband, has other plans as well. Sudasa's family wants nothing more than for their daughter to do the right thing and p ...

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

enlightened cover from amazon.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
Book 2 in the Light vs. Dark Series... After months of covert travel from Light clan to Light...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Ace and Bub are tangled up in an island-hopping competition, and there’s more than just the grand prize—a houseboat!—at stake....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
The search for a missing baby drives this heart-pounding page turner, from Edgar Award Winner Susan Shreve (LUCY FOREVER AND...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Meet Hannah. Her name is a palindrome. Her birthday is on New Year’s. She wishes she had a cat. She’s...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Geoff Herbach, the award-winning author of the hit young adult novels Stupid Fast and Nothing Special, comes the ultimate...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
The fast-paced, action-packed sequel to LAWLESS. No more teachers. No more crooks! M Freeman thought she had finally found a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
High school sophomore Zona Lowell has lived in New York City her whole life, and plans to follow in the...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Joey, the chocolate Labrador, loves to run and run. Living in the neighborhood of the Boston Marathon, he runs as...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Here's the third entry in Claudia Mills' charming middle-grade series. Mason Dixon survived the school choir. He survived adopting his...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
For whimsical Cody, many things are beautiful, especially ants who say hello by rubbing feelers. But nothing is as beautiful...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Fans of How to Train Your Dragon will love this whimsical tale, the first in a series, by a Newbery...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fortune favors the bold in this adventurous tale of broken friendships, forbidden love, and a fiery heroine’s journey to escape...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Alex Myers is a quarterback, but from the first day of football practice, it’s clear that that position is very...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
flora and ulysses.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
Winner of the 2014 Newbery Medal Holy unanticipated occurrences! A cynic meets an unlikely superhero in a genre-breaking new novel...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Some endings are inevitable, but so are some stories. Cora Matthews, the principal’s gloomy goth daughter, is not exactly...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In End Times, Daphne lost herself in love with Owen, only to discover the dark secret that puts Carbon County...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
A return to the world of THE LONELY HEARTS CLUB -- in a novel that gets to the heart of...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
The most mysterious Bronte sister steps into the light in this must-read novel for fans of Wuthering Heights and Jane...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Wisdom is a journey across the Orion Arm of our galaxy and into the dreams, fears, and frailties of four...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ingrid and Gabby survived the Underneath. They saved their brother, Grayson, from a future of dark servitude and exposed a...
 
0.0
 
3.7 (1)