Books Kids Fiction Starring Jules (As Herself): (Starring Jules #1)

Starring Jules (As Herself): (Starring Jules #1) Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/6a/40/9a/_000-1362863293.jpeg
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
473   0
Author(s)
Age Range
6+
Release Date
March 01, 2013
ISBN
0545443520
Buy This Book
      
Lights! Camera! Action! A hilarious chapter book debut from a fabulous new talent!



Things to Know About Me

by Jules Bloom



1. I am a scrambled-eggs-and-chocolate-milk type person.

2. I have an audition for a TV commercial (which would be great if I were a tall-icy-drink type person.)

3. I am in between best friends right now.

4. I am worried that the audition will be a disaster. (See #1 and #3!)



Jules doesn't want to ruin THE OPPORTUNITY OF A LIFETIME, and she's willing to turn to anyone for help--even her know-it-all ex-best friend! If only that lovely new girl in class would turn out to be the new best friend of her dreams, maybe, just maybe, Jules will be ready for her close-up....

Editor reviews

Fans of Judy Moody, Clementine, and Ramona will love the Starring Jules series. Jules is a girl who colors outside the lines and is fortunate enough to have parents who embrace and encourage her uniqueness. Her grandmother is also hugely supportive of her. Young readers will relate to Jules' difficulties with friendships (and the things she learns to value in those who love her) and to the heart-in-the-throat feeling of stepping out to try something new even when she thinks she'll probably fail.

The prose is clean and the details are vivid. Each chapter is full of humor, warmth, and adventure. Themes of love, friendship, and embracing what makes you unique are beautifully woven into a story that will captivate readers. I can't wait to share this book with my daughter when she's old enough to understand it. I highly recommend Starring Jules to all young readers.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

The Next Judy Moody!

Fans of Judy Moody, Clementine, and Ramona will love the Starring Jules series. Jules is a girl who colors outside the lines and is fortunate enough to have parents who embrace and encourage her uniqueness. Her grandmother is also hugely supportive of her. Young readers will relate to Jules' difficulties with friendships (and the things she learns to value in those who love her) and to the heart-in-the-throat feeling of stepping out to try something new even when she thinks she'll probably fail.

The prose is clean and the details are vivid. Each chapter is full of humor, warmth, and adventure. Themes of love, friendship, and embracing what makes you unique are beautifully woven into a story that will captivate readers. I can't wait to share this book with my daughter when she's old enough to understand it. I highly recommend Starring Jules to all young readers.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

live performance by YA author
Category: Young Adult Indie
Love can make you do crazy things as Ruby Parker discovers when she dies and returns from the grave to...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Its king murdered in cold blood by friend and foe alike, the once magnificent kingdom of Arenhed has fallen to...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fifteen top voices in speculative fiction explore the intersection of fear and love in a haunting, at times hilarious, darkly...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The past is coming back to haunt the Hero Squad. Archimedes, the Squad’s first foe, is finally heading to trial,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Marie-Therese, daughter of Marie Antoinette, slips into the streets of Paris at the height of the French Revolution, she...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
All Eva ever wanted was the chance to be herself. But in the Americas, to be...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Emmeline knows she’s not supposed to explore the woods outside her settlement. The enemy that wiped out half her people...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Breakfast Club meets Pretty Little Liars in Gretchen McNeil’s witty and suspenseful novel about four...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
cover2.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
How do you want to feel today? In 2041, the choice is yours. San Francisco is deserted, the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this fast-paced, high-stakes debut novel, sixteen-year-old Sam McKenna discovers that becoming one of the first...
 
4.7 (2)
 
5.0 (1)
The riveting follow-up to the New York Times bestselling The 5th Wave, hailed by Justin Cronin as “wildly entertaining.” How...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
In this clever twist on the age-old belief that there’s no such thing as unicorns, Uni...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Danger is hard to resist in this sexy thriller from Becca Fitzpatrick, the New York Times bestselling author of the...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
amazon_cover.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
Katie and Anna are MAJOR best friends. And when they take an ill-advised trip down to Tijuana, Mexico hilarity ensues....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Finn Easton sees the world through miles instead of minutes. It’s how he makes sense of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
In the future, bioengineered animals provide organs for human transplantation. Grafts of animal skin have replaced tattoos in popularity, which...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lost and broken, Celaena Sardothien’s only thought is to avenge the savage death of her dearest...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Leon Harris is perfectly satisfied being a slacker. In fact, he's embraced it. But when Anna...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
According to the guys at Fairfield Academy, there are two types of girls: the kind you hook up with, and...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The creative writing teacher, the delivery guy, the local Starbucks baristas, his best friend, her roommate, and the squirrel in...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)