Books Kids Fiction An Army of Frogs (A Kulipari Novel)

An Army of Frogs (A Kulipari Novel) Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/ca/a2/22/_frogs-1362866499.jpg
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
996   0
Author(s)
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
8+
Release Date
May 07, 2013
ISBN
978-1419701726
Buy This Book
      
It’s frogs versus scorpions in this new series by professional football player Trevor Pryce. For years, the frogs of the Amphibilands have lived in safety—protected by an elite group of poisonous frogs named the Kulipari and by the dreamcasting spell of the turtle king that cloaks their lands in mystery. Now the spell is threatened by the Spider Queen, a talented spellcaster, and Lord Marmoo, leader of the scorpions. With the Kulipari off training in secret, the Amphibilands have never been so vulnerable. Enter Darel, a young frog who dreams of joining the Kulipari, despite his utter lack of poison and limited fighting skills. With the help of a motley crew of friends, Darel has the chance to become the warrior of his dreams.
Cool animals, thrilling action, and a bit of natural science—this novel, illustrated in full color by acclaimed comics artist Sanford Greene, is sure to be a major hit with boys.

Editor reviews

You know those epic fantasy adventures from childhood that stick with you forever? For me it’s movies like “FernGully,” “The Dark Crystal,” and “The Secret of Nimh.” After reading Trevor Pryce’s “An Army of Frogs,” I’m sure this is going to become a fantasy adventure that sticks with the next generation of young readers.

“An Army of Frogs” follows Darel, a young wood frog who wants nothing more than to be part of the Kulipari, a legendary band of warriors, like his deceased father. There’s only one problem: Kulipari are all poisonous frogs, and unfortunately for Darel, he ain’t got a drop of poison in him. That doesn’t stop Darel from training to become a fierce warrior, which happens to come in handy as an insanely large army of scorpions and spiders tries to take over Darel’s home, the Amphibilands.

The adventure that ensues has it all. There’s the wise old magician, who happens to be an ancient turtle; skilled fighters that have abilities bordering on superpowers; a lovable and rotund sidekick, Gee, that Darel would do anything for; fearsome enemies that make your skin crawl; and epic battles scenes all in the hopes of saving a beloved homeland. It is these characteristics that make the book a worthy addition to the fantasy adventure genre and will most certainly make it memorable for middle grade readers.

An aspect that makes “An Army of Frogs” stand out is that it is set in Australia. When Australia comes to mind, I think most people just envision the Outback and leave it at that. This book explores multiple habitats on the continent, from the desolate Outback, to lush forests, to coastal paradises. The book also describes multiple species that live on the continent, educating readers in a subtle way without making it feel like we’re learning a lesson.

Finally, I love that this book is written by a former NFL player. Trevor Pryce played football for 14 years, and even won the Super Bowl. It makes me giddy when athletes become advocates for reading, as many boys out there who think reading is uncool need mentors they look up to to tell them otherwise. It becomes an even greater help when those mentors write books themselves. Pair Pryce’s wonderfully crafted fantasy adventure in “An Army of Frogs” with his stamp on sports history, and you get an engaging platform to create avid new readers.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

A Memorable Addition to Fantasy Epics

You know those epic fantasy adventures from childhood that stick with you forever? For me it’s movies like “FernGully,” “The Dark Crystal,” and “The Secret of Nimh.” After reading Trevor Pryce’s “An Army of Frogs,” I’m sure this is going to become a fantasy adventure that sticks with the next generation of young readers.

“An Army of Frogs” follows Darel, a young wood frog who wants nothing more than to be part of the Kulipari, a legendary band of warriors, like his deceased father. There’s only one problem: Kulipari are all poisonous frogs, and unfortunately for Darel, he ain’t got a drop of poison in him. That doesn’t stop Darel from training to become a fierce warrior, which happens to come in handy as an insanely large army of scorpions and spiders tries to take over Darel’s home, the Amphibilands.

The adventure that ensues has it all. There’s the wise old magician, who happens to be an ancient turtle; skilled fighters that have abilities bordering on superpowers; a lovable and rotund sidekick, Gee, that Darel would do anything for; fearsome enemies that make your skin crawl; and epic battles scenes all in the hopes of saving a beloved homeland. It is these characteristics that make the book a worthy addition to the fantasy adventure genre and will most certainly make it memorable for middle grade readers.

An aspect that makes “An Army of Frogs” stand out is that it is set in Australia. When Australia comes to mind, I think most people just envision the Outback and leave it at that. This book explores multiple habitats on the continent, from the desolate Outback, to lush forests, to coastal paradises. The book also describes multiple species that live on the continent, educating readers in a subtle way without making it feel like we’re learning a lesson.

Finally, I love that this book is written by a former NFL player. Trevor Pryce played football for 14 years, and even won the Super Bowl. It makes me giddy when athletes become advocates for reading, as many boys out there who think reading is uncool need mentors they look up to to tell them otherwise. It becomes an even greater help when those mentors write books themselves. Pair Pryce’s wonderfully crafted fantasy adventure in “An Army of Frogs” with his stamp on sports history, and you get an engaging platform to create avid new readers.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)