Books Kids Fiction Starring Jules (As Herself): (Starring Jules #1)

Starring Jules (As Herself): (Starring Jules #1) Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/6a/40/9a/_000-1362863293.jpeg
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
324   0
Author(s)
Age Range
6+
Release Date
March 01, 2013
ISBN
0545443520
Buy This Book
      
Lights! Camera! Action! A hilarious chapter book debut from a fabulous new talent!



Things to Know About Me

by Jules Bloom



1. I am a scrambled-eggs-and-chocolate-milk type person.

2. I have an audition for a TV commercial (which would be great if I were a tall-icy-drink type person.)

3. I am in between best friends right now.

4. I am worried that the audition will be a disaster. (See #1 and #3!)



Jules doesn't want to ruin THE OPPORTUNITY OF A LIFETIME, and she's willing to turn to anyone for help--even her know-it-all ex-best friend! If only that lovely new girl in class would turn out to be the new best friend of her dreams, maybe, just maybe, Jules will be ready for her close-up....

Editor reviews

Fans of Judy Moody, Clementine, and Ramona will love the Starring Jules series. Jules is a girl who colors outside the lines and is fortunate enough to have parents who embrace and encourage her uniqueness. Her grandmother is also hugely supportive of her. Young readers will relate to Jules' difficulties with friendships (and the things she learns to value in those who love her) and to the heart-in-the-throat feeling of stepping out to try something new even when she thinks she'll probably fail.

The prose is clean and the details are vivid. Each chapter is full of humor, warmth, and adventure. Themes of love, friendship, and embracing what makes you unique are beautifully woven into a story that will captivate readers. I can't wait to share this book with my daughter when she's old enough to understand it. I highly recommend Starring Jules to all young readers.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

The Next Judy Moody!

Fans of Judy Moody, Clementine, and Ramona will love the Starring Jules series. Jules is a girl who colors outside the lines and is fortunate enough to have parents who embrace and encourage her uniqueness. Her grandmother is also hugely supportive of her. Young readers will relate to Jules' difficulties with friendships (and the things she learns to value in those who love her) and to the heart-in-the-throat feeling of stepping out to try something new even when she thinks she'll probably fail.

The prose is clean and the details are vivid. Each chapter is full of humor, warmth, and adventure. Themes of love, friendship, and embracing what makes you unique are beautifully woven into a story that will captivate readers. I can't wait to share this book with my daughter when she's old enough to understand it. I highly recommend Starring Jules to all young readers.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Kids Nonfiction
The skinny on itty bitty kitties, from a real-life Kitten Wrangler! What do kittens eat? Why do they love to...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A gritty, urban New Adult Cinderella story where the princess can do her own rescuing — she just needs someone...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes finding love means taking the scenic route ... Living with her faultfinding mother has taught Leslie not to ask...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
From the author of My Life Next Door comes a swoony summertime romance full of expectation and regret, humor...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lucy lives on the twenty-fourth floor. Owen lives in the basement. It's fitting, then, that they meet in the...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
What if there was an app that told you what song to listen to, what coffee to order, who to...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Nebula Cover
Category: Young Adult Indie
"I don't know where I came from. I don't know where I'm going. What I do know is where I'd...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The heroine of Where I Belong is back in The Art of Goodbye, a romantic digital original novella about first...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Blakely is an every day girl until news arrives that she is the daughter of the world's hottest couple. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Heists were only the beginning. Gray Weathersby escaped from the primitive town of Claysoot expecting to find answers,...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Snow has been falling on the Caribbean island of St. Michael for years, diminishing plant and animal life and leading...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Day Human Prince
Category: Young Adult Indie
Book One of The Day Human Trilogy, featuring characters from The Blue Eyes Trilogy. Devin Alexander grew up as...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Red Bearonaut new cover narrow.jpg
Category: Kids Indie
In an all new adventure, Red Bear blasts off in his own rocket on his way to explore the Moon....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
little green hen cover main.jpg
Category: Kids Indie
Fed up with being last in the pecking order, Glenys, the little green hen leaves the farm where she was...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Battle
Category: Kids Fiction
With the secret of Briny Deep finally exposed, Tim and his friends must run for their lives. Their journey will...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Life is anything but normal in the small seaside town of Briny Deep. As the mystery of the missing kids...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Other than a strange, recurring dream that involves running for his life, Tim is a happy guy. In this paranormal...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Travis Coates has a good head…on someone else’s shoulders. A touching, hilarious, and wholly original coming-of-age story from John...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Sophie Winters nearly died. Twice. The first time, she's fourteen, and escapes a near-fatal car accident with scars, a...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler meets Chasing Vermeer in this clever middle grade debut When Theodora...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)