Lulu and the Dog From the Sea (Lulu Book 2)

Lulu and the Dog From the Sea (Lulu Book 2) Featured

 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
553   0
Write Review
Lulu and the Dog From the Sea (Lulu Book 2)
Author(s)
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Age Range
6+
Release Date
March 01, 2013
ISBN
0807548200
Buy This Book
      
Lulu befriends a stray dog while on vacation.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

Heartwarming Fun

What I Loved:

This is a charming, thoroughly engaging story that should keep young readers turning pages eagerly. The narrative is lively and easy to read without talking down to the reader. The characters are interesting (even the animals have lovely personalities), and the adventures Lulu and Mellie get involved in feel real and interesting.

I especially enjoyed the theme of family and friendship. Lulu's parents are very involved in her life and extend their love toward Lulu's cousin Mellie as well. All of them are committed to helping each other achieve their dreams (Mellie wants to build the most amazing kite ever, Lulu's mom wants to read six books while on vacation etc.), and so Lulu comes from a place of support and love as she sets about trying to rescue the dog from the sea.

What Left Me Wanting More:

I really loved this book from start to finish. The only drawback for me was when Lulu thought that the best way to get around her parents saying no to her idea of adopting the dog from the sea was to stop arguing with them and just do it anyway. There's another instance in the story when Lulu goes against her parents' instructions and acts rashly and there are natural consequences for that so that it acts as a moral lesson for young readers. I would've liked to see a moral lesson applied to the idea that if your parents say no you should just do it anyway if you want it badly enough.

Final Verdict:

Lulu and the Dog From the Sea is a charming adventure full of fun, family, and heartwarming moments. I recommend it.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

     

 

  

   

   

 

   

   

   

  

 

 

 

 

 

Latest Book Listings Added

A Tyranny of Petticoats: 15 Stories of Belles, Bank Robbers & Other Badass Girls
From an impressive sisterhood of YA writers comes an edge-of-your-seat...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burn Baby Burn
While violence runs rampant throughout New York, a teenage girl...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dreamfever: A Novel (The Dream Walker Trilogy)
Finding out that she is the True Dream Walker hasn't...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Black Bamboo: A reluctant hero's journey into a dangerous world
BLACK BAMBOO Throughout the land something is amiss - There...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
We Are The Ants
From the “author to watch” (Kirkus Reviews) of The Five...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Holding Court
Sixteen-year-old Jules Verity knows exactly what's in store at her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Real Life: A Novel
Hannah Cho and Nick Cooper have been best friends since...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You Were Here
Cori McCarthy delivers an emotionally taut page-turner from multiple points...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Glass Sword
The electrifying next installment in the Red Queen series escalates...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burning Midnight
For fans of The Maze Runner and The Fifth Wave,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Starflight
Solara Brooks needs a fresh start, someplace where nobody cares...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
summer marked.jpg
Fresh off a break-up with her boyfriend, Kadie's glad to...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
catacomb.jpg
The heart-stopping third book in the New York Times bestselling...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
mister max.jpg
In Act III of Newbery Medalist Cynthia Voigt’s Mister Max...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Macbeth #killingit (OMG Shakespeare series)
Macbeth, one of the greatest stories ever told . ....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stars Above
The enchantment continues. . . . The universe...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)