Books Kids Fiction Starring Jules (As Herself): (Starring Jules #1)

Starring Jules (As Herself): (Starring Jules #1) Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/6a/40/9a/_000-1362863293.jpeg
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
720   0
Author(s)
Age Range
6+
Release Date
March 01, 2013
ISBN
0545443520
Buy This Book
      
Lights! Camera! Action! A hilarious chapter book debut from a fabulous new talent!



Things to Know About Me

by Jules Bloom



1. I am a scrambled-eggs-and-chocolate-milk type person.

2. I have an audition for a TV commercial (which would be great if I were a tall-icy-drink type person.)

3. I am in between best friends right now.

4. I am worried that the audition will be a disaster. (See #1 and #3!)



Jules doesn't want to ruin THE OPPORTUNITY OF A LIFETIME, and she's willing to turn to anyone for help--even her know-it-all ex-best friend! If only that lovely new girl in class would turn out to be the new best friend of her dreams, maybe, just maybe, Jules will be ready for her close-up....

Editor reviews

Fans of Judy Moody, Clementine, and Ramona will love the Starring Jules series. Jules is a girl who colors outside the lines and is fortunate enough to have parents who embrace and encourage her uniqueness. Her grandmother is also hugely supportive of her. Young readers will relate to Jules' difficulties with friendships (and the things she learns to value in those who love her) and to the heart-in-the-throat feeling of stepping out to try something new even when she thinks she'll probably fail.

The prose is clean and the details are vivid. Each chapter is full of humor, warmth, and adventure. Themes of love, friendship, and embracing what makes you unique are beautifully woven into a story that will captivate readers. I can't wait to share this book with my daughter when she's old enough to understand it. I highly recommend Starring Jules to all young readers.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

The Next Judy Moody!

Fans of Judy Moody, Clementine, and Ramona will love the Starring Jules series. Jules is a girl who colors outside the lines and is fortunate enough to have parents who embrace and encourage her uniqueness. Her grandmother is also hugely supportive of her. Young readers will relate to Jules' difficulties with friendships (and the things she learns to value in those who love her) and to the heart-in-the-throat feeling of stepping out to try something new even when she thinks she'll probably fail.

The prose is clean and the details are vivid. Each chapter is full of humor, warmth, and adventure. Themes of love, friendship, and embracing what makes you unique are beautifully woven into a story that will captivate readers. I can't wait to share this book with my daughter when she's old enough to understand it. I highly recommend Starring Jules to all young readers.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Printz Honor author Carolyn Mackler returns with this striking new novel that chronicles the lives of...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Ever since she was created, Wren has lived in an idyllic garden with her friends. Wren's...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The_Dogst.jpg
Out of the corner of my eye, I catch something moving by the barn. When I...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A breathtaking debut brings us the unforgettable story of a small-town love, big dreams, and family...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
n this exciting and action-packed adventure by an award-winning author, a young girl discovers her secret...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
On the night before they leave for college, Clare and Aidan only have one thing left...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A girl’s dark destiny could cause the unraveling of the world in this spellbinding novel from...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Will Caynes never has been good with girls. At seventeen, he’s still waiting for his first...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Book 1 of the Secrets of Farbookonia Series Once you find out your mother is an alien, what...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When the glass slipper just doesn’t fit… The tale of Cinderella has been retold countless times. But what you know...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
LietaMay-weeone.png
Category: Young Adult Indie
What begins with a passionate kiss, lasts a lifetime and beyond... Our whimsical tale of two pixies begins with...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
April won't let Jonah go without a fight. He’s her boyfriend—her best friend. She’ll do anything...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
D.J. and his friend Gina are totally normal kids. But that was before a mysterious boy...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
51VpiSn2KKL._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
An engrossing fantasy, a high-seas adventure, an alternate history epic—this is the richly imagined and gorgeously...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
What are you waiting for? An owl, a puppy, a bear, a rabbit, and a pig—all...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Middle school meets Mission Impossible in this hilarious spy series for fans of Chris Rylander, Stuart...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A modern-day Romeo and Juliet story in which a wealthy Southern boy falls in love with an undocumented Mexican girl...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In a near-future world of exurban decay studded with big box stores, daily routine revolves around shopping—for those who can....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Master storyteller Todd Strasser reimagines the classic tale of Moby Dick as set in the future—and takes readers on an...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Follow alongside of ten-year-old Tammy Wurtherington, the little doll girl from River Falls, Ohio in this exciting new adventure that...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)