Books Kids Fiction An Army of Frogs (A Kulipari Novel)

An Army of Frogs (A Kulipari Novel) Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/ca/a2/22/_frogs-1362866499.jpg
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
426   0
Author(s)
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
8+
Release Date
May 07, 2013
ISBN
978-1419701726
Buy This Book
      
It’s frogs versus scorpions in this new series by professional football player Trevor Pryce. For years, the frogs of the Amphibilands have lived in safety—protected by an elite group of poisonous frogs named the Kulipari and by the dreamcasting spell of the turtle king that cloaks their lands in mystery. Now the spell is threatened by the Spider Queen, a talented spellcaster, and Lord Marmoo, leader of the scorpions. With the Kulipari off training in secret, the Amphibilands have never been so vulnerable. Enter Darel, a young frog who dreams of joining the Kulipari, despite his utter lack of poison and limited fighting skills. With the help of a motley crew of friends, Darel has the chance to become the warrior of his dreams.
Cool animals, thrilling action, and a bit of natural science—this novel, illustrated in full color by acclaimed comics artist Sanford Greene, is sure to be a major hit with boys.

Editor reviews

You know those epic fantasy adventures from childhood that stick with you forever? For me it’s movies like “FernGully,” “The Dark Crystal,” and “The Secret of Nimh.” After reading Trevor Pryce’s “An Army of Frogs,” I’m sure this is going to become a fantasy adventure that sticks with the next generation of young readers.

“An Army of Frogs” follows Darel, a young wood frog who wants nothing more than to be part of the Kulipari, a legendary band of warriors, like his deceased father. There’s only one problem: Kulipari are all poisonous frogs, and unfortunately for Darel, he ain’t got a drop of poison in him. That doesn’t stop Darel from training to become a fierce warrior, which happens to come in handy as an insanely large army of scorpions and spiders tries to take over Darel’s home, the Amphibilands.

The adventure that ensues has it all. There’s the wise old magician, who happens to be an ancient turtle; skilled fighters that have abilities bordering on superpowers; a lovable and rotund sidekick, Gee, that Darel would do anything for; fearsome enemies that make your skin crawl; and epic battles scenes all in the hopes of saving a beloved homeland. It is these characteristics that make the book a worthy addition to the fantasy adventure genre and will most certainly make it memorable for middle grade readers.

An aspect that makes “An Army of Frogs” stand out is that it is set in Australia. When Australia comes to mind, I think most people just envision the Outback and leave it at that. This book explores multiple habitats on the continent, from the desolate Outback, to lush forests, to coastal paradises. The book also describes multiple species that live on the continent, educating readers in a subtle way without making it feel like we’re learning a lesson.

Finally, I love that this book is written by a former NFL player. Trevor Pryce played football for 14 years, and even won the Super Bowl. It makes me giddy when athletes become advocates for reading, as many boys out there who think reading is uncool need mentors they look up to to tell them otherwise. It becomes an even greater help when those mentors write books themselves. Pair Pryce’s wonderfully crafted fantasy adventure in “An Army of Frogs” with his stamp on sports history, and you get an engaging platform to create avid new readers.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

A Memorable Addition to Fantasy Epics

You know those epic fantasy adventures from childhood that stick with you forever? For me it’s movies like “FernGully,” “The Dark Crystal,” and “The Secret of Nimh.” After reading Trevor Pryce’s “An Army of Frogs,” I’m sure this is going to become a fantasy adventure that sticks with the next generation of young readers.

“An Army of Frogs” follows Darel, a young wood frog who wants nothing more than to be part of the Kulipari, a legendary band of warriors, like his deceased father. There’s only one problem: Kulipari are all poisonous frogs, and unfortunately for Darel, he ain’t got a drop of poison in him. That doesn’t stop Darel from training to become a fierce warrior, which happens to come in handy as an insanely large army of scorpions and spiders tries to take over Darel’s home, the Amphibilands.

The adventure that ensues has it all. There’s the wise old magician, who happens to be an ancient turtle; skilled fighters that have abilities bordering on superpowers; a lovable and rotund sidekick, Gee, that Darel would do anything for; fearsome enemies that make your skin crawl; and epic battles scenes all in the hopes of saving a beloved homeland. It is these characteristics that make the book a worthy addition to the fantasy adventure genre and will most certainly make it memorable for middle grade readers.

An aspect that makes “An Army of Frogs” stand out is that it is set in Australia. When Australia comes to mind, I think most people just envision the Outback and leave it at that. This book explores multiple habitats on the continent, from the desolate Outback, to lush forests, to coastal paradises. The book also describes multiple species that live on the continent, educating readers in a subtle way without making it feel like we’re learning a lesson.

Finally, I love that this book is written by a former NFL player. Trevor Pryce played football for 14 years, and even won the Super Bowl. It makes me giddy when athletes become advocates for reading, as many boys out there who think reading is uncool need mentors they look up to to tell them otherwise. It becomes an even greater help when those mentors write books themselves. Pair Pryce’s wonderfully crafted fantasy adventure in “An Army of Frogs” with his stamp on sports history, and you get an engaging platform to create avid new readers.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Kids Fiction
Perfect for fans of Margaret Peterson Haddix, When You Reach Me, and Savvy, this charming time-travel story from husband-and-wife team...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Bees.jpg
The Handmaid’s Tale meets The Hunger Games in this brilliantly imagined debut set in an ancient culture where only the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Damian Cass died when he was a teenager at the hands of his own father. A hateful soul afterwards, and...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Gladys Gatsby has been cooking gourmet dishes since the age of seven, only her fast-food-loving parents have no idea! Now...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Becky Thatcher has her side of the story to tell—and it’s a whopper—in this creative spin on Mark Twain’s beloved...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
An all-new, mesmerizing adventure from the masterful Gordon Korman! Jackson Opus has always been persuasive, but he doesn't know that...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Jax Opus knows he's not like other kids. And it isn't his skill on the basketball court or his test...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Jesse is a wide receiver for the freshman team. Can he play against type and help his team as a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Kate’s older sister is way too perfect. Her younger sister is way too cute. And her mom wants her to...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Sarah Robinson is deeply troubled in the wake of her dad’s second marriage. She now has to deal with a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this romantic and evocative fantasy, Najwa is a jinni, training to be a spy in the war against the...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
There’s something strange going on at Washington Irving Elementary School. Kids are turning into monsters—literally! First it was Sebastian, then...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Chase Clark just upped his game. As an eighth grader, he scores the chance to play on the varsity football...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lauren has a secret. Colby has a problem. But when they find each other, everything falls into place. In alternating...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Alek Khederian should have guessed something was wrong when his parents took him to a restaurant. Everyone knows that Armenians...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
When Larissa Renaud starts receiving eerie phone calls on a disconnected old phone in her family's antique shop, she knows...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Can you fall in love with a voice? This witty romance, told entirely through phone calls, chronicles the tale of...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Julia Buchanan enrolls at St. Anne’s at the beginning of junior year, Charlotte Ryder already knows all about the...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Valentina Cruz no longer exists. One moment, she was wrapped in Emilio’s arms, melting into his kiss. The next, she...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Clyde has worked for Mr. Wilkshire for a very long time. Life is comfortable in his keeper's chateau—until Mr. Wilkshire...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)