Books Kids Fiction Lulu and the Dog From the Sea (Lulu Book 2)

Lulu and the Dog From the Sea (Lulu Book 2) Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/b8/58/b5/_000-1362769541.jpeg
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
294   0
Author(s)
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Age Range
6+
Release Date
March 01, 2013
ISBN
0807548200
Buy This Book
      
Lulu befriends a stray dog while on vacation.

Editor reviews

What I Loved:

This is a charming, thoroughly engaging story that should keep young readers turning pages eagerly. The narrative is lively and easy to read without talking down to the reader. The characters are interesting (even the animals have lovely personalities), and the adventures Lulu and Mellie get involved in feel real and interesting.

I especially enjoyed the theme of family and friendship. Lulu's parents are very involved in her life and extend their love toward Lulu's cousin Mellie as well. All of them are committed to helping each other achieve their dreams (Mellie wants to build the most amazing kite ever, Lulu's mom wants to read six books while on vacation etc.), and so Lulu comes from a place of support and love as she sets about trying to rescue the dog from the sea.

What Left Me Wanting More:

I really loved this book from start to finish. The only drawback for me was when Lulu thought that the best way to get around her parents saying no to her idea of adopting the dog from the sea was to stop arguing with them and just do it anyway. There's another instance in the story when Lulu goes against her parents' instructions and acts rashly and there are natural consequences for that so that it acts as a moral lesson for young readers. I would've liked to see a moral lesson applied to the idea that if your parents say no you should just do it anyway if you want it badly enough.

Final Verdict:

Lulu and the Dog From the Sea is a charming adventure full of fun, family, and heartwarming moments. I recommend it.
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

Heartwarming Fun

What I Loved:

This is a charming, thoroughly engaging story that should keep young readers turning pages eagerly. The narrative is lively and easy to read without talking down to the reader. The characters are interesting (even the animals have lovely personalities), and the adventures Lulu and Mellie get involved in feel real and interesting.

I especially enjoyed the theme of family and friendship. Lulu's parents are very involved in her life and extend their love toward Lulu's cousin Mellie as well. All of them are committed to helping each other achieve their dreams (Mellie wants to build the most amazing kite ever, Lulu's mom wants to read six books while on vacation etc.), and so Lulu comes from a place of support and love as she sets about trying to rescue the dog from the sea.

What Left Me Wanting More:

I really loved this book from start to finish. The only drawback for me was when Lulu thought that the best way to get around her parents saying no to her idea of adopting the dog from the sea was to stop arguing with them and just do it anyway. There's another instance in the story when Lulu goes against her parents' instructions and acts rashly and there are natural consequences for that so that it acts as a moral lesson for young readers. I would've liked to see a moral lesson applied to the idea that if your parents say no you should just do it anyway if you want it badly enough.

Final Verdict:

Lulu and the Dog From the Sea is a charming adventure full of fun, family, and heartwarming moments. I recommend it.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)