Books Kids Fiction Starring Jules (As Herself): (Starring Jules #1)

Starring Jules (As Herself): (Starring Jules #1) Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/6a/40/9a/_000-1362863293.jpeg
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
699   0
Author(s)
Age Range
6+
Release Date
March 01, 2013
ISBN
0545443520
Buy This Book
      
Lights! Camera! Action! A hilarious chapter book debut from a fabulous new talent!



Things to Know About Me

by Jules Bloom



1. I am a scrambled-eggs-and-chocolate-milk type person.

2. I have an audition for a TV commercial (which would be great if I were a tall-icy-drink type person.)

3. I am in between best friends right now.

4. I am worried that the audition will be a disaster. (See #1 and #3!)



Jules doesn't want to ruin THE OPPORTUNITY OF A LIFETIME, and she's willing to turn to anyone for help--even her know-it-all ex-best friend! If only that lovely new girl in class would turn out to be the new best friend of her dreams, maybe, just maybe, Jules will be ready for her close-up....

Editor reviews

Fans of Judy Moody, Clementine, and Ramona will love the Starring Jules series. Jules is a girl who colors outside the lines and is fortunate enough to have parents who embrace and encourage her uniqueness. Her grandmother is also hugely supportive of her. Young readers will relate to Jules' difficulties with friendships (and the things she learns to value in those who love her) and to the heart-in-the-throat feeling of stepping out to try something new even when she thinks she'll probably fail.

The prose is clean and the details are vivid. Each chapter is full of humor, warmth, and adventure. Themes of love, friendship, and embracing what makes you unique are beautifully woven into a story that will captivate readers. I can't wait to share this book with my daughter when she's old enough to understand it. I highly recommend Starring Jules to all young readers.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

The Next Judy Moody!

Fans of Judy Moody, Clementine, and Ramona will love the Starring Jules series. Jules is a girl who colors outside the lines and is fortunate enough to have parents who embrace and encourage her uniqueness. Her grandmother is also hugely supportive of her. Young readers will relate to Jules' difficulties with friendships (and the things she learns to value in those who love her) and to the heart-in-the-throat feeling of stepping out to try something new even when she thinks she'll probably fail.

The prose is clean and the details are vivid. Each chapter is full of humor, warmth, and adventure. Themes of love, friendship, and embracing what makes you unique are beautifully woven into a story that will captivate readers. I can't wait to share this book with my daughter when she's old enough to understand it. I highly recommend Starring Jules to all young readers.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

A summer away from the city is the beginning of everything for Brooklyn Shepard. Her theater apprenticeship at Allerdale is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Indie
Vienna is a special girl with special needs. The children at her old school made fun of her because of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Drum set player Julia McCoy is not a typical marching band member. Forced to move across country and become a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
In this companion to The Best Friend Battle, Sylvie Scruggs faces hockey sticks and mean-girl tricks -- and still comes...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Have you ever wished you could be a different animal every day of the week? See how Annie gets her...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
As far as Piper Green is concerned, the day started out lucky: • Lucky thing #1: Her mom is painting...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
There are three things you should know about Piper Green: 1. She always says what’s on her mind (even when...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Wally and his human friend, Henry, have passed the test. They are now officially puppy pirates—and just in time for...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Wally is a pup with a nose for adventure. So when he stumbles onto a ragtag group of puppies who...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Eighth-grader Nate Osborne is a forward on his U-14 soccer team, the Strikers. He and the rest of his teammates...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
talker 25.jpg
Set in a not-too-distant future where dragon wars have reshaped society, the battle between the dragon resistance and government forces...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
deadfall.jpg
In the compelling sequel to Blackbird, Anna Carey delivers a gritty and adrenaline-filled story of a girl desperate to escape...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
what we knew.jpg
"When I was little, I imagined a monster: Scaly hands. Pits for eyes..." When Tracy and her best friend, Lisa,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For over a thousand years, the Lands have been under the mercy of ruthless evil rider Haiden and his ferocious...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kaden.jpg
After a century of captivity, Kaden—a ruthless, bloodthirsty wolf with no loyalties—is out for blood. But while on a mission...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In an abandoned house, the ghosts gather. They argue, they laugh, and they tell their stories. Some tell their own...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A MEMOIR BY THE YOUNGEST RECIPIENT OF THE NOBEL PEACE PRIZE "I come from a country that was created at...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Finally, a phonics primer that's not un-bear-able! Written by elementary reading specialist Kevin Bolger, Lazy Bear, Crazy Bear is a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Written by elementary reading specialist Kevin Bolger, these short, wacky comics are designed to teach beginning readers the five short...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
What this story needs is a pig in a wig on a boat with some friends having fun in the...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)