Books Kids Fiction The Berenstain Bears: Thank God for Good Health

The Berenstain Bears: Thank God for Good Health Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/2b/98/ec/_51dz5awwhhl-sy300--1361808031.jpg
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
337   0
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Publisher
Age Range
4+
Release Date
February 05, 2013
ISBN
978-0310725039
Buy This Book
      
Have Brother and Sister taken care of themselves as God would want? Go with the Bear family to Dr. Grizzly's office and read all about it.

Editor reviews

This book was a spot on read for our family right now. My five year old is terrified of going to the doctor and is scared of shots. He is constantly asking me if he will get a shot. This book does a great job of discussing why we need checkups, shots and points on taking care of our bodies.

I thought all the excuses that Brother and Sister Bear come up with to not go to the doctor were funny, and oh so true. Children (and even adults) will sometimes fine any excuse to not go to the doctor. The cubs also learn a valuable lesson in patience as they are waiting for their turn to see the doctor. I really appreciate how the authors work in words from the Bible or lessons God teaches us into their story. The doctor in this book is like most doctors. She is patient, kind and knows how to speak to each family member. That is so important in a doctor!

My family and I will definitely be reading this book before our next doctor visit. I hope it will help calm my 5 year old down before his next shots!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

Fun read on health

This book was a spot on read for our family right now. My five year old is terrified of going to the doctor and is scared of shots. He is constantly asking me if he will get a shot. This book does a great job of discussing why we need checkups, shots and points on taking care of our bodies.

I thought all the excuses that Brother and Sister Bear come up with to not go to the doctor were funny, and oh so true. Children (and even adults) will sometimes fine any excuse to not go to the doctor. The cubs also learn a valuable lesson in patience as they are waiting for their turn to see the doctor. I really appreciate how the authors work in words from the Bible or lessons God teaches us into their story. The doctor in this book is like most doctors. She is patient, kind and knows how to speak to each family member. That is so important in a doctor!

My family and I will definitely be reading this book before our next doctor visit. I hope it will help calm my 5 year old down before his next shots!

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Young Adult Indie
Music, Discovery, Love. Can one summer make the difference of a lifetime? Zahara is a loner. She's brilliant on the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A bulldog and a poodle learn that family is about love, not appearances in this adorable doggy tale from New...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young sorceress's entire life has been shaped to destroy the empire controlling her world. She could change history. But...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drama and danger abound in this fantasy realm where dukes play a game for the throne,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kevin_Brooks_TheBunkerDiary.jpg
This is the winner of the 2014 Cilip Carnegie Medal. Room meets Lord of the Flies,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Rhiannon Thomas's dazzling debut novel is a spellbinding reimagining of Sleeping Beauty and what happens after...
 
3.3
 
3.3 (1)
Quake_Pulse Novel_.jpg
Fans of I Am Number Four and The Maze Runner will clamor for Quake, the climactic...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Forced to obey her master. Compelled to help her enemy. Determined to free herself. Nalia is a jinni of tremendous...
 
3.0
 
4.3 (1)
the sin eater's daughter.jpg
Seventeen-year-old Twylla lives in the castle. But although she’s engaged to the prince, Twylla isn’t exactly a member of the...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Winner of the SILVER MEDAL in the 2014 Readers' Favorite annual International Award Contest—Category YA Paranormal Romance. Ever since she...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
TheFearfulHeart 500x750.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
The heart must be protected at all costs... but will Cassidy be able to afford the price? Cassidy has distanced...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You know that feeling in the pit of your stomach that stays with you, then tears you apart slowly at...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
A sumptuous and epically told love story inspired by A Thousand and One Nights Every dawn brings horror to a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Life loves a good curveball… Seventeen-year-old Annie Lucas's life is completely upended the moment her dad returns to the major...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Step right up, step right up! Come see one of the most amazing, astounding, stunning, and stupendous wonders of the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Handmaid’s Tale meets Blood Red Road in Glass Arrow, the story of Aya, who lives with a small group...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Indie
Haunted by memories of the past, 16 year old Hayden Heyer (pronounced Higher) lives in a world where she feels...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This is not your average trip to Fairyland… Selkie Stewart has just saved her quasi-boyfriend, Ben, from a fairy prison...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
THE GIRL WHO NEVER WAS is the story of Selkie Stewart, who thinks she’s a totally normal teenager growing up...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Indie
A dragon named Nickerbacher guards a princess "because his papa told him to." However, he practices his jokes on Princess...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)